We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community

Save
Share
399 Clubhouse Dr, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9G3 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (53)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community
Updated 04/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 9 hotels in Courtenay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Let Crown Isle be your ultimate home base in the Comox Valley. Our hotel villas are nestled in the trees along the 1st fairway of our championship golf course, a tranquil nature escape with easy access to recreation, shopping & all amenities. Perfect for a golf getaway, corporate retreat, or a family vacation. The stunning 48,000 square foot resort centre features: the family-friendly Timber Room Bar and Grill; conference facilities; golf shop; and fitness centre. Accommodation ranges from hotel-style fairway rooms, to Villas with jetted tubs for two and full living room and kitchen. Two-bedroom and loft units also available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
238Reviews3Q+A69Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 129
  • 62
  • 31
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robert K wrote a review Sep 2021
Hamilton, Canada1 contribution
Pleasant right from the very start. Check in was simple, safe and easy, especially during these Covid19 times. The room was spacious and had tremendous views overlooking the golf course. The room was well stocked for our two day stay with no need to call for any extras. Cleanliness and safety were at the top of my list. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The Restaurant was beyond my expectations. Well spaced out for safety during Covid and bright again with gorgeous views of the Golf Course. I highly recommend the Restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Rolston, General Manager at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi S5387SHrobertk, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent stay! Everything you mentioned is what we are striving for and happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations! We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Resort soon! Until then be well, Matt Rolston Villa Rooms Manager mrolston@crownisle.ca
Read more
Bergie1976 wrote a review Sep 2021
Victoria, Canada5 contributions4 helpful votes
I've gone to Crown Isle a few times in the past 25 years, and it's still a quality stay for a town like Courtenay. It sometimes feels overpriced to some, but we found a reasonable rate and thus it was a great deal. This year you have to accept Covid and its restrictions and go in understanding that your room may be ready late (ours wasn't fortunately), and that there is no daily housekeeping, and that there are staff shortages everywhere in the service industry. That said, we had great service on the patio, in the bar/restaurant and at the pro shop when we golfed. I couldn't have expected much more. The rooms were built in the early 90s, and other than some small updates they feel original which is my only complaint. They could use some updating and some more appointments inside. We got a nice unit and being on the golf course is nice as well. The shower was sizeable, bathroom a good size, and the beds were comfortable with 4 pillows. When we needed anything, the resort was accompanying. The golf was great too. As dry and arid as its been this summer, it was in good shape and the greens were good. The whole island needs a few days or rain, so one can't blame Crown Isle as all the courses up there are suffering from drought. The course layout is good too - very playable for all levels and very few "gimmicky" holes. I would definitely stay here again. And again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a suite up if possible. Bring earplugs too if you don't like the noise of an...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Rolston, General Manager at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community
Responded Sep 12, 2021
Hello Bergie1976, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience golfing. We are in the process of completing a "refresh" to our villa rooms with updated furniture packages and decor. We are hoping to have all the remaining rooms completed the winter in time for next summer. Look forward to seeing you return to the resort soon and thank you for being loyal guests! Kind regards, Matt Rolston Villa Rooms Manager
Read more
Gerry R wrote a review Aug 2021
Penticton, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
The suites are located adjacent to the golf course and have great views of the huge pine trees that cover the property. A very quiet and solitary setting. The restaurant on site is convenient, but not the best spot for dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Rolston, General Manager at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community
Responded Sep 12, 2021
Hi Gerry R, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Villa rooms. I am curious as to get more feedback from you in regards to why you thought our restaurant is not the best for dinner. Please reach out to me directly. Thank you again and look forward to hearing from you! Kind regards, Matt Rolston Villa Rooms Manager mrolston@crownisle.ca
Read more
olibabs wrote a review Aug 2021
cuba5 contributions11 helpful votes
We had to wait 3 hours to get into our room that we booked months earlier. Didn’t get in room until 7 pm! Not fun in a heatwave! Lack of staff was the problem, so we were told. If you can’t staff your hotel, don’t rent out so many rooms! ( or pay staff more!) Room was nice but not clean. Garbage left and dirty towels stuffed under sink. The air conditioner was awful and so noisy that it was difficult to get to sleep! The room was not cleaned after the first day, as hotels usually are! What exactly were we paying so much for? We would not recommend this over- priced hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Rolston, General Manager at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community
Responded Sep 12, 2021
Hello olibabs, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. The Hospitality industry is experiencing a labour shortage North America wide and we are certainty not immune to this. We pay our hourly employees in the top wages in the Comox Valley / Vancouver Island area. Other hotels have resorted to “signing bonuses” however still cannot attract people to come work. There have been times where we have had to close our reservations for the reason of not having enough staff to properly service. In regards to your room not being service through housekeeping; we are continuing to follow the guidance and direction of WorkSafe BC and the Hotel Associations which recommend staff not cleaning or going into rooms while guests are staying. This information has been posted on our website, pre arrival communication and time of check in. Our pricing is competitive to other hotels in the Comox Valley and Vancouver Island Resorts. This summer has seen an unprecedented demand for travel. If you would like to give us a second chance please reach our to myself directly to book. Kind regards, Matt Rolston Villa Rooms Manager mrolston@crownisle.ca
Read more
Bob M wrote a review Jul 2021
Victoria, Canada72 contributions40 helpful votes
This is a beautiful property and the suites are spacious, excellent and well finished. However, the list of deficiencies is long: 1. I went to check in at 4:30 pm as I needed to change for a 5 pm supper engagement. The room was not ready. When you are paying $382 a night plus taxes plus a $14.29 PER NIGHT resort fee with a 11 am check out, you need to be able to check in by 4:00 pm. I ended up checking in around 8 pm. 2. I stayed 2 nights but on subsequent days they provide no housekeeping, just put extra towels in your room. For the money you really should get some service. 3. The clock in the kitchen didn't work. Needed new batteries. 4. There were only 3 small and large dishes instead of four, leaving us having to use bowls instead to make up the difference. 5. The fridge is tiny. If you are staying a few days then don't have much that needs refrigeration. 6. Although the villa is in a very nice spot it is not quiet if you wish to use the deck. Ryan Road runs very close by and the tractor trailers, motorcycles and cars make it quite noisy if you just wish to sit on the deck and read a book. 7. There was only one box of facial tissue in the whole suite and no spare. 8. No tea pot so you need to use a pot....REALLY. 9. I booked on-line and but the way it appears for reservations you end up with Expedia who also charge a $20 booking fee. So you pay $382 per night plus a resort fee plus a reservation fee plus taxes and you cannot cancel 72 hours before. So, to get a better service and avoid the booking fee, CALL direct 250-703-5000, and ask for the front desk. Expedia also doesn't inform you about all the extra fees either. It seems to be about extracting the max from your pocket while providing the minimum of service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the Glasgow Villa by a busy road and not overlooking the golf course. Can't hoof your...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Rolston, General Manager at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community
Responded Jul 23, 2021
Hello Bob M, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us. We have already connected over email however wanted to address your concerns. I am sorry to hear that we came up short in providing you the level of service for which we stride for. Your items will be address with our Villa Operations team. We are still under the guidance of not providing housekeeping stay over service due to Covid-19. This is something that most hotels have agreed upon in the industry specially locally in the Comox Valley. As far as extra charges through Expedia; the hotel unfortunately does not have any control over the fees that Expedia charges. For this reason we do recommend booking directly the the hotel. The Resort Fee is something new for 2021 however is a set fee rather than a percentage like other hotels in the area. Look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future! Be well, Matt Rolston Villa Rooms Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel at crown isle, resort at crown isle
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandComox ValleyCourtenay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community
Which popular attractions are close to Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Nearby attractions include Seal Bay Nature Park (3.0 miles), Goose Spit Park (4.1 miles), and I-Hos Gallery (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hot Chocolates, The Hen and Hog Cafe, and Atlas Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Crown Isle Resort & Golf Community offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.