We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Driftwood Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Driftwood Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Burnaby
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2016

We booked at the little cottage on Galiano Island for a night's stay. Although, small and kind of old, it had everything needed. A small sitting area, a small kitchenette, with dishes and cutlery, small fridge and stove, tv, washroom with tub and shower. Very quiet setting, close to the water.

Helpful?
Thank mammatVancouver
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

well very out dated cabin actually very out dated property ... There is no working hot tub on the grounds and there is no one there , even though according to travel web sites it is sold out , very very strange place . If your a hermit or are running from the law it maybe perfect !

Helpful?
Thank moly4u
DriftwoodVillageGali, Fred at Driftwood Village, responded to this review

Humorous...there are a few hermits on this island I think. I don't see them much though. No hot tub is true. No front desk; also true. Quiet; yes, I hope so, even if it's July and we are very busy. October is really the time to come! More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2016

We stayed at the Driftwood for a few nights with our dogs again this year. We really appreciate the privacy as well as the peace and quiet here. The cabin is simple, but, has everything that we need. Tthere was a fan this time -- really helped to keep the space comfortable. We will return to the Driftwood, again, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank awakie
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2016

We stayed at Driftwood Village as a family with a child and a dog for three nights. The location is perfect and our cabin was very well appointed with some view and trees surrounding the terrace. The cabin itself was basic but everything we needed was there. We really liked that the cabins were far enough from each other, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elena K
waterloo ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2016

A lovely peaceful quiet place close to the Ferry. What stands out the most anywhere I travel is always the people. Last night I was stranded at another place on the Island and called Driftwood at 10pm. Galiano has no taxied or public transportation. Fred was kind enough to come and pick me up - a one hour trip return!... More 

Helpful?
Thank glittergirl
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2016

Not sure where all these people stayed that wrote positive reviews about Driftwood Village but the cottage we stayed at (Woodpecker) was very dated, not very clean (mold in the bathroom and spider webs throughout the cottage), there was no microwave or dishwasher. For a mom with a little child, that means that I had more work with preparing food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gabriella072
DriftwoodVillageGali, Fred at Driftwood Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not find your stay with us relaxing and positive. Firstly, and most importantly, I want to apologize for the caulking in the tub area being in need of replacement. This is an on-going maintenance procedure that was overlooked for your stay. It has belatedly been attended to. We have full... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Situated on a gentle slope, with a few deer and lots of birds, the cabins offer all the essentials, including many windows that let in plenty of sunlight. This collection of cabins is an almost idyllic combination of being close to the amenities of town while being extremely peaceful and serene. A perfect respite from the busy life in Vancouver!... More 

Helpful?
Thank RGVancouver
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Driftwood Village suited our needs well: quiet, convenient, and well-priced. We asked for and promptly received two items: screens for the windows and some ice. Our cabin (Otter Cottage) was very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was very well-supplied for eating in (except for ice cubes!), although we chose to try local eateries.

Helpful?
Thank Wilsonna
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

Our cabin was generally well maintained and the location was wonderful. The only complaint we had was that the bed (in cabin 11) was uncomfortable. The mattress was well past its 'best by' date and needs replacing. We will stay here again, but will ask for a cabin with a newer mattress.

Helpful?
Thank chiantiam
DriftwoodVillageGali, Fred at Driftwood Village, responded to this review

New bed coming. Thanks for letting us know. More 

Kimberley
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely time, we needed a place last minute, it was available and affordable we were very happy with our stay. It was really nice to have a fireplace, kitchen and hot tub. It was very self serve we never met the owners or workers in person but over the phone they were helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
8.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
336 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bodega Ridge
Bodega Ridge
#1 of 1 in North Galiano
10 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cusheon Lake Resort
Cusheon Lake Resort
#1 of 22 in Salt Spring Island
164 reviews
9.1 mi away
Salmonberry Inn
Salmonberry Inn
#4 of 9 in Pender Island
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Self-contained cottages feature full bath and kitchen facilities, free wi-fi and cable, quick access to many parks and trails and a beautiful setting overlooking Active Pass. Enjoy the outdoor hot-tub or curl up in front of your private fireplace. Pets welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Driftwood Village

Address: 205 Bluff Rd. E., British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Price Range: $64 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Village 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Driftwood Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Driftwood Village staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Driftwood Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“# 9 has an ocean view, easy parking, jacuzzi.”
 of 5 bubbles 26dallase, Oct 11, 2014 | Read review
“One of the units had a great view of the ferries as they come and go. If you want a view of the ocean ask for it.”
 of 5 bubbles davemI5890DD, Sep 12, 2014 | Read review
“I like the "Bird" cabins best, and also the Arbutus”
 of 5 bubbles DaveC32323, Oct 26, 2013 | Read review
“The Bird cabins are ideal for familys. We were very cozy at the Robin.”
 of 5 bubbles JamieDenis, Aug 10, 2011 | Read review
“For two guests the Arbutus is perfect!”
  • The Driftwood grounds
  • The Arbutus Cottage
 of 5 bubbles canewell, May 12, 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay