We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

725 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 702: English reviews
Start your review of The Spencer on Byron Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there for the MustangnConvention. What an awesome place to cater for a large crowd. Rooms were wonderful, dining was awesome and the Staff were very accommodating. Definately recommend them. Helpful staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is old, rooms drab. No safe in the room Hotel is $48 cab ride from downtown Auckland. Dining staff discouraged us from ordering from menu, said food was served too slow Buffet breakfast had curdled yogurt A few blocks of small stores and restaurants in this area. Beach is close- nice to walk but if you are only in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer. We really appreciate your comments which I will be discussing with our team. I am sorry that Takapuna was not the location you expected: we are not a city centre location, but a suburb of Auckland with a beach atmosphere, designer shops, a huge variety...

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived before book in time of 3pm and had to wait for our room, in the intervening time we were asked to pay NZ$20 to park the car, all on street parking is metered and up to 3 hours only, there is a further charge of NZ$19.95. We were finally allocated a room at 3.10 and took the lift to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 585Rodney585
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer. We appreciate your comments and hope you will return again. Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were on our honeymoon. We arrived in our room to find rose petals arranged in the shape of hearts on our bed, a complimentary bottle of wine and a very sincere card signed by Debbie Barnett and the team. The room was excellent, the staff were only too happy to accommodate any requests we had and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy S
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations on your Wedding! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer, we really appreciate your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again to The Spencer. Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this hotel and the location, just be aware when you stay there will be extras. They charge $20/day for parking, about the same for wifi, and my personal favourite - $55 PER NIGHT for a rollaway bed. (Think the "Jetstar of hotels")

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joecraven
Edgewood, New Mexico
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We stayed two nights at the Spencer on Byron at the beginning of our two week Red Carpet Tour. The hotel was quiet and our room was comfortable and clean. While the room was not spacious, it was fine for the two of us. We had a group dinner in the banquet room, and the buffet was quite good. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnotherNiteOnTheRoad
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Spencer, we really appreciate your comments and hope you will have an opportunity to revisit Takapuna in the future, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett

USA
Reviewed January 14, 2017

I wish I would have seen the reviews on TripAdvisor before making my reservation – especially those that a poor to terrible such as Rich's from six days ago, or Blair B of Nov.25 16 or agenj007 from April 2016. Despite the many "excellent" review they much better reflect what is going on. Yes, he views either harbor/city or beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbroo
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and for your colleague also discussing with our Sales & Marketing Director directly, to air the concerns you had during your stay with us at The Spencer. I apologise for the time it has taken to get back to you directly but due to the nature of your review, we...

Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

Upgraded to a suite. Comfortable bed, fabulous panoramic views of Auckland and Rangitoto Island. Walking distance to Takapuna shops. Generous buffet breakfast, room service was good too. Furniture a bit tired could do with a freshen up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margie G
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

Probably the best place on the North Shore! We have stayed here many times and we are always pleased with the standards of Te hotel and the helpfulness of the staff. We checked in for 3nights and were given a room catering for disabled persons. We requested to move and were given a wonderful room with a sea view. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philrowe
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager

Olten, Switzerland
Reviewed January 8, 2017

From problems with the Booking process, false infomation, checkin delays, slow staff and lukewarm breakfast, I was dissapointed. I grew up nearby, and flew back to Takapuna for my wedding. we booked the Wedding special package and for $315 NZD we expected more. the condition and fittings in the room were old and worn, the meals were very unpleasant. Sorely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich_dw_chnz
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - we really appreciate your comments, and I am sorry to read of the issues you encountered but thank you for highlighting this to us, giving us the opportunity to speak with our team and rectify this moving forward. I have also emailed you directly, and I hope...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (169)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
0.6 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
111 reviews
1.7 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#5 of 7 in Takapuna
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,875 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
2.7 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Thyme Restaurant
Thyme Restaurant
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the finest Auckland hotels - ocean views, sea-scented air and a sunny outlook... Auckland's Spencer on Byron Hotel uses its beautiful environment to great advantage. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. Various types of rooms from studios to fully equipped family suites are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Address: The Spencer 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Price Range: $166 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Spencer on Byron Hotel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
over a year ago
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Spencer on Byron Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Definately a Corner room. Views are just wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles DianeR69, 1 week ago | Read review
“Great hotel with ample shopping in close proximity.”
 of 5 bubbles MelOConnor74, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have best views and are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles adesso2636, Nov 25, 2016 | Read review
“Not great value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles 92blairb, Nov 24, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floors have outstanding views.”
  • Nicely equipped kitchenette
  • Nice shower
  • Nice bathroom with decent counter space
  • Room with double beds, desk, tv
  • Good selection of complementary toiletries
  • Sunset view showing adjacent tall building
  • Overall room view
  • Slightly zoomed sunset view
 of 5 bubbles Fingerpicker8, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question