We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Save
Share
596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
$166
View Deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$167
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com$166
Snaptravel$166
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1296)
360
Panoramas (53)
Room & Suite (537)

About

#6 of 11 hotels in Ucluelet
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Fishing
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French
1,970Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,075
  • 501
  • 224
  • 100
  • 70
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Melissa C wrote a review Oct 17
Vancouver, Canada44 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
I got a great deal to stay at the Blackrock and was so excited to indulge in a luxury few nights away with our close friends. We booked a 2 bedroom trail suite. This room option is great for 2 couples as the bedrooms are identical and both have an ensuite bathroom. Our suite was on the bottom level and the views were absolutely gorgeous. We loved hearing the waves crashing onto the rocks nearby. The resort is so dog-friendly which was great as we brought 2 dogs with us. We received a little package for the dogs including treats, food bowls, a blanket, and some towels to use for them. It was a lovely touch! My friend and I went for massages at the spa and that was a lovely experience as well. Some downsides and areas for improvement: - We had issues with our room keys not working at first. - The doors to the patio were extremely difficult to open. - 2 shelves in our fridge were broken. - Our fireplace wouldn't work and we had to call maintenance to fix it (although the maintenance guy was great!) - We went to the lobby bar for happy hour as they advertise "food and drinks specials". When we arrived, the hostess that checked us in walked up to us with her mask on, then pulled her mask down underneath her nose and mouth to speak to us (just a couple feet away). This is not appropriate and made me feel uncomfortable as you'd expect COVID safety protocols to be adhered to strictly in a place that serves food and drinks. After waiting for about 15 minutes, the server came over and let us know the specials... only 3 drinks specials, and no food specials at all (despite the advertisements). We decided to go back to our room to enjoy our ocean views and our own drinks and snacks instead! Overall, this resort just seems like it needs a bit of TLC. I enjoyed my stay, but would feel a bit ripped off if I had paid full price. Recommendations for activities in the area: - The Lighthouse Loop is an easy, beautiful hike close to the resort - Pluvio restaurant was AMAZING!! - Pacific Rim Eco Tours took us on an awesome bike tour of the area
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Scott W wrote a review Oct 9
1 contribution
Place is in utter Kaos. Check in seemed to take forever. Room didnt seem cleaned at all, still could see dog hair on the carpet, there was no coffee in the suite. We called front desk 3 times to get coffee and 3 hours later someone finally showed up. Views were good from top suite. Couldn't get into restaurant at all even when trying to call early for a reservation, but no one would answer the phone. We ended up going to the lounge to eat and we were charged $16 for about 7 chicken wings that were dry and sub par. Staff customer service was terrible, they would just walk by you like you weren't even standing there, so couldn't ask questions. NEVER AGAIN!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
jacob b wrote a review Oct 4
3 contributions
Brown water for showers and baths, kitchen water was warm and brown too. Door falloff the hinges to my friends suites patio, and he stepped in a nail coming through the floor moldings. No clean water offered form front desk. Room was 100°C when we got here made it unbearable to sleep day 3 still to hot with windows and patio open and I can see into 6 other suites. Not impressed for $500+ per night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lovingthesun wrote a review Sep 2020
Vancouver, Canada2,065 contributions105 helpful votes
We had a very nice 3 night stay at Black Rock. The location is amazing, beside a great rocky beach and the great hiking trails on the Wild Coast Trail. The views from the lobby are lovely. We stayed in a lodge studio suite. The room is spacious and comfortable with a nice sized bathroom and deck. There was a small dining table and chairs which was nice for meals. Unfortunately the room was at the back of the lodge and the view was of some bushes and trees with the ocean a long ways away. The resort is very nice and should be 5 stars but is more like a 4 at best. For the price charged I did expect more. With some improvements they could make it worth what they charge but they aren’t there in my opinion. I was hoping they would send out an email survey to obtain guest feedback but I’ve received nothing. Some areas that need improvement: Studio suites should have more dishes. Having only 2 of each item (2 plates, 2 glasses etc) and no dishwasher meant I was constantly doing dishes since there was no housekeeping during the pandemic. Housekeeping items should be easier to obtain, we had to call for towels, coffee, etc because only 1 nights worth of items is provided on check in and there was no housekeeping provided. The decks are not private, they are all glass sides and only 2 inches from each other. We rarely sat on the deck because of the lack of privacy. There is no air conditioning so it can get warm, even in late September. There was also a lot of noise (stomping feet, music) from the unit above us. I’m not sure if they were just very noisy people or the sound proofing wasn’t good. The pools and hot tubs were closed to guests due to the pandemic unless you had a spa reservation. This felt like a cash grab, only allowing you to use what is normally included if you buy a spa package. Most hotels allow guests to book a time for the pool to maintain social distancing but here we had no option unless we had a spa time already booked. Use of hotel amenities such as the pool should be given to all guests not just spa guests. Social distancing wasn’t enforced during check in. We tried to check in a little early when there was no one there but the room wasn’t ready. At 4 pm check in there was a long waiting line including families with their kids even though the sign said only one guest per household at check in. The staff were somewhat friendly but didn’t make much effort. We let them know it was our anniversary when we booked and they did mention it on arrival but there was no card or anything as most hotels usually do for guests. We were never asked how our stay was in any interactions with staff including check out. All in all it was a great trip despite the challenges and I’d consider going back because of the location but would love to see some improvements first.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Adele Larkin, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Lovingthesun, Thank you so much for your comments. I agree, some extra dishware and towels should be added to the rooms. We have a list of items that we will be upgrading this winter, those are two items that have been included. For the most part the units can be fairly quiet, I think sometimes people forget that there are floors below them perhaps this is something that we can include in our in-room information. Thank you for letting me know about the lack of attention to your anniversary, we love to be included in these celebrations I am not sure why this detail was not picked up by us properly, please accept our sincere apologies. We do take the COVID protocols seriously at our resort, we however are counting on our guests to adhere to the guidelines and protocols that we have posted and in place. It is our hope that all of our guests recognize how important it is for us all to do our part. I am so sorry that we did not make you feel comfortable in this regard. I am pleased you are interested in returning, we look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Adele
Read more
MegsBC wrote a review Sep 2020
Comox, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
This resort is phenomenal! Clean, great Covid measures and gorgeous views! A huge shout out to Black Rock for delivering an incredible resort that definitely didn’t disappoint. We had a wonderful breakfast at currents restaurant (on property), and enjoyed exploring the area (wild pacific trail). In the past, we’ve stayed in Tofino, but lately it seems so busy. Ucluelet seems to have a more mellow vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adele Larkin, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
MegsBC, We are so pleased you enjoyed the resort and your time in Ucluelet. All the best, Adele
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
black rock oceanfront hotel ucluelet, black rock oceanfront ucluelet
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictBarkley SoundUcluelet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
133
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wild Pacific Trail (0.5 miles), Ucluelet Aquarium (0.6 miles), and Florencia Bay (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pluvio restaurant, Heartwood Kitchen, and Jigger's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Black Rock Oceanfront Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.