We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desolation Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Desolation Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked 4 chalets on this trip. These Chalets were well maintained but need some renovation. The view from Chalet #6 is stunning. All things were good except a unfriendly staff at the office. At the end of the day, we have to pay the repair cost for a non functioned hot tub.

Helpful?
Thank E N
DesolationResort, General Manager at Desolation Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. You booked 3 chalets with 22 people, 2 chalets have private hot tubs. Your group of people were shucking tons of Oysters on the chalet decks, at that time our staff reminded you not to do that. That was where the unfriendly staff first kicked in. Hot tub was handed to you fully functioning at check... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I attempted to find something positive regarding this resort, but I was stuck with nothing. After spending four days and three nights in cabins 2, 5, and 6, I have concluded this was the worst vacation ever. Although this is a beautiful location, the service, management, cleanliness, and accommodations were inadequate. The running water of the cabins felt weirdly greasy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan Y
DesolationResort, General Manager at Desolation Resort, responded to this review

It is unbelievable that your group of people are just posting bad reviews in a row as you threatened us. Our water is from a 300ft well. It is not treated with any chemicals like water in city, hence the PH is very high. It is the most natural water we can get in BC. Yes, we charged you for... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely cabins in the trees. We stayed in #11, which we weren't sure of at first being that it was right beside the office, but we really enjoyed our stay. The cabin was spacious and clean and we had a nice wrap-around deck to enjoy. The property is natural and there are lots of trees and lovely views of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacks1010
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay for Four days in Cabin 10 was Great. We enjoyed the bbq on the deck, complementary kajaks and nearby Restaurants. A Trip with the water Taxi to Savary Island was a highlight. The long way from Vancouver to the resort (two ferries) was worth it

Helpful?
Thank Catrin F
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
164 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

This is one of those places that make you feel glad you booked it. Our chalet (no 11) had all we wanted and more - generous bedroom, bathroom with washer and dryer, kitchen with large fridge, oven, electric hob, microwave and dishwasher, wooden decking/terrace and even a barbecue .... Included - dishwasher tabs, coffee and soap/shampoo (which is just fine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amstraveler
DesolationResort, Manager at Desolation Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice comment. We will definitely take your suggestion, trim some trees to open our more views and do our best on the deck. All the best to you, DesolationSoundResort. More 

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

What a great place. We loved it here. No wifi no tv! An ocean view and a bbq on the terrace. Kayaks that you can take out when you want. I saw bald eagles and otters when I went out in late in the afternoon. I really hated leaving here, but all good things come to an end... Go have... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaisyHolland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

We attempted to use this resort for our wedding, but the owner was not very friendly to our planner and told her she does not offer discounts of any kind. She actually ended up apologizing for being rude. We ended up staying here one night. It was pretty expensive for what you get - the chalets are very big, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne J
DesolationResort, Manager at Desolation Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry we can not offer any extra discount for your stay. We do have two night and three night packages for spring season that will be much less than one night rate considering the cleaning cost of a big chalet as house. The chalets were built up one after other in 20 years. We keep all the chalets... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

We have stayed here twice in the past and were very happy. Sadly, things have been let go since then. Furniture is old dirty and uncomfortable, decks are slimy with grime and old dirty plastic furniture. Rooms need a good cleaning, mould in the showers. View is gone as undergrowth has overtaken the view. Save your money, go somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Jim D
DesolationResort, Manager at Desolation Resort, responded to this review

It is very unfair to our housekeeping team by the comment of dirty furniture, slimy decks, mould in showers. They polish the furniture every time, scrub the showers, sweep the decks, spend at least 3 hours to clean a big chalet. We did power washed the decks at the beginning of the season, with all the rain, they may be... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Chalet unit 8(top half)amazing clear waterfront view with private deck and bbq. We stayed in this unit last visit and this time because we had our small dog stayed in unit 4. Unit 4 is large and roomy with separate bedroom. Very nice view of the inlet complete with kitchen and gas bbq. Internet available near office only...can not reach... More 

Helpful?
Thank Randy O
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

We arrived just at check-in time to our cabin with its breath-taking view over Okeover Inlet. It was a bit of a hike down the pathway to the cabin with our gear but everything was ready for us and, after a short nap, the hot-tub beckoned. The supplied robes were a lovely touch. The kitchen is fully equipped but basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank M M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
10.6 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
2.4 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
13.2 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
#2 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
21.4 mi away
Seabreeze Resort
Seabreeze Resort
#4 of 9 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Savary Island Resort
The Savary Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Savary Island
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the gateway to Desolation Sound, these unique and fully furnished oceanfront chalets are in a park like setting on an eight acre waterfront property. Our chalets are ideal for your family vacation, reunions, weddings or that perfect getaway. Some of our chalets have a private hot tub on the deck. Each chalet boasts a unique individual design. Interiors done in local wood. All our chalets have a full kitchen, BBQ and a deck. The chalets are of different sizes and the larger ones can accommodate up to 8 persons. Complimentary kayaks and canoes are available for our guests to use.Packages with accommodation, dining, kayaking or boating are available. A whole range of activities offered by local outfitters, can be booked through the resort. The Laughing Oyster Restaurant is just down the road from us and offer great meals with a West Coast flavor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desolation Resort

Address: 2694 Dawson Rd, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 0G3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Price Range: $93 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desolation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Desolation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desolation Hotel Powell River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay