We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
13 rue de Port le grand, 80970 Sailly-Flibeaucourt France
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (77)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Charming 1850 Chateau run since mid 2013 by Anglo Dutch couple Tim & Margreeth Alexander. French, Dutch English & German all spoken (with varying degrees of success- "let us hospitalise you") 5 gorgeous rooms including family rooms all with showers some with baths, extra beds possible. 3 Gites sleeping 4 to 8 people, Group accomodation, weddings, seminars all welcome. Table D'hotes possible when available. 10 Minutes from St. Valery, Le Crotoy and Abbeville, easy access from motorway (6 minutes). 1 Hour from Calais, 2 hours from Paris ideal for stopping over to and from the South of France but Picardie is lovely & worth discovering by itself. 45 Mins from Amiens. Sauna on request, Swimming Pool during the season. 6 Hectares of ancient woodland and grounds with Wild Boar, Red Squirrels, Deer, Woodcocks, Owls and lots of moles. Chateau has been variously a hunting lodge, a Chapel a school and now a bed and breakfast. Welcome one and all.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
215Reviews4Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 148
  • 60
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Koen Verhagen wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Chateau des Lys has been our home for the last three years, when we do a trackday at Abbeville. Tim and Margreeth really do the utmost to make you feel at home. We always make sure to arrive around aperitif time. Tim is not only a great cook, he’s also a great musician! Margreeth is lovely host. Highly recommended!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Elise wrote a review Nov 2019
Paris, France4 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent a wonderful time in le Château des Lys ! We were 33, friends and family for a birthday party and a cosy night. All the room are pleasant, lovely decorated and comfortable. The castle furnish all the commodities, all the kitchen stuff and a lot of dishes to spent an easy time. Really convenient and professional. Tim is a great host, everything was easy going ! Thanks Tim for this unforgettable week-end in your place. Élise
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
cshurlock wrote a review Oct 2019
Huntingdon, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Very much as Mark100000000 comments. Our room was large and fairly well furnished, but the bathroom could do with decorating, not an expensive job to do, or time consuming. When sitting on the toilet, (in the cupboard), you look around and certain areas were dirty. Wall light fittings either side of the bed rotated on the wall when you touched them. Equally we were asked to turn the electric heating off when not in the room. Nice couple, but we would not return. These are old buildings and need money to maintain them, but basics could be attended to without too much money being spent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: look carefully at the web site, and ask questions first.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim A, Owner at Chateau des Lys
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Again thank you for bothering to review us and apologies for the things you didn't like. I've never even thought about those light fittings before, I've never actually tried to rotate them so I'll check that out, it could be fun. The toilet isn't in a cupboard, it's a room 115 x 80cm, I've just measured it, in a pleasing eggshell blue overlooking the ample parking where we had melodious warblers - we usually have books in it but sometimes guests remove them so it may have been emptier than usual. It's a 160 year old building so some bits are smaller than others. We're still renovating some bits of the Chateau but I've never thought of that bathroom (walk-in Italianate) as needing redoing, again most people seem to love it, the reviews elsewhere seem to reflect that. It's the Baroque room if anyone wants to see the photos on our site. I would have hoped that the park and the rest of the place would have won you over so I regret that it didn't, it always feels very personal when somebody isn't 100% satisfied. Sincere apologies for anything not being properly clean- when we have a big change over things can be missed,especially in a place this size- we're human after all and the tarot cards are getting increasingly unreliable but please, next time you feel the same way somewhere else, don't let it bother you, all you have to do is ask one of the staff to clean it and if they're worth their salt, they will. We would have done.
Read more
mark100000000 wrote a review Sep 2019
18 contributions7 helpful votes
Firstly I am always honest with my reviews and rarely give poor reviews. We both felt somewhat disappointed/underwhelmed with our stay. It felt like an average b&b but without a full English breakfast! (Not that we particularly wanted that!) However boiled eggs, French bread and cold croissants just didn’t hit the spot. We also all paid 25€ a head for an evening meal where we had no choice - quiche starter- small chicken breast, few potatoes and peas & onions for mains and half a peach/plumb desert ....... We could eat out having a three course meal for 18€ but with a choice off the menu ! I know where I preferred to eat !! The room was adequate but nothing special - it was quite cold & we only had a wall mounted electric fire in our bathroom to heat the bedroom as well, we couldn’t leave it on low during the day as the owners would come in and turn it off ! So each evening we returned to a cold room. Wifi just didn’t work ever - again not a major issue but the place is advertised as having free WiFi ? Was also very dark around the chateau when returning in the evening, we had to use our phones to see. the inherited the monstrosity that is the lean too conservatory - needs pulling down as it detracts from the beauty that the chateau could be. The hosts were very friendly, we just didn’t ‘feel’ the chateau experience 🙁 As I stated initially - I’m very honest with reviews & I wish the owners all the best.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim A, Owner at Chateau des Lys
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Firstly thanks to Mark for bothering to review us and we apologise for any shortcomings during his stay. Anything less than 4 5 stars these days sets the alarm bells ringing and self examinatory garment rending ensues. There's a similar review from the same group so forgive any repetition in my replies. The problem here is one of communication- he was part of a group, the meal and breakfast was agreed beforehand based on the price they'd agreed, the breakfast was laid out for everyone at a set time each morning so if people arrive later of course eggs will start to get cold (er- nobody asked for them to be reheated) the croissants are all handmade and fresh from the local boulangerie artisanale, no complaints about them ever before, when the group requested warm croissants they got fresh oven baked ones, with pancakes as a variation during their stay (breakfast also included juices, coffee, tea, cheeses, baguettes butter jams and fruits which were all varied daily. It wasn't a full English because we're in France. We can do that too but it needs to be ordered beforehand and it wasn't. Again there's plenty of it and it's French. Similarly Table d'hotes means "hosts table". In France this means you get what the host serves you, They had our 3 course chicken meal which again has had many people asking me for the recipes over the years, you can't please everyone but we serve it because people love it (homemade dessert with caramelised peaches & plums with orange vanilla cream and homemade meringues etc. which sounds and is different to what he describes) and again, had he wanted more he could have asked, we told them to do so, one cannot always gauge portion sizes but the fact nobody did ask either implies the food was plentiful enough or there's a peculiar group reticence to say what you really feel and I strongly dispute that you can get something like for like in a restaurant, with unlimited good wine etc. for the same price. Similarly the Wifi- it can go down and need tweaking but it didn't for us while they were staying and no one told us they were having problems. The lights (dark where exactly?) can all be turned on should anyone but ask, plus since it was over 20 degrees in the daytime and the group were out all day one switches the heating off, especially if the doors are left open, in the interests of the planet if nothing else.Mark's room was in the Old Smithy where there's a wood fire (with free wood) you'll find it on our site and we get a lot of repeat bookings for it and a lot of people going wow when they first see it, check out our site for photos, also of our verandah which is lovely and whilst we accept that not everyone will like every aspect of our aesthetic this is our home and we love it, imagine how you would feel should someone abrogate common decorum by using words like monstrosity when it came to describing your home or car? I appreciate the criticisms but we pride ourselves on what we do here, it's a funny old business, this place has it's weaknesses and it's been a long season so mistakes can creep in, I imagine everywhere similar would agree but I urge you all, if you have a problem with something just tell us or and we'll try to fix it. More we cannot do.
Read more
Blossom2609 wrote a review Sep 2019
Timaru, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
Wow, what an experience! Three friends and I visited the Chateau on a three night coach break, there were 21 of us in the party. We had a very warm welcome from Margreeth, who had tea, coffee and cakes to further welcome us. Our rooms were well equipped and clean. The beds really comfortable. We met Tim at our pre dinner drink party. Tim is a wonderful host and kept us entertained the whole three days with not only his knowledge but with his accomplished musical ability. We had a marvellous singalong on the last evening with the whole party joining in. Tim and Margreeth’s hosting is second to none, the food was great and enjoyed by all. We can’t wait to go back again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
FranceHauts-de-FranceSommeSailly-Flibeaucourt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau des Lys
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau des Lys?
Nearby attractions include Cimetière Chinois de Nolette (3.7 miles), Réserve Ornithologique de Grand-Laviers (3.3 miles), and Spirul'in (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau des Lys?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau des Lys?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau des Lys?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau des Lys?
Conveniently located restaurants include Auberge Fleurie Sarl, L’Aérodrome de la Baie de Somme, and Le Bord de Mer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau des Lys?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Chateau des Lys located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Sailly-Flibeaucourt.
Are there any historical sites close to Chateau des Lys?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tours et Remparts de Saint Valery sur Somme (6.1 miles), Beffroi de Rue (8.0 miles), and La Chapelle de l'Hospice (8.0 miles).
Is Chateau des Lys accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.