We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
364 Marine Drive PO Box 39, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (59)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (7)

About

#6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Ucluelet
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
All that is missing....is You! Private, oceanfront accommodations on Little Beach Bay in Ucluelet BC. Come, let us spoil you with some west coast hospitality! Free parking, free WiFi and lots of relaxation included!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
124Reviews4Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 109
  • 7
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Peter P wrote a review Sep 2019
4 contributions
We were lucky to have been able to spend two nights at Horizons West. It is centrally located in Ucluelet, on the beautiful west coast of Vancouver Island, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The views were breathtaking and the room itself very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom not quite matching in size, but adequate, as was the kitchenette. Communication with the host, Jennifer, was smooth and she was very friendly when we eventually met. We would certainly visit again, should the occasion arise!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
hodo09 wrote a review Sep 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Our family spent 4 nights at Horizons West. We were blown over as soon as we arrived when we were greeted by a friendly neighbourhood deer, then by the view that took our breathe away when we walked into the main house. Richard was the perfect host. He told us about great hikes, where to find the best pizza and even helped us set up a wine tour with his sister company in Kelowna. It was the most relaxing vacation we've had. Can't wait to book again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: there's no such thing as a bad room here
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ladylee2014 wrote a review Aug 2018
Edmonton, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
We spent a wonderful 4-night visit and were treated like royalty! The host, Richard, was incredibly helpful, giving us suggestions on where to go, and things to do to get the most out of our vacation. He is extremely knowledgeable about the Pacific Rim area. Whale-watching, crab fishing, hiking, and viewing the wildlife that live in the area were just a few of the activities we participated in. Can't thank you enough, Richard & Jennie, and look forward to many more visits at your beautiful B&B!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: All rooms had fabulous views, and private balconies!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jim N wrote a review Oct 2017
17 contributions10 helpful votes
When my wife and I book a hotel, we always specify that we want a room away from the elevator, ice machine, etc. and no adjoining room. We also prefer the top floor as that will eliminate the sound of people stomping overhead at all hours. We like it quiet. Our stay at Horizons West only worked because we were the only guests there for much of our stay. As it turned out, the room we booked was right inside the front door that allowed access to the common area. So that would have meant random traffic in and out, just outside the door of our room. Hearing conversations and sounds made by other guests would have been unavoidable. The room itself was spacious but reminded me of the summer cottage my in-laws used to have in Ontario. There were two sliding glass doors to the common deck, only one of which had a screen. That door didn't open and I didn't want to force it. None of the windows had screens. My wife and I like the room cool when we sleep. We turned the heat off for the duration of our stay. Thankfully, the bug season appeared to be over, so leaving a sliding door or window open to let in fresh air didn't result in an invasion of insects. The bathroom was the weakest part of the room. The sink appeared to be a bar sink - stainless steel, about a foot square and 6 inches deep. If you are a plus-sized person, then the close-fitting shower may be a challenge for you. If you have long, thick hair, be prepared to spend a long time under the weak shower trying to rinse the shampoo out. Speaking of "out". Be careful stepping out of that shower as the toilet bowl is just over a foot away. Despite having a full kitchen just outside our door (remember the common area), we were not allowed to use it. We did manage to get by with the bar fridge, coffee maker and ancient microwave, thanks to the deli at the local Co-Op. The view was outstanding. The flat screen TV let us watch HGTV and The Food Network during our down time. I would only come back if I was guaranteed that we would be the only ones there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid a room with someone above you.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HorizonsWest, Owner at Horizons West
Responded Oct 21, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a very detailed review! In the 15 years we have been in business, we have never had a guest review the "what if's" of their stay. It sounds like you had our entire house to yourselves, which essentially, from what you have written is your preference. We have never had noise complaints from guests staying in this room. As much as we really appreciate constructive criticism, this review does not make it easy to understand what your concerns actually are. First off I would like to mention that these guests booked through Air B&B. Airbnb has listings all over the map, from Savannah, Georgia, to Honolulu, Hawaii, to international listings. As of late, Airbnb has listings in more than 65,000 cities around the world. Once you click on a listing, you can see a plethora of information about that listing, including the size of the space and amenities, check-in and pricing information, A DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE SPACE, house rules, safety features, and availability. You will also see reviews from other guests, and information about the hosts. If you like the listing, you can request to book it, or, send the host a message asking more questions about the space BEFORE you book. Unfortunately, that was not the case with these guests. They sent an instant booking without asking any questions, so, to a seasoned host, who has a very detailed listing description of the space, amenities, house rules etc....we assume the space you are booking is a great fit for you. We are NOT A HOTEL nor do we claim to be one. We do not have ice machines or elevators. We rent out private rooms in our west coast log cabin. Our listing is very detailed on exactly what we offer with plenty of accurate pictures and descriptions. The description on the listing as well as the confirmation email that I sent to you, let you know exactly what we offered and what you were booking. To recap the confirmation email that I sent to you: Thank you for your inquiry! This room is located on the main floor of our home with a King size bed, ocean view with deck, private small 3 piece bath, (kitchenette which includes a bar fridge, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, dishware - NO FULL COOKING) As per the local by-laws & insurance reasons, there is no full cooking permitted at any property in this part of Ucluelet, which is the reason our own private kitchen is off limits. Did you get a chance to read the listing description before you booked with us? Did you read the confirmation email I sent to you? There was plenty of time to ask questions before you booked. The west coast of Vancouver Island does not have a "bug season" that you may be accustomed to. Most west coast homes do not have the need for screens on all the windows and as we live right on the open ocean, we do not have this issue. People booking with us are booking our space because of the king size beds, private rooms, incredible open ocean views and the nature that is right at your doorstep. For the price, you can't find a cheaper ocean view room in this area. The going rate at our local MOTEL is $200/ night with a view of the parking lot. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Ucluelet, and encourage you to research a little more for next time, so that you can be a valuable and contributing member of the Air B&B community. We ask all of our other valued guests to find us on Air B&B, and read the over 400, five-star reviews! We love our job as hosts! We will continue to ensure all of the guests that stay with us feel comfortable, feel at home, and leave with wonderful memories of this incredible piece of paradise that we call home!
Read more
Roodeberglodge wrote a review Aug 2017
Alton, United Kingdom775 contributions353 helpful votes
We were in the Oceans View Room (booked through AirBnB) - Jennifer struggled to get hold of us (due to problems with wifi and mobile reception at the last place) but bless her, she did try! We got that just after 5pm (which I think might be the time she leaves) but she was still waiting for us and showed us round the room. A large room, with small kitchen area (fridge/kettle) and small shower room next door - the real reason for going is the view which is amazing. Also amazing was the gorgeous BIG bed, which was the most comfortable we had in three weeks in Canada! You can walk into town, I think it took us about 10 minutes to stroll in - Jennifer leaves umbrella's and torches around, in case you need them! (plus tea and coffee to get you started)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictBarkley SoundUcluelet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Horizons West
Which popular attractions are close to Horizons West?
Nearby attractions include Amphitrite Point Lighthouse (0.7 miles), Ucluelet Aquarium (0.6 miles), and Cedar House Gallery - Huu Mees Ma As (0.6 miles).
Is parking available at Horizons West?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Horizons West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pluvio restaurant, Jigger's, and Heartwood Kitchen.
Does Horizons West have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.