We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My travel agent, via a wholesaler, booked us into this place, which advertises itself as a HOTEL. It is NOT a hotel. It is self-catering accommodation. It is miles out of town. If you arrive unprepared, and after hours, as we did, you will have to drive back down the mountain for sustenance. This accommodation misrepresents itself in order to... More 

Helpful?
Thank welltravelledfromoz
Brandy B, General Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day welltravelledfromoz, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I regret that the accommodation did not suite your needs during your stay. We are located at the base of Kicking Horse Mountain Resort and while not all of their services are open year round we are. We do contact wholesalers to let them know of operating hours... More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed September 12, 2016

The staff were awesome. Katie (at the front desk) was such a delight to deal with! Our suite was beautiful and we had an amazing view of the mountains! Our suite was on the third floor and faced the back of the hotel (mountain side, away from the ski hill). I'd recommend getting this because the views are better! More 

Helpful?
Thank Omar M
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a one room bedroom suite in August, 2016. The room was clean, and quite spacious with a very nice view from the balcony. Kitchenette had the essentials. I was disappointed that there was not a king sized bed when you "upgrade" to a suite. The location though is lovely - worth the extra drive up the mountain.

Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Brandy B, General Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Laura M, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and stay with us. I do regret that you did not get your King sized bed however the one bedroom suites are quite a lot larger than the smaller guest rooms with the King beds. If there... More 

Bethany, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Awesome experience of being up so high in the mountains...nice trail walks, higher than the clouds, nice room, big and clean. Lots to do in the lodge area such as the gondola that will take you up to an awesome restaurant. bike trails and awesome skiing.

Helpful?
Thank Judy E
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Judy E, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. It is fantastic to hear that you had a good time exploring the area while the accommodation here at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge met your needs. We hope to see you again, be sure to ask about our Return Guest Rate when booking your next stay. More 

Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2016

Enjoyed our stay at the Glacier Lodge. Room was nice and comfortable, and very clean.Fantastic location, with access to the mountain. Hot tub was clean and steam room was wonderful. Lots of amenities, good service. A little crowded with furniture, and needs hooks to hang things. Did not even have towel hooks in the bathroom. More fitness equipment needed, pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Lisa S, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable during your visit. Thank you as well for your feedback regarding the hooks and fitness equipment. I will be sure to share this with our owners and management team. We look forward... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2016

We stayed at the Glacier Mountaineer Lodge in September 2016 to attend a friends wedding at the top of the mountain. Had a great overall experience! We brought our 13 month old daughter and my parents (to babysit) with us and booked a two bedroom place. Before we arrived, I called to ensure a crib was available and asked if... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Kimberly T, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. It is great to hear that you had a good stay with us while attending your friend’s wedding. I am glad we were able to accommodate an early check in for you and your request for a playpen for the little one. We hope you return for... More 

Connecticut
Level Contributor
228 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Let me preface this review by saying that the condominium units at this location are all privately owned and that Bellstar Resorts only acts as the rental agent, thus, some of the deficiencies mentioned here may not apply to every unit. We reserved a two bedroom unit for a five night stay and found it to be terribly lacking in... More 

Helpful?
Thank LochnessConnecticut
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day LochnessConnecticut, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I regret to hear that our two bedroom suite did not suit your needs for your stay. We are currently working with the owners on doing some upgrades, having recently upgraded the televisions, beds and bedding we are looking at other furnishings for the future. I am glad... More 

Corbett, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here a couple of nights with 5 other seniors who were spending a couple of weeks visiting the Canadian national parks. Golden has good access to Yoho, Glacier, and Revelstoke National Parks for day trips. Setting of the lodge on the mountain is wonderful in both directions (mountain & valley), and there are restaurants on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nagarkot247
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Nagarkot247, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. Thank you for bringing to my attention the maintenance issues in your suite. I have already brought these to the attention of the maintenance department who have replaced the blinds and heater bathroom knobs. Should you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me.... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a week-end celebrating our 5 year anniversary at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, where we had our wedding 5 years ago to the day. Both my husband and I were delighted to discover that despite changing ownership, the Resort and staff were just as wonderful this week-end as they were 5 years ago. What a wonderful surprise to... More 

Helpful?
Thank kakunia
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Kakunia, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. Congratulations on your 5 year anniversary! It is great to hear that our staff were able to make your weekend special. We are delighted that you chose to spend your anniversary with us and we look forward to your next visit. More 

North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2016

We spent 2 nights at the GML for a wedding and enjoyed the lodge. Location is base of the mountain with the gondola/chair and various stores and cafes just out the back door. Parking is underground and heated and convenient when the weather sucks. Our room was a 1 bedroom on the 4th floor with a double bed with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank StillAqua
Brandy B, Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day StillAqua, Thank you for your review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the lodge and the spacious one bedroom suite layout met your needs while you were here. You are correct, the one bedroom suite can turn into a two bedroom suite for larger groups and families. We would love to host... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#9 of 19 in Golden
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.2 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#6 of 19 in Golden
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
423 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing at the base of the ski runs and just steps from the gondola are the Glacier and Mountaineer lodges. These beautiful executive style condos and rooms are fully furnished and were designed with creature comfort in mind. All condos have fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and spectacular views. For your relaxation and enjoyment both lodges are equipped with a fitness room complete with a sauna, steam bath and an outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 1549 Kicking Horse Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $82 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Mountaineer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Glacier Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Mountaineer Hotel Golden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Glacier Mountaineer Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Glacier Mountaineer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“make sure if you are going this far...to get a room with a view...”
 of 5 bubbles 347judye, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“Try and Get a mountain side view”
 of 5 bubbles 17lisas, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Room 315”
 of 5 bubbles 236OmarM, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Though we found our room tight, we chose the smaller room with the kitchenette vs the full kitchen. It didn't bother us but it may some.”
 of 5 bubbles Oracai, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing onto Ski Lufts would be my choice.”
 of 5 bubbles ClassicMinisonly, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay