We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1 Aguada St, Santa Elena Belize
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
$68
View Deal
Orbitz.com
$68
$64
View Deal
SAVE $4
Free cancellation until 08/25/19
Reserve now, pay later
Travelocity
$68
$64
View Deal
SAVE $4
Free cancellation until 08/25/19
Reserve now, pay later
Expedia.com$64
Hotwire.com$64
CheapTickets$64
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (47)
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tucked away in a tranquil setting in San Ignacio's twin town, Santa Elena, you'll find The Aguada Hotel and Restaurant, named for a watering hole used by the Ancient Maya, and on our grounds sits a watering hole. This bucolic setting is attractively landscaped with blooming trees, orchids, iguanas, over 63 species of birds, and a lovely array of foliage and flowering plants. Combined with a charming atmosphere, attractive hardwood interiors, an excellent restaurant and bar, swimming pool complete with a patio, and all located in the best valued hotel in Belize; The Aguada is hard to beat. This quiet getaway is a welcome change from the hectic pace of downtown San Ignacio. Owned and operated by the Butcher's, a Belizean/American family, the most distinctive aspect is the family atmosphere... we'll make you feel instantly at home!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Hiking
Babysitting
Free internet
Internet
Restaurant
Snack bar
Horseback riding
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
120Reviews5Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 57
  • 38
  • 19
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My family and I chose this place because we saw great reviews and it was a nice budget friendly spot close to some family activities we had begun planning for a few weeks. We would have chosen to stay at a resort further in the jungle but we decided on something smaller and not so over the top so we could splurge on some more activities instead of accommodations. Positives: Nice accommodations that are very comfortable and well appointed. Nice pool area. Centrally located and very easy to find. Beautiful and natural setting surrounded by nature. Nice restaurant on site with great food. Negatives: Poor wifi service Inconsistent housekeeping Now, aside from the two minor issues with wifi and housekeeping, we would stay here again and would recommend this hotel... were it not for one staff member who completely ruined both our impression of this hotel and made my family and I feel so uncomfortable from the moment we checked in. We called in advance to reserve 2 rooms (3 persons in one and 2 in the other) and were quoted a price over the phone which we agreed to and were told we could pay at check in. However, upon arriving to the front desk (without even so much as a greeting) the front desk agent (David) immediately assumed that we would be stuffing all 5 persons into a 1 bedroom unit and began quoting extra person charges to us. We overlooked the fact he did not even welcome us and informed him that we had called and were quoted a price for 2 rooms already and gave him the names the rooms were under. The two other agents at the desk remained silent while David then proceeded to angrily scold us and refuse to honour the quote we were given saying that we had to pay extra for the additional persons. The fee was nominal and we got there late in the day so we would have gladly paid the fee had David not proceeded to berate my family members and scold us for not "understanding" that the quote we were given was from a "new worker" and that we must pay the higher fee regardless of the employees mistake. Somerimes it not what you say but how you say it and David said everything to us as if we were there to steal or otherwise cause some type of problem for him. The employee we spoke to on the phone was right there the entire time and seemed embarrassed to have his supervisor speaking to guests this way and being thrown under the bus like that. We all felt so bad for him to be embarrassed in front of customers that way and we told him afterwards to never let anyone treat him like that in front of guests. It was rude and unprofessional on David's part to say the least. The third agent made her way to the back office and came back shortly after and said the rate would be honoured. No apology, no acknowledgement of fault, no excuse for why David was berating and scolding my family members for the hotel's mistake. We quickly just decided to finish checking in and pay so we could get away from him. To add even more insult to the situation, David kept tapping his pen on the table the entire time we were speaking to him and gesturing at us with the pen even while we were filling out forms as if we were exasperating him for being PAYING GUESTS! My family and I grew up in a tourism based community and are not demanding, aggressive or difficult to service workers in any way. Most of us work in customer service roles and have been steeped in proper customer service for most of our lives. We respect and admire any person who works in a customer service role because we know first hand how much of a thankless job it can be and how hard some days can get. That being said, David's behaviour was entirely unacceptable and completely set our family weekend getaway off to a terrible start. We felt unwelcome and unwanted in a place we were paying to stay in and were it not for the fact other nearby resorts were mostly booked out, we would have left the very next day. Not to mention the beyond unprofessional impression we received of their staff to be so aggressive with local customers and also so dismissive and rude to a staff member in front of customers. Beyond disappointed and beyond disgusted with his behaviour and it is a shame that he is who we had to meet when we arrived. Remove him from the equation and we would highly recommend Aguada to anyone looking for a nice and comfortable accommodation provider in Cayo. Unfortunately though, we will neither return nor would we ever recommend Aguada Hotel to anyone. Based on previous glowing reviews, the only reason we can see for such treatment was the fact we are locals and were treated as if we were begging to stay here and not treated as paying customers. We hope that no one else (local or otherwise) gets this type of treatment from the hotel. Never have we experienced this at any other hotel or restaurant in our travels. Shame we had to experience this in our own country but thankfully there are other choices for locals to choose where we wont be made to feel like a nuisance.
Read more
Response from BelizeQueen42, Owner at Aguada Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We, at the Aguada, take great pride in hosting not only foreigners to the jewel but our BELIZEAN community to Cayo. This particular weekend we were sold out with more than 60% Belizeans. We have a high rate of Belizeans as returning customers and we have been in operation for many years. With that being said, the bad treatment given to you by our employee had nothing to do with the fact that you were Belizean. I personally messaged your wife with an apology and mentioned that we would discuss this issues with the employee. It is important to note that I had made offers to ease that "bad feeling" and they were all denied. I also realize that no form of compensation would have changed your feelings. I will never make an excuse for any employees improper treatment to the guest and we have handled the matter. David was clearly in the wrong and his frustration with the second agent, which is his younger brother, was demonstrated after weeks of training is still not acceptable. I would publicly invite you back to Cayo with your family free of charge to truly embrace why we have been in this business for over 26 years. Again, my deepest apologizes to you all.
Read more
Stayed here for 5 days to attend a wedding, The staff are brilliant all very friendly and work extremely hard. The wedding reception that they orchestrated was one of the best i have attended and a lot of that was down to the hard work of the Aguada staff. The hotel itself is in beautiful surroundings with lots of wildlife and it was nice relaxing around the pool watching the Iguanas and all the birds. The rooms are spotless and a great size with Pool view. Loved every inute of my stay here and hopefully one day will return.
Read more
Eventful stay as part of a tucan travel tour group. Gorgeous pool, reasonable laundry, clean rooms, tasty food. The kitchen staff could follow instructions more closely e.g. making breakfasts when guests ask, not when they think the guests should eat. The bar staff could have been more clear about rules concerning BYO alcohol. (We were mostly drinking European stuff not sold at the hotel bar). There was a misunderstanding amongst some of the group and we weren't told politely that we had to use mixers and ice from the bar until our second night when the bar manager yelled at the group. This led to arguments and a mandatory service charge on our bills regardless of whether we felt the bar and restaurant staff were deserving or not. Sadly, there are few options for tucan to use so they will continue to get group custom.
Read more
A lovely such friendly hotel. Only 10 b$ into town. The garden with iguanas and terpin turtles and the pool clean and relaxed. The bedrooms were basic but has everything you need. Evening meals are good. A lovely stay.
Read more
Enjoyed a couple of nights at the Aguada Hotel for the first time, and really enjoyed my experience. The hotel staff were friendly, the food was good (both breakfast and evening meals), and the rooms were decent. The rooms were spacious, beds were large & comfy, and larger rooms had additional appliances (microwaves/fridges etc.). All rooms had AC. The grounds of the hotel were large, and included a pond, a swimming pool and a children's play area. The pond and pool were lovely areas to relax around if you had free time. The town is a small distance from the hotel (10 mins by car), but the staff can support you in getting a taxi into San Ignacio. This doesnt cost much, approx 7 - 10 BZD one way. The main downside was that despite advertising wifi in the hotel, I was unable to connect to the internet during my stay here (either in the rooms or the main reception areas).
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aguada hotel cayo
LOCATION
BelizeCayoSanta Elena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing