We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Horizon Motel

Save
Share
2037 Hunter Frontage Rd, Christina Lake, Grand Forks, British Columbia V0H 1E2 Canada
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (10)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Christina Lake
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
One of the top 25 Travelers' Choice Award Winners in Canada. A BC Select Property located at the east entrance of Christina Lake community. Executive King or double queen rooms or suites, some Jacuzzi tubs, Free WiFi & complimentary continental breakfast, specialize in golf packages, family holidays & reunions, select corporate retreats.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
126Reviews0Q+A43Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn 100 points
Traveler rating
  • 82
  • 31
  • 5
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Laurel N wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
DONT BELIEVE THE PICTURES..We booked this online. When we arrived we ahould have known better than to oversee all the toys and garbage strewn out front. When we went in to register the "lobby" was worse than the outside. We got our room key and off we went to the back end of the building. There was no one else there except one other couple right next door. We got out of our vehicle and were swarmed by mosquitos. We didnt even check the room. We were out of there. The guy at the front desk i thought was very understanding said to cancel my booking through the website and he wont put through the charge on my Credit Card.. Ya he put it through...place is a dump!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Yu, General Manager at New Horizon Motel
Responded Jun 12, 2020
I do not understand why you were so mad and I did my best to calm you down, but I guess it didn't work out. We did some renovation this year to our office, and a new flooring for our rooms. I'm so sorry about our kid's toy, but we do not have any garbage out side. And if you are coming again to the Christina Lake prepare a spray for mosquitoes and after bites. And next time when you come, please check the room because we did some renovations. And I did not charge you anything, but canceled your pre-authorization. I do not know how clean the motel has to be not called a "Dump", but the cleanness is our most stronger side, and our customers come back because of that. I apologize again for any inconvenience, and thank you for our customers who's coming back for years. We will keep our rooms clean and sanitized specially with the virus still out there, we will try our best. Thanks again.
Read more
BritishColumbiaHappy wrote a review May 2019
Penticton, Canada30 contributions11 helpful votes
This is the second year that our golf group of 16 guys stayed at the New Horizon. All of the rooms were clean and ready for us on arrival and the motel staff was friendly. We made good use of their outdoor area as we had a catered BBQ in the courtyard. We will be back again next year!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Rooms at the back are newer.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel
Responded Jun 14, 2019
Thank u for staying with us agian, and see you next year.
Read more
cindyr903 wrote a review May 2019
Okotoks4 contributions
No hot water told owner he didn’t care didn’t offer different room. My dog found and old dog chew under a side table in the front room . Room was stuffy and smelled of old cigarette smoke and dead flies on the main windowsill. Plus we had to wash our drinking cups and coffee cups so we didn’t get a $20.00 charge on our credit card . We used to stay every beginning of the season when the parents owned the hotel this would have all been unacceptable. We were given $20 off for no hot water 🙁
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel
Responded Jun 14, 2019
Sorry about the hot water, I did not know about it before you told me. We had a big water leek from the tank, so we had to change the hot water tank after that weekend. Again I apologize for what happen.
Read more
louisecX2934HZ wrote a review Oct 2018
Creston, Canada1 contribution
This motel is clean but old. I stayed here in October expecting breakfast in the morning. Although the website boasts continental breakfast EVERY morning, it is only available from May to September. This should be made clear.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Newhorizonmotel, Manager at New Horizon Motel
Responded Nov 7, 2018
Yes, continental breakfast is available from May to Sep, but there is a price drop of $10~20 when there is no breakfast, and some people prefer that. Sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
TeresaLee13 wrote a review Aug 2018
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We stay here for a week on our annual family summer vacation.The room was very clean. The air conditioner worked amazing which was a huge bonus. The owners are super friendly and very helpful. Will definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Newhorizonmotel, General Manager at New Horizon Motel
Responded Sep 1, 2018
Thank you, it's been busy and crazy summer from beginning of May after the flooding. We feel sory for who lost thier homes and busineses. I'm glad the fire is over, and the fire crews are checking out today, thank you for a great job. Thank you RCMP, Hydraclean, Sttuders, DNR, SPL, and all the tourists who stayed with us. You've broke our record again even with flooding and fire, and still on going. Thank you very much again on behalf of New Horizon Motel and have a great fall and winter.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaGrand ForksChristina Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about New Horizon Motel
Which popular attractions are close to New Horizon Motel?
Nearby attractions include Christina Lake (1.2 miles), Gladstone Provincial Park (including Texas Creek Campground) (4.9 miles), and Christina Lake Provincial Park (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at New Horizon Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at New Horizon Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at New Horizon Motel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at New Horizon Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to New Horizon Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lisa's Lakeside Bistro, Portly Penguin Pizza, and Kool Treat.
Is New Horizon Motel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Christina Lake.
Is New Horizon Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.