We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 425: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel was awful, paper thin walls, parties feeling like they were in your living room. Beds were awful and lumpy. It was really hot in the rooms and you couldn't adjust the temp properly. Don't. Other with this place, there are way nicer places close by. I knew someone staying at Heron's Landing at the same time and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank MauiFamily2014
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Best Western Austrian Chalet in Campbell River. Amber and her staff make you feel right at home. With the amenities that are available, the ocean front views. and the staff make for very warm and welcomed stay

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here lured by them having the "best ratings in town". It shouldn't have.... Even though it is a nice place in a great location and all the renovations/remodellings on the surface they have done are really done well, this is a very old building and it shows: Dated heating system and bathroom facilities, windows that do not block... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for one night with group of friends in one of loft units. The room can have 6 guests, but in my opinion four is maximum number of guests which can stay there comfortably. There were 5 of us, and it was a bit tight. Also there were only 3 sets of towels. Lady at front desk couldn't give... More 

Helpful?
Thank big_blue_heron
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay, especially our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Travelling with larger groups we do have other room options available besides the two queen loft with sofa bed, perhaps our Lighthouse Suite or our Managers suite would better suit your... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice motel, lovely views of the ocean. We had a very comfortable room on the ground level. Everything was clean and comfy. The free breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. Good overall value for the price! Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank kbuter
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We are so happy that you found our accommodations clean and comfy and the staff friendly! We have a great crew here so we are delighted you thought so as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast and we look forward to your next visit... More 

Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was great the bedroom was in the loft nice king size bed. The room was very clean and smelled so fresh, the wi-fi was slow but we did let them know in the office. we had a good time this was our 3 time staying.

Helpful?
Thank Ginas220
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Welcome Back! We are happy you choose to stay with us again and on your anniversary getaway. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am glad you enjoyed your king loft room. I apologize that our WiFi was not up to standard and this is an issue we are looking into. We look forward to... More 

Powell River, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a wonderful view of the ocean. There is a paved walking/biking path just across the Hi-way for an invigorating morning outing. There is a pool and exercise room which we didn't use because of lack of time. We had a very comfortable room with a loft bedroom and a mini kitchen. Everything was clean and pleasant looking.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dona C
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. You stayed in one of our more popular rooms, the Loft with kitchenette and gorgeous ocean view, we are happy that you liked this room. The paved walking/biking path is the Sea Walk that is about 6km long and is very easy access from... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
198 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2016

The reviews are true: this motel needs an outside makeover. BUT being a BW Member, I paid about half the price of the fancy hotel next door ($200+/night) for an ocean view (not always direct, as the building is U-shaped) with a loft. Microwave, fridge, clean bedding and bathroom. Nice balcony to sit outside and enjoy the view. Wifi works.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Canucksontheloose
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Best Western Austrian Chalet, we are glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us! We believe we have one of the best free breakfasts in town and I am glad to see you enjoyed the delicious waffles! The loft room you mentioned is a favourite amongst guests but we do... More 

Nanaimo, british columbia canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2016

We usually come to Campbell River at least once a year and have always stayed here. Older hotel but have had some upgrades to the rooms. The rooms are clean and the hotel is well situated. The pub that is adjacent to the property is great for pub food and drinks. Nice treat to get out and not have to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank food53
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to the Best Western Austrian Chalet, we are happy to know that you visit yearly, thank you for your business! We hope that we will remain a favourite place for you to enjoy as you visit Campbell River. We also feel our hotel is in a great location with stunning ocean views and we pride ourselves... More 

Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

We got a second story suite over looking the ocean and highway. This is not a new property. It was likely re-branded as Best Western from a ma and pa show. The receptionist was pleasant, but the actual reception area is not all that inviting although there has been an attempt to upgrade it. We spent two nights here. Part... More 

Helpful?
Thank theworkingpoor
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Our apologies that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay! We do have an older property that we have done many updates to in the recent years with more renovations coming. I am sorry you did not find our beds comfortable as this is usually a compliment guests have after enjoying a great night sleep. It sounds as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#9 of 16 in Campbell River
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#15 of 16 in Campbell River
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Campbell River
Travelodge Campbell River
#6 of 16 in Campbell River
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Price Range: $60 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Victoria, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“we had a great view, very quite, A/C was not noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Ginas220, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Choose a room on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles theworkingpoor, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“An ocean view is very nice!!”
 of 5 bubbles bemeyer, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“as for first or second floor with balcony facing the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles Islandersx5, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you request only a room with air conditioning because we were informed upon checkout that only a few have it.”
 of 5 bubbles happy101, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay