We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Canad Inns Portage la Prairie

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Canad Inns Portage la Prairie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I specifically reserved this hotel for my children and I on our way back from a 10 day vacation, because of the pool. It was one of the more expensive rooms we were to be staying in on our trip but I didn't mind, as I have 2 sisters who live there, I thought it would be great to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelly g
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for you comments. The hotel policy was not really a change but more of being enforced by Health Regulations. It is for the protection of everyone involved. A lot of hotels are moving to using wrist bands for hotel guests in the pool area. I am glad to hear that the room and beds were comfortable and... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed at Canad Inn for two nights in a king suite. We enjoyed the layout of the king suite. From the bedroom, you could not hear any noise from the hallway outside our room. Beds were comfortable, room was clean and housekeeping. Maintenance responded within 15 minutes when there was a problem with our room. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank iplayazi
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Hello , Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. You could sleep all day in the back of suites they are that quiet. Updating the rooms is in our plan for the next year. Happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast. Hopefully we can find something else you like on the menu for your next visit. More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical decor and amenities for an average older hotel. Staff courteous, friendly and helpful. Not much of a view from any of the rooms. Basic amenities. Great food at restaurant, awesome breakfast buffet including perogies and pickled beets.

Helpful?
Thank georgec92
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Hello Georgec92, Thank you for your comments and kind words on the hotel . I hope we will see you again. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was at this hotel for dog show, which is held in the same building. Tub wouldn't drain, furniture looks like it fell off the back of a truck, beds were visibly worn out! We were told we got the "less attractive" rooms because we had dogs yet we still paid over $100 a night! There is no room for getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey K
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Hello Kelsey K. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your stay. As we did show you during your stay you just had to open the drain to get it to work. We are updating our furniture and rooms over the next year. Sorry you think we don't like pets, We actually just recently became pet... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portage la Prairie hotels

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

It was OK, but it could be better! Pro: - Really good staff everywhere in the hotel. - Good food for dinner and breakfast. We had a huge buffet for dinner and the breakfast was what I was expecting! - Internet: slow but it works. - Bar was fun to watch the hockey game with the locals! - Many stores... More 

Helpful?
Thank alainl03
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Thank you for the honest review of the hotel. We do have some age issues that we are addressing. We have started on a room reno on the side of the side of the hotel you stayed in. We are updating the colour and case goods in the rooms. It nice to see you enjoyed the staff, and hotel during... More 

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

This city doesn't have many good options for hotels. The town itself is quite run down and needs some infrastructure clean up. We come here annually to visit family. This hotel is the nicest place to stay, but is very overpriced for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank Miranda C
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Thank you Miranda C for your comments. With the amenities that we deliver in the hotel such as the water slide and pool, the 24 hr full access to the fitness center, 3 F & B outlets, free wifi we feel there is good value in the rooms. Depending on when you stay but demand plays a role into the... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

So I have traveled here 4 times now. Twice I commuted from Winnipeg and twice I have stayed in Portage La Prairie. Now this Inn is not a Hilton so don't start judging it like one. The Inn is very nice and it has two restaurants so it is better than most in smallish type towns. Rooms are clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank John_W9999901
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Hello John. Thank you for your honest words on our hotel. We are working on improving the rooms with some updates with paint and case goods. I hope you choose to stay with us again and enjoy the restaurants and other amenities in the hotel. Trent Ward More 

Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

I have stayed at this hotel several times, as have some of my friends. I have also attended birthday pool parties for children at this location. The facilities are continually updated. They are not what they were in 2015.

Helpful?
Thank dianapelley
Gretna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

When we first arrived, the man at the front desk was incredibly rude to both my business partner and I. We asked to speak with the manager and she as well wasnt very keen on trying to find a solution to our check in issue. As we had an event to plan in town, we were eager to check in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kayla G
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Kayla G. We normally can find solutions to any issue that arises with in our control at front desk. We apologize for the pool closer but again sometimes things happen out of control like pumps going down on a Friday after 4 pm. We have been making improvements to the rooms and over the next... More 

Eriksdale, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2016 via mobile

I stay at this hotel every two months or so for business but am seriously considering a big change I arrived around 4 pm Sunday evening to check in for 2 nights I asked for an upgrade and was told there was not one clean hot tub or jacuzzi room or any executive suite because get this THE ROOMS WERE... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Wainwrp
Trent W, General Manager at Canad Inns Portage la Prairie, responded to this review

Hello Wainwrp. Sorry we did not have the room you wanted available at check in. There could of been a number of reasons why a hot tub room was not available. Most likely is that the hotel was completely full and the housekeeping staff worked on needed rooms. Sunday is also a day that lots of guests like to check... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage la Prairie
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Portage La Prairie
Days Inn Portage La Prairie
#6 of 6 in Portage la Prairie
2.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Portage La Prairie MB
Super 8 Portage La Prairie MB
#1 of 6 in Portage la Prairie
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westgate Inn
Westgate Inn
#2 of 6 in Portage la Prairie
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Country Cozy Bed & Breakfast
Country Cozy Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 14 in Thunder Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellow Quill Motel
Yellow Quill Motel
#4 of 6 in Portage la Prairie
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Canad Inns Portage la Prairie

Address: 2401 Saskatchewan Avenue West, Portage la Prairie, Manitoba R1N 3L5, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Portage la Prairie
Price Range: $102 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canad Inns Portage la Prairie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Portage La Prairie Hotel Portage La Prairie
Canad Inns Portage La Prairie Manitoba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay