We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

580 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 570: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very functional hotel, clean and with all the conveniences one would expect of a Best Western. Had a great brewpub in the hotel and a next gen Thrify's opposite. Weirdly the Thrifty's was awesome - fresh juice and an awesome whole foods selection. We had a room on the same floor as the lift and it wasn't quiet - both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieUrsell
Boracay
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for a Mount Washington ski family stopover. Check in went quick, staff were very helpful. Stayed with a family of 5 with an extra bed. Courtney is a small town with some good restaurants. Took about 30 mins to drive from this hotel to Mount Washington.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoracayCharm
Delta
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great stay, rooms in tower building are well appointed and quiet. there is a restaurant attached to main building across the parking lot with pub as well as a lounge, pool table in main building. it also has a restaurant in the main building that used to have a buffet breakfast but now just sit down order....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
Ottawa
Reviewed 1 week ago

My business uses this location to base out of for adaptive skiing for people with physical / non visible limitations. We are always treated to outstanding customer service and a fantastic experience! Will definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
Burk's Falls, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here overnight as a park and fly package. It gave us unlimited underground parking. Each guest receives a $7 comp. ticket for exchange in either restaurant affiliated with the hotel. We chose to use our tickets towards dinner in the pub/sports bar which had a nice vibe to it. Rooms were clean and spacious with lovely view overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
debbiebrowning, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nancy B How nice of you to take the time to write about us! We appreciate it so much. Clean rooms and comfortable beds are the key to a good nights sleep but the extra perks such as on site facilities and vouchers for food or drink are the ways we provide our clients with "going beyond" the ordinary....

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Westerly Hotel needs a big league facelift! You can tell it is state of the art for about 1982........if even that. The carpet is old and disgusting, the rooms are small, and the property is a maze, you could get lost for hours trying to find your room! It reminds me of some cheap two star hotel! The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seahawksteve
debbiebrowning, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear seahawksteve We are very sorry to hear you were not happy with our product. We have a very large operation with many services which makes staying with us very convenient so you don't have to get in your car to go to a pub, lounge, restaurant or fitness facility. However because of the size of our operation it takes...

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First the power went out ,and the back up generator failed to start. Then the fire alarm went off ,and I had to evacuate the hotel .I was checking out that morning anyway ,so I loaded the car and left.I have received no follow up e-mail or telephone calls, explaining, apologizing,or just checking to make sure all got out!!!!! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 926doug
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 926doug We are so sorry for the confusion!!! When the BC Hydro's generator on the street that supplies power to the hotel blew, the Fire Chief wanted a voluntary evacuation. We phoned all the rooms after the alarm was sounded to make sure everyone had vacated. If anyone did not pick up we went to every room to make...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We treat our granddaughter and daughter to a stay in Courtney to go skiing. This year the service at the Best Western was ridiculous. First, in order to pay for the room with my credit card over the phone, I had to scan my card back and front, download a form , sign it, scan it in and send all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janine L
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janine L Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your ski vacation. To address your concerns with the credit card, it is purely for your benefit. When we talk over the phone and take a credit card we could be booking using a stolen card. That is why we do the procedure we do. I am sorry...

Parksville
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean and comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable. I missed having hand lotion supplied in the bathroom. Also the coffee maker only made one cup of coffee at a time which was a disappointment. I did think it was a bit pricey. We have stayed in other Best Western hotels and paid quite a bit less.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gail B We appreciate you deciding to stay with us and then taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. Clean and comfortable are what we aim to achieve. So glad we were able to deliver. The staff always goes out of their way so they will love your nod to them. Cheers

Victoria, BC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a room with 2 queen beds for our family of 4 in the renovated building (mountain view wing). The rooms were nice – and special mention to the bathrooms – they were quite nice with glass walk-in showers. We had reserved a corporate rate but at check-in I saw an ad posted on the front desk advertising a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_BCTall_Guy
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BCTall_Guy Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your ski vacation. We were happy to assist you in getting the better rate! I thank you for mentioning the state of the games room. Sometimes when we have sports teams staying at the hotel it can disrupt the working order of the room. I will definitely look into...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
752 reviews
2.4 mi away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
365 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Villas at Crown Isle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Cuisines: International, American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Westerly Restaurant
Westerly Restaurant
Cuisines: International, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Price Range: $74 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pay the extra to get a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles Victoria_BCTall_Guy, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Try Kingfisher Resort or Old House Hotel for a relaxing experience”
 of 5 bubbles Y8221QQkims, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“we enjoyed looking at the nightlights from our 4th floor window.”
 of 5 bubbles poad59, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“The inside rooms of the annex are quieter above or below the 3rd level”
 of 5 bubbles Bruce_Raynor, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side are away from the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles notdex, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question