We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitewater Lodge

Traveler (2)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (4)

About

#12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Whitewater Lodge is a quiet, adult only, bed and breakfast tucked away in the forest on the edge of Golden, British Columbia. With views overlooking the Purcell Mountain Range and the little town itself, we think you'll get the feeling of, 'Wow, I never want to leave this place' (that's why we're still here - even though it wasn't our original plan). We hope you'll stay. We'd love to help you plan your visit so you can fall in love with Golden too. Enjoy your choice of a queen or twin room (each with a private bathroom), our beautifully landscaped grounds, hot tub with mountain views, free wi-fi, comfortable guest lounge and a delicious hot breakfast. Guests also enjoy a discount on our daily on-site whitewater rafting trips. We'd love to have you experience the Kicking Horse River with us too.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Golf course
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
16Reviews
1Q+A
4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 10
  • 4
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was the most expensive place we stayed on our 2 week trip. For the price I expected better. It is a nice spot, quiet and above the town with good views. The room was nice and clean but VERY small. Barely room to walk around the bed. No mirror in the room - only in the bathroom - which I found a bit odd and inconvenient. We had a French door to a small patio - but it took until the next morning to work out how to open it. There were no heating controls in the room which meant that the heating was on full blast all night. Breakfast was ok. Didn't use the outdoor Jacuzzi or the lounge area. Overall I was a bit disappointed.
Read more
Response from GlacierRaft, Manager at Whitewater Lodge
Responded Jan 4, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. We're happy you enjoyed parts of your stay and we're sorry to hear there were some things not to your liking. We do now have mirrors in all of the rooms (as well as the bathrooms) and we would have been happy to show you how the door worked if you were struggling. Kind regards from Whitewater Lodge
Read more
We were looking for an accomodation in Banff NP actually, but since it was too crowded and pricey, we decided to head out and choose to stay three nights in the Whitewater Lodge. I didn't expect much, but it turned out I was in for a nice surprise. The lodge is really beautiful inside. Modern decor using plenty of wood is absolutely my taste. The rooms are simple, but complete. There's everything you need. For breakfast the guests are sitting together at two large tables. The buffet was quite good and we didn't miss anything. Hosts and staff were also really nice people. Friendly and very helpful. The location of Whitewater Lodge was ideal to us. One can get easily to Banff NP, Yoho NP, Revelstoke etc. But I guess you definitely need a car. Cons Route 1 is actually quite near, so it can get noisy, but I don't remember it bothered us at night. Unfortunenately there's no way to crank up the heating inside the rooms. This is done centrally. In the evening it was a bit chilly sometimes.
Read more
This lovely lodge looks over the town, we chose this property as the Glacier Raft company leaves from here, and we were rafting with them. Perfect choice, clean comfortable. Room was gorgeous with a small deck overlooking the well manicured garden. Breakfast beautifully prepared really enjoyed our stay at the Whitewater Lodge
Read more
Response from GlacierRaft, Manager at Whitewater Lodge
Responded Sep 24, 2018
Thanks for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. We are glad you got to experience whitewater rafting with us too! Warm regards from Whitewater Lodge.
Read more
This lodge is under new ownership and they have done a great job of renovating the rooms! Rooms are very basic- no tv, closets etc but clean and really, all you need. A communal sitting area has tv, games, tea and coffee and small fridge for guest use. Breakfast was very nice - fruit, frittatas, granola etc Best staff ever!
Read more
Response from GlacierRaft, Manager at Whitewater Lodge
Responded Sep 3, 2018
Thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed our recent renovations and updates to the lodge. We are happy you found the common room inviting and enjoyed the breakfast as well. We have a great team and we are glad you think so too! Kind regards from Whitewater Lodge.
Read more
Happy to be greeted by a young couple at checkin and turned out to be the owners. They did all they could to accommodate us as they didn’t have room darkening blinds(would recommend that). Rooms are very simple and clean and had a great homemade breakfast with our stay which was nice to hit the road. Although we could hear the people in the next room at bedtime all was quiet at 11.
Read more
Response from GlacierRaft, Manager at Whitewater Lodge
Responded Sep 3, 2018
Thanks for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfast as well. We hope you enjoyed your time in Golden. Kind regards from Whitewater Lodge.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
McLaren Lodge Bed & Breakfast
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesGolden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing