We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Glen Lyon Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Glen Lyon Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Glen Lyon and had a lovely room on the third floor. The view of the bay was spectacular and the bed was super comfortable. I always appreciate this as I stay in a fair number of hotels and the bed is important. Jackie checked me in and was friendly and helpful. Worth a stay!

Helpful?
Thank Caren L
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was booked for us by our travel agent as a one-night stop between the ferry from Prince Rupert and the plane to Vancouver. Our first impression was that it was not the superior hotel we had been promised. Our room was off an open walkway on the second floor. The room however was lovely, nicely furnished and decorated with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geraniumred
Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands), Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having just spent 5 nights at the Glen Lyon Inn I can say that it is a very comfortable place to stay. Super comfy beds, a view of the ocean that cannot be beat with herons, sea lions, a weasel, seagulls, eagles, herons, deer & seals right out front of the room. We slept with our windows wide open each... More 

Helpful?
Thank bkpr22
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff really lovely and friendly- receptionist's hubbie even drove us into town! How nice is that! So we had a tour of the town! He pointed out everything to us! Yes it was raining! This was soo much appreciated!! Lovely room-clean/comfortable-and very adequate- Dinner and Breakfast-great and reasonable - but sadly too huge for us Brits to do justice!. Saw... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 460tilly
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights (one night before and one night after my trip to Great Bear Lodge). My room was large, spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The rooms face out over the harbour so it was lovely to sit and watch the activity (including the seaplanes). It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank kwillyau
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All rooms overlook the beautiful small harbour. From your balcony you can watch the bald eagles, the fish jumping, and all the marine activity, including float planes taking of and landing. The staff are wonderful friendly and welcoming and the restaurant excellent. There is a lift to take heavy luggage up to your room. A wonderful relaxing stay, and thoroughly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vivien H
William S, Manager at Glen Lyon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a wonderful comment. We try our best to make the Glen Lyon comfortable and homey for everyone. Hopefully you come to Port Hardy to visit us again More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival I took notice at the cute harbour setting behind the hotel. The lady at the front desk was so nice and cheery , it made the long drive worth it ! Our hotel room has a lovely view of the harbour and even saw some seals looking out. The room itself is cozy and fair size for what... More 

Helpful?
Thank chantelle j
William S, Manager at Glen Lyon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We try our best to make everyone happy at the Glen Lyon Inn. Hopefully you will come back to Port Hardy and stay with us again More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived there after a long road trip on a hot and rainy day. the outside looked very worn and dated. The woman at the front desk was less than welcoming and barely cracked a smile. They had a stuffed bald eagle in a glass enclosure of which I found quite sad really. they do have an elevator to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank michelle f
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2016

Ideal for a one night stay - our room overlooked the harbour & was very quiet. The friendly helpful staff were the highlight of this visit - they went out of their way to offer local information - thank you ladies!

Helpful?
Thank Jill-Robert
William S, Manager at Glen Lyon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response. We stress that our staff be friendly and helpful We appreciate all the remarks as it makes us better understand what customers want Ann More 

las vegas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

We had reservatons on the BC ferry to Prince Rupert overnight, so we reserved and paid for our room for three nights. Upon returnig back to the hotel from our trip, we were notified our Paid for room was sold to another couple. Unbeiveable! The cleck that night was very rude and siad They have a lower cost room we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank npi
William S, Manager at Glen Lyon Inn, responded to this review

I am not sure who you booked with, but we do not take payment in advance. If you could personably email me : info@glenlyoninn.com Attention: Ann Gray I will look into this further. There is no reason you couldn't have the same room or equivilant on your return trip and I am very sorry that this would happen to anyone.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Hardy hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.9 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn
Quarterdeck Inn
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
19.7 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Airport Inn
Airport Inn
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
4.7 mi away
Escape B&B
Escape B&B
#1 of 17 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
44 Room Motel Type with Doors to the outside - 3 floors, with 2nd and 3rd floors all having balconies overlooking Hardy Bay All rooms have a great Ocean view. We have Restaurant and Lounge on the Premises: open Daily Walking distance is 1 mile to the center of town along the Inner Harbour and 15 minutes driving to the Airport and 7 to 10 minutes driving to the ferry terminal ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glen Lyon Inn

Address: 6435 Hardy Bay Road | P.O. Box 103, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Price Range: $111 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Lyon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Glen Lyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lyon Hotel Port Hardy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay