We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandman Hotel Castlegar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016

Sandman properties are always a good stay, the accommodations are clean and generally well maintained. Several properties are designed with the indoor pool in the middle with rooms surrounding, to say the least this is a hit with teenage hockey players and their families. Wifi is adequate for data but slow for video streaming. My only issue is the front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thundercoach
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I appreciate the comments. I am sorry to hear that my front desk were not as responsive as they definitely should be. I do apologize and I will most definitely be reminding them that we are in the hospitality business and our guests come first. I do hope to see you again when you are... More 

Fauquier, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016

I had a decent sized room with a great bed and good sized firm pillows. It's such a shame the bathroom was from the 70's and made for someone under 5'. No safety bar for the tub/shower which would be helpful for safety reasons. Walls paper thin and the furniture upholstery badly in need of cleaning. Overall, yes I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arrowlakesgirl
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Nice to hear you enjoyed your bed and pillows. We appreciate your other comments for we are always striving to improve where we can to ensure our guest have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are back in the Castlegar area and... More 

West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

The hotel has seen better days and would benefit from an update. But it is clean. Room was a bid dark and had a smell. Pool is ok. Regular continental breakfast for a charge. Lots of free parking. Wifi was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Sam_The_Man2000
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you Sam the Man for your review once again it is always good to hear from our guests and about their stay. We look forward to your next stay. More 

Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

Every time I stay here I'm always impress with the service from the front end staff and management is up to par on all regards if you have a complaint they will address it for you not ignore like so many other. One of the nicest things about this location is that it is very central for Nelson as well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas W
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is always good to hear from our guests. I am glad you are able to enjoy the continental breakfast. We look forward to you staying with us again. More 

Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

This was was the home-stretch of our trip to the Rockies and we had not booked ahead for this last night stay. After consulting the Travel Guide we chose the Sandman Hotel. It was very busy due to sports tournaments in town but we were able to get two nice rooms on the third floor. The front desk was understaffed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce D
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that things did not operate for you as quickly and smoothly as they should have. Thank you for letting us know about the elevator not working properly we did have a technician in to check and reprogram the elevator to ensure proper function. I do hope you enjoyed your room... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Stayed overnight on my travels. Easy check-in with friendly manager. Room was kind of what I expected - just basic. Pretty small. No views. Relatively clean and quiet. Good enough for an overnight stay.

Helpful?
Thank slhice
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is always good to hear from our guest. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and we hope to see you again when you are traveling through the area. More 

West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

The hotel has seen better day. The rooms feel dated. The bathrooms are ok but outdated. The decor is from days gone by. The inner core is the pool. Rooms with windows to the cort yard have no fresh air. The ac can hardly cool the room. And it was not super hot outside. The breakfast is ok. Cereal and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam_The_Man2000
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you Sam The Man for your review. I am happy to hear you slept well and hopefully when you are travelling in the area again you will give us another try as we are constantly working at making our guests stay a pleasant experience More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

This property has a central core which is a pool, hot tub and lounging area. The rooms on the inside look onto it and that is where the light for those rooms comes from. No noise seemed to come from the area and I think in the winter months it would be a nice break from the snowy outdoors. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank LorneInKelowna
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you Lorne for your review and description of the hotel which is greatly appreciated. Although you did not try the Frittatas or omelets they are deceptively good. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future. More 

Squamish
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

The hotel is decent, with a business centre and nice rooms. Good coffee makers and little kitchenettes. Make sure you get an outside room as the inside rooms face the pool and smells of chlorine a bit.

Helpful?
1 Thank 509billp
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future. More 

Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

As soon as we walked in the door we were treated excellently. Kim (a room attendant) was so welcoming. You would have thought we were celebrities the way she treated us. She was very warm and helpful. The room was amazing. Very comfortable, clean and had extra pillows on each bed. There was lots of room and the pool was... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels1923
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am definitely happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that our staff made you feel so welcome. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the Castlegar area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.0 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
16.6 mi away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Castlegar BC
Super 8 Castlegar BC
#1 of 8 in Castlegar
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As Castlegar is nestled in the heart of the West Kootenays, so is the Sandman Hotel nestled in the heart of Castlegar. Minutes from shopping, business, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Castlegar features modern amenities such as high-speed Internet access, a business centre, indoor pool and whirlpool, and meeting rooms, making this Sandman the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Address: 1944 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Price Range: $115 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Hotel Castlegar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandman Hotel Castlegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay