We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Howard Johnson Edson

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Edson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Older hotel. In process of upgrading. Seemed like an oil hotel but was quiet due to economy. Renovated rooms. Breakfast simple. Beds comfortable. Liked the flooring. Had a small patio which was nice..

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
Edson
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

Do not stay here! Rooms are not cleaned. The strippers stay in the rooms closest to the lobby. This motel should be shut down and condemned. The whole place smells of cigarettes. The owners allow drugs im the rooms. They dont care about who stays there and whay they do in tje rooms They just want a room sold. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheena J

Travelers are raving about these Edson hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2015

This place was filthy. there was mold in the bathroom, the under side of the bed was never vacuumed, the toilet had feces stains on it. I would not stay as I have a four year old that likes to play on the floor and I was worried what she would pick up and I would never bathe her in... More 

Helpful?
Thank sgstone
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2015

It wasn't luxurious but it was perfect for us. We were travelling with three adults and three children, the beds were comfy and there was a great kitchenette. The balcony was huge and the bathroom was adequate. The continental breakfast was a great surprise! And the staff was very, very nice!

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2015

Arrived very late at night with a lot of luggage. They wanted a $200 deposit, they have signs posted warning you of this. It appears that they placed me in an area where my late arrival would not affect others. That is good service. The room was very clean and had an ironing board. I'm not much of a fan... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger I
sumit b, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Edson, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with Howard Johnson. I hope we met all of your expectation. Thanks for your suggestion about yogurt and bagel. Thanks again for staying with Howard Jonson, we look forward to serve you again. More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2015

I have stayed there 2 nights. On site restaurant and bar. Free WiFi and HDTV. Overall good service, room was clean and comfy beds. Friendly staff and continental breakfast was good. Easy access to highway.

Helpful?
1 Thank david m
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2015

If you are a family going to stay here,,stay clear, smoky, doors have 1/2 " gaps, run down,more of a work mans hotel,,just a dump. Sorry Howard Johnson's,but that is the way it is.Want a better review, do a complete remodel. And having a bar and casino hook on , more like a party hotel. So anyone looking for just... More 

Helpful?
Thank ireneabc
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2015

I was unhappy with my stay due to fact management was very poor, they didn't seem to care about anything I had concerns about. The kitchenette didn't have any cutlery or dishes. When I asked for a pan it took 3 days to get one. They also gave me a SOS pad to clean my dishes with when I asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaleylyle
sumit b, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Edson, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with Howard Johnson. I am sorry that you had bad experience with us. Due to shortage of staff and new hiring we had issues and did not meet your expectations. We are working hard to improve our service. Thanks again for staying with Howard Johnson. We appreciate your business and looking forward to serve you again. More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2015

I've stayed at several hostels and motels before and this place was by far, the filthiest out of all of them. So I'm not terribly picky about where I stay but I wish I had slept in my car instead. My bed sheets and towels were stained, the shower curtain was stained, the floor was disgusting, I found a woman's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
Spruce Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2015

Staying here back in November reminded me of when Obey-one-kanobi brought Luke Skywalker to that terrible bar to hire the Millennium Falcon. There were 'ladies of the night' and a bunch of gangster 'new Canadians' all over the place. Keep driving. If you are 'working the rigs' and need some blow and a good time, help yourself.

Helpful?
5 Thank mikelQ4549GO
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edson hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Edson
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Edson
Econo Lodge Edson
#12 of 15 in Edson
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Edson
Super 8 Edson
#2 of 15 in Edson
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edson
0.6 mi away
The Guest House Inns
The Guest House Inns
#7 of 15 in Edson
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN High Road Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Edson

Address: 5018 1st Ave, Edson, Alberta T7E 1T6, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson North Ridge Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edson
Price Range: $49 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Edson 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Edson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Ridge Hotel Edson
Howard Johnson Edson Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Edson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“cross fingers and pray”
 of 5 bubbles sgstone, Nov 4, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the office and facing away from the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles gingericecream, Aug 31, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles O4357PPdavidm, Aug 26, 2015 | Read review
“Take your own matress,,they are horrible.”
 of 5 bubbles ireneabc, Aug 12, 2015 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles F1551QCdaves, Apr 18, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay