We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$65
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$59
View deal
Trip.com
$58
View deal
Hotels.com$59
Travelocity$59
eDreams$65
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (65)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (13)

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.6
Tucked away in a tranquil setting in San Ignacio's twin town, Santa Elena, you'll find The Drift Inn Cayo Hotel and The Aguada Restaurant, named for a watering hole used by the Ancient Maya, and on our grounds sits a watering hole. This idyllic setting is attractively landscaped with blooming trees, orchids, iguanas, over 63 species of birds, and a lovely array of foliage and flowering plants. Combined with a charming atmosphere, attractive hardwood interiors, an excellent restaurant and bar, swimming pool complete with a patio, and all located in the best valued hotel in Belize; The Aguada is hard to beat. This quiet getaway is a welcome change from the hectic pace of downtown San Ignacio. Women and family owned and operated, the most distinctive aspect is the family atmosphere... we'll make you feel instantly at home!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Snack bar
Horseback riding
Fishing
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
140Reviews5Q+A28Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 69
  • 42
  • 22
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
P Jay wrote a review Aug 13
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina720 contributions89 helpful votes
Drift Inn Cayo exceeded my family expectations based on value, amenities, location and comfort. The property is not located in San Ignacio; rather, it's in Santa Elena (which is a 2 minute drive into San Ignacio). The property felt very safe and secure, it is gated around the entire property, was well lit and plenty of cameras on the property. After a day in the district, it was really nice coming back to the facility and relax at the pool. There is plenty of parking in front of the property. It's also worth noting that there is a restaurant/bar on the property which is convenient. Check-in was fairly easy; we just walked into the restaurant and let them know we had a reservation for the Drift Inn - staff looked up my reservation (name). Easier than checking in at a large resort or branded hotel. We did see staff throughout our stay and they were very nice. The interactions were pleasant. The room was very comfortable and spacious. We reserved the "Deluxe Family Room" which had 2 queens and a full - which was good. Beds were more on the stiff side of the spectrum, but still comfortable. Bed linens were light which kept us comfortable throughout the evening. There were only 2 bed pillows plus 2 throw pillows per bed....so, if you're a sleeper that required a lot of pillows, you may want to ask for additional pillows. The room had a small dorm style refrigerator which kept stuff very cold. The bathroom had plenty of space for 3 people to "do their business" (shower, toilet, sink). Bath linens were also decent. Included bath towel(s), hand towel(s) and floor towel -no wash cloth. There was a hair dryer available too. There were water refill stations - so be sure to bring your refillable water container. There was a microwave also. The air conditioning unit worked wonderfully; kept the room very cool. The property was close to the Santa Elena round-about which made it easy to remember and navigate. WIFI did not work in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GFTraveling wrote a review Jun 2022
Fort Collins, Colorado189 contributions94 helpful votes
It’s fine—nothing fancy. No hot water in the bathroom sinks, lamp and hair dryer didn’t work in our room. The food was okay — gluten free wasn’t accommodated well. The drinks were good, staff wasn’t the nicest. Beds are very firm. The pool is nice though and the property is beautiful!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hailey Powell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your insight and review. I will have our manager check lamps, hair dryers, and such in each unit. We do this about monthly, sometimes housekeeping overlooks those details when focusing on cleaning. We have gluten free options, but our kitchen and waitstaff are all new since June. They may have not been trained on substitutes just yet. I'll make sure our head chef goes over that with them and ensures there are the supplies. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha C wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We enjoyed the stay, very clean, staff were friendly, loved the pond with the fishes and turtles. A nice little get away from the hustle and bustle in San Ignacio. Would definitely recommend. It was also easily accessible
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hailey Powell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our little oasis. Safe travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mkcurran wrote a review Apr 2022
Yuma, Arizona1057 contributions86 helpful votes
I booked this hotel right after the new owners took over. I found the property clean and very beautiful. We probably spent hours looking at the fish and turtles in the pond. When we checked in they gave us wrist bands for the pool. I'm not sure why. After dinner and the best drinks the first night everyone in the place knew our names. They also got to know how we operated really quickly. The hubs and I would go the restaurant and have drinks or coffee while waiting for Mom and they picked up right away that when she showed up they got her drink order then came back for the food order. It was nice to have them anticipate our needs so effortlessly. This was a great place to call home base for 3 days of Jungle activities.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hailey Powell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded Apr 17, 2022
The wristbands are to show who is allowed to be on the property after hours as well as a souvenir for guests. I'm glad you enjoyed our little oasis in Cayo! We hope you choose to Drift Inn again on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracey E wrote a review Mar 2022
Dallas, Texas18 contributions
We stayed here for three days in March and had a wonderful time! The staff is amazing, rooms were great, and the restaurant food is INCREDIBLE!! Thank you for an awesome experience! We will be back for sure!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hailey Powell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad the restaurant was satisfactory. Safe travels and we hope to host you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa L wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Maybe smoking is allowed here, I don't know. But I stank all over, because outside they smoked all the time. I didn't like this very much. I think the staff was smoking and I wrote a whatsapp message, but it didn't get through.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Haileynpowell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded Feb 9, 2022
Hello Lisa, Smoking cigarettes is allowed outdoors in our ~3 acre property, but not allowed in our hotel units. I apologize that fellow guests were smokers during your stay. Our work phone broke this past week and it has been replaced now. Sorry for the inconvenience. I'm sure if you had brought it to our staff's attention in person they could have moved you to a different unit if they were smoking near your room. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Voyage673000 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Enjoyed it.. It was casual, clean, good food and great service. Grounds are well kept and the location is quite nice and away from traffic so you don't hear busses early in the morning. Nice. Recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hailey Powell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chubs wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
The Drift Inn Cayo was an absolutely beautiful property! You would never expect to find all that jungle and wile life feel right in town. The property is completely fenced in, with huge trees, a pond, a massive palapa for those rainy mornings! It was such a relaxing paradise. The Aguada restaurant that is attached to the hotel was extremely convenient for a quick lunch when we came back from activities and the live music and Garifuna night they had while I was there was so beautiful! Traditional food and music, great vibes all around! 10/10!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hailey Powell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded Dec 1, 2021
Thank you for your review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stephanie G wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
This place was excellent, it was in a perfect location. Donna and her staff we're incredible they treated me so good. The bedroom was so comfy every detail was perfect the mattress felt amazing literally. Another awesome thing about this Hotel there is restaurant on site and the prices are super affordable and the food bomb. Definitely we need to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Queen rooms for sure
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hailey Powell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your time and choosing to stay with us at Drift Inn Cayo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allana wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
To start off the environment is so homey!! I felt like I was at my aunts house.. was good to see the owner and she checked on us every chance she got to make sure we were good!! The food was excellent and was enough space to move around without fear of covid.. Pool was area was so chill and peaceful and bar few steps away. Really enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back. Thank you Hailey and your mom y'all the best. never disappoint 💜 Team Drift INN always
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hailey Powell, Owner at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your time and choosing to stay with us at Drift Inn Cayo. We try to make everyone feel at home.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$23 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aguada hotel cayo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aguada Hotel
LOCATION
BelizeCayoSanta Elena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Drift Inn Cayo Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Green Iguana Conservation Project (1.4 miles), Cahal Pech (2.0 miles), and San Ignacio Market (1.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Burnz, Cenaida's Belizean Food, and Guava Limb Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Drift Inn Cayo Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Drift Inn Cayo Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Drift Inn Cayo Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Drift Inn Cayo Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Drift Inn Cayo Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.