We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Comfort Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Comfort Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Immaculately clean. Smallish rooms. Air conditioner worked. You can park right outside your motel room door. Safe, good visibility location for solo traveler. Excellent breakfast included in price, including scrambled eggs, sausage, waffle maker, juice, yogurt (including greek yogurt)and boiled eggs. Breakfast area was very crowded at peak time but slight wait was... More 

Helpful?
Thank HTOTMO
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our Inn was undergoing some changes and renovations since we last stayed there. The accommodations were basic, but acceptable. One bit of advice tough. The breakfast area is busy and the Inn needs more help in this area. The one person working was run ragged, cooking the eggs and bacon in a microwave, on top of a fridge, so high... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Based on the awards displayed this hotel is doing everything right. Great bed, lots of pillows, big fluffy towels and very clean. The window AC, which we had to use in the middle of the night was noisy (aren't they all) but that's why we travel with ear plugs. If you have to stay in Gander, this is the place.... More 

Helpful?
Thank barryandjoan
Karen M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments posted to our Trip Advisor page! We know people are busy so to take time to pen a post is appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the next time you stay with us, those noisy old air conditioners will be gone. We will be installing our new units in September....and we... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
167 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took the direct flight from Toronto to Gander which was scheduled to arrive at 1:30am. As is not uncommon with Air Canada the flight was delayed and arrived Gander at 4 am. The car rental was closed at that hour so we took a cab to the hotel ($12). We had called the hotel earlier to inquire about late... More 

Helpful?
Thank LMC_Canada
Karen M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to talk about your experience at our hotel. I was aware of your situation and I am glad to hear that it all worked out ! A bit of advice to you: Make sure whoever is booking your rooms for you that they put a credit card on the reservation....you wouldn't want to be stranded... More 

Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Near the Gander airport which makes it perfect after a long day of travel. The hotel is clean and comfortable with new mattresses and carpets. The bathrooms have been upgraded, ours had a walk in shower, fluffy good sized towels and bathrobes provided. The front desk manager on duty, Roger Wiertz went out of his way to helpful solve an... More 

Helpful?
Thank E R
Karen M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you valuable guest ! We appreciate your time and your business. It is nice to hear that we are getting it right! We have an awesome team working at the Comfort Inn so I am glad that you got to experience that. We would love to check you in again the next time you are in Gander! Safe travels,... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got upgraded to one of your renovated rooms at no cost. Room was spacious and very well decorated. Loved the updated bathroom. Awesome! The large walk in shower was great. Nice tile. Finally a hotel chain has figured out that the bathtub is a little passé. Your free breakfast had many choices, both hot and cold. Best hotel room we... More 

Helpful?
Thank beleafer27
Karen M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a comment to our Trip Advisor page. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! A great way to start our Monday! Safe travels in Newfoundland and we hope you get home safely. Karen Mills General Manager More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the poorest hotel we stayed in on our tour. The air conditioning in the bedroom was fixed to the window. In order for the air conditioning to be effective you had to leave the curtain partly open for the room to be cooled - it was quite hot weather while we were there. There was then a loss... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Karen M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Ouch! Sorry we were such a disappointed stay for you and yours! it is certainly not what we like to read. We will agree with your regarding the air conditioners, they have seen their day! However, we are happy to say that the newer wall units will be installed starting September. We are looking forward to that as much as... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Make sure you book in the new section! From the front you think that this is an older - lets say run down Motel. They have added a new section at the back of the hotel with all the modern comforts. The included breakfast has bacon, scrambled eggs and waffles, plus the normal assortment.

Helpful?
Thank CDNHikingViking
Karen M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Well I am glad that looks are deceiving and you decided to check us out ! Thank you for the comments regarding your visit with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It seems to be an ongoing renovation here at the Comfort Inn. We have added the lovely new rooms and now we are going... More 

Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a couple of Comfort Inns in Newfoundland. This one was fine, although the air conditioning was old fashioned, set in the windows so you couldn't open the windows and had to use the air conditioning for circulation. The front desk attendants were very helpful. It's on the highway, a convenient location if you're traveling through. It was nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank toujoursenroute
Karen M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Those darn air conditioners! We know , we know, they aren't ideal....but good news !!! The new wall unit air conditioners are ordered and will be installed starting in September ! Yay! So when you stay with us again you will be pleased! Thank you for taking time to post your comments to our page, we welcome all feedback! Looking... More 

Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights here on our trek around Newfoundland. Stay was great. Staff was very helpful, especially the desk clerk. Breakfast was great...lots of choices. My wife's favorite stop on our trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank PatM52807
Karen M, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Her favourite stop!! Wow! Thank you to your wife! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. To hear comments about my staff is heartwarming ! Thank you ! They are the true backbone of this business We hope you enjoyed our beauitful province and we would love to check you in again. Safe travels! Karen Mills General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gander
0.6 mi away
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gander
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gaultois Inn
The Gaultois Inn
#1 of 1 in Gaultois
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 112 Trans Canada Hwy, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Price Range: $125 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Canada, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gander
Comfort Inn Gander, Newfoundland
Gander Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay