We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Lake Lodge

Traveler (168)
Dining (23)
Room & Suite (17)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 17 Specialty lodging in Fernie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Island Lake Lodge is a multi-season property located in Fernie BC. The main focus is Catskiing in the winter. Summer includes: dining, hiking, spa, mountain biking, fly fishing, corporate retreats and a spectacular wedding venue. Experience this gem of the Canadian Rockies.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Private balcony
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Great View
231Reviews
3Q+A
47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 181
  • 29
  • 9
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
In our review below, we'll describe different facets of the resort. Location: The Island Lake Lodge is located 12KM from downtown Fernie in a secluded location surrounded by a lake, trails, trees, and mountains. If you're looking for a quiet getaway far from the crowds, this is the place! The road to access the lodge, while partially closed in winter, is open during the warmer months. Unfortunately, it's filled with potholes and not in the best condition, but once you make it to the lodge itself, all your worries will melt away. Rooms: AMAZING. Our room was spotless and HUGE, with a large couch, king bed, tables, ample electrical outlets, and a HUGE bathroom. It had a massive balcony with a view of the mountains! There was both a bathtub and a shower in the bathroom, and both provided ample hot water even when running at the same time. The bed, pillows, and sheets were luxurious and so comfortable. We got a great nights sleep. Reception: Very friendly, efficient, and passionate about hiking and nature. We got great advice about which trails to use! Bar/Restaurant: There are two restaurants onsite. The Tamarack Dining Room is located in the Tamarack Lodge and is open for breakfast and dinner. While the portions aren’t the biggest, the quality is great, the service is friendly, and you’ll enjoy fantastic views as you dine. They have quite the wine list too! Recommendations are recommended as seating is limited. If you're a day hiker looking for dinner after, our advice is to stop by reception before your hike and make reservations. Because the portions in the Tamarack Dining Room aren't the biggest, you may want to choose another option in town if you're a hiker. There are many more affordable options in Fernie that'll give you much more energy before or after a hike. However, if you're not doing a gruelling hike/bike that day, the onsite restaurants are a solid choice. The Bear Lodge Bistro is open for lunch until 5 PM, and reservations aren't required. Whether you want a full meal or just to enjoy a drink on the patio, the Bear Lodge Bistro has something for everyone. Although it looked delicious there, we didn’t eat there simply because we were out hiking during the day. Wi-fi: Free for guests, the wi-fi is very fast and reliable, working everywhere in the lodge. No complaints. Other: The lodge isn't as expensive as you may expect. We did some research, and found that rooms were only a few dollars more than many places in downtown Fernie. If you like nature, spend the extra cash and stay here! This is a place you want to go to relax and decompress. There are no phones or televisions in guest rooms, so if you like to wind down after a long day by watching your favourite TV show, be aware you won't be able to. If you're a hiker, you'll LOVE Island Lake Lodge! There are so many choices! There are easy, short hikes like a leisurely stroll around the lake all the way to heart pounding, 20KM + hikes requiring advanced route finding skills. There’s truly a trail for everyone. Parking and use of the trails is free for everyone, not just guests of the lodge, which is great if you're a day hiker. The lodge's reception team also has trail maps and information, which they're glad to share with day hikers. Feel free to ask them! We only noticed one public washroom, which was a tiny porto-potty in the parking lot. So if you're not a guest or not dining in one of the restaurants, you may have to use "mother nature's bathroom" - the trees. Although we came for the hiking, we found out that there is so much more to Island Lake Lodge than just the trails. For example, if you want to relax, the lodge has THREE saunas for its guests, all outside and facing the trees and mountains. There’s also a spa downstairs in the Tamarack lodge. If you want to do more than just walk around the lake, the lodge also rents canoes. And if you’re getting married, the lodge offers wedding packages. In fact, during our stay a couple was getting married and was enjoying a photoshoot near the lake. We also found out that the lodge is open in winter, but not for hiking, for Cat skiing. You’ll be picked up at the main gate (where the road closes during winter) in a big Cat machine that takes up to 12 guests to the lodge. From there, you’ll stay for a few days and ski to your hearts content, all meals are included! What an experience it will be riding to the top of a mountain in a Cat. Don’t worry, the lodge has enough Cat machines for everyone! There’s also a chance to go snowshoeing there, although it’s just for the day. The lodge offers pickup at the gate and provides a lunch. Of course, you can still visit the lodge even if you’re not part of these programs, but you’ll have to hike 7 KM (4.3 miles) from the main gate. It’s uphill and we wouldn’t recommend it in the dead of winter though. We plan to go back in winter for the snowshoeing! Overall, we gave the Island Lake Lodge four stars out of five. The only reason we didn't give it five out of five is because the access road is in horrible condition. So much so that one of our tires was damaged from all the potholes and we had to have it repaired when we got home. To be fair, we're not sure if the lodge is responsible for maintenance of the access road, however we wanted to provide this feedback as they should be aware of this. Other than the bumpy rides in and out, we had a great time at the Island Lake Lodge and hope to return soon!
Read more
Response from Ambassador718922, Manager at Island Lake Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Wow - thank you so much for your detailed and wonderful feedback. We try hard to make every part of the experience great and you seem to have had a well-rounded visit. We love hiking​ as well!! Cheers and we hope to see you again.
Read more
We booked a two night stay following our wedding as a honeymoon. We booked several months in advance and were very excited for our stay as we had hiked around the property many times and truly believed there was no where more beautiful in Fernie. Upon arrival we were told the hiking trails were closed due to wildlife - which is disappointing but understandable as safety is priority. We were then told our room was not yet ready, again...fine as we arrived a few minutes before check in We were told to go have a nice glass of wine on the patio wile we waited sounds great...however we were told it would be a 45 minute wait just to get a spot for a glass of wine for two people? We returned to see if our room would be ready, it was but we had been downgraded from the King suite to a room with two queens. Disappointing as this was our honeymoon and we had indicated that on our registration when we booked months ago. We explained and were told there wasn't anything that could be done. We could not believe that at the very least we were not informed of the change prior to arrival. At a rate of $300 a night I would expect at least that as a courtesy. The front desk staff encouraged us to look at the room while they called the manager to see what could be done. the room was fine but certainly nothing special. Upon returning to the front desk to see if they had figured out a solution we were offered a $50.00 voucher to the in house restaurant, which unfortunately would not cover much more than a meal and drink for one of us. When we asked if we could speak with the manager we were told they were not available even though the front desk had been corresponding with them to arrange the voucher. We were told they would have the manager call us first thing in the morning and of course..we heard nothing. We travel a lot and truthfully have never experienced this lack of guest services especially knowing this was a special trip for us. For the premium cost I would have expected premium services, due to the series of disappointments we made the decision to leave and stay elsewhere.
Read more
Response from Ambassador718922, Manager at Island Lake Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, we did have a plumbing emergency and had no choice but to switch you to a different room. The room offered was equal, except for the bed configuration. In this regard, we did the best we could under the circumstances. We are looking into why there was a 45-minute wait for you to get a drink and will make changes to our program if needed. As for the hiking trails, there were 2 trails closed because of wildlife, but many more were open and available. Though our lodge manager was not on-site​ that day, she has tried calling and has emailed you. We would be happy to chat if we can find a time that works for you. As highlighted in other reviews on this site, we take pride in offering a high level of service and will continue to refine our processes and overall experience.
Read more
+1
The experience of this place was perfect. I don't mean great, excellent, awesome.. I mean perfect. The staff was warm, engaging, attentive and knowledgeable. Don't know where they gathered their service staff from but it is a collection of individuals that are extremely good at what they do. Every meal was outstanding and very much exceeded our expectations. 5 stars would be too low of a rating for the quality and presentation of the dishes. My sincere compliments to the chefs, kitchen staff and servers. The views, comfort, peace and amenities are unbeatable. I especially enjoyed sitting in the Canadian Cedar barrel sauna with the most incredible window. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The trails were well maintained and glorious. Anyone would be lucky to stay at the Island Lake Lodge. Take my money NOW and forever because we will be back. Thanks for making a great wedding week absolutely perfect.
Read more
Response from Ambassador718922, Manager at Island Lake Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to having you back. We certainly agree with all you said.:)
Read more
+1
I rarely come back to the same hotel, but Island Lake Lodge has my heart. We come back every summer for 6 years in a row and each time I can’t wait to see that spectacular view, smell the clean mountain air and eat as much as I can on the menu! The food is absolutely awesome, even if it is on the pricy side: a 3-course dinner with here will set you off approx. CAD180 plus tip, more if you get a bottle of wine. Every bite is worth it - it is some of the best food I have had on my many travels. The menu is different every year with some favourites staying consistent - but it is stellar every time we come. Beautiful cocktails as well. Attention to detail is evident as is the talent of the chef and kitchen staff. Service across the property from the front desk to the restaurants is friendly and helpful. Hiking is breathtaking - the views from the trails are quite simply world class. Canoeing on the lake is a pleasure, especially at sunset! It’s just a beautiful place to feel connected to nature and pampered at the same time. I can’t wait for our next visit. Thank you Island Lake Lodge!
Read more
Response from Ambassador718922, Manager at Island Lake Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
6 times - that is wonderful! Thank you for pointing out the level of service and facilities! See you next time. Cheers
Read more
We rode our bikes up Lazy Lizard on multiple recommendations. We were not disappointed. The food and service were top notch. Prices are reasonable given the quality of food and setting. We are at the Casual restaurant but there was also a fine dining spot at the Lodge.
Read more
Response from Ambassador718922, Manager at Island Lake Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
So nice to hear! A bike ride and time spent on the patio is a great day. Cheers
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
island lake hotel fernie
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesFernie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing