We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Hotel Golden

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Golden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Mcminnville
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We basically grabbed the last room in Golden Canada about 10 pm and for that we are grateful ! Check in and out was efficient enough; the property , although recently " renovated " is tired at best , albeit safe- parking was limited; no sort of continental or breakfast offered and outside of a Tim Hortons this town has... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank David E
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. More 

Travelers are raving about these Golden hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

As the title says, this hotel is OK if you're just doing a quick overnight while passing through Golden. While they say the hotel was just recently remodelled, it seemed to be a very basic remodel, and I'd hate to think what it was like beforehand. The beds are mattress with no box spring on top of a wooden waterbed... More 

Helpful?
Thank RockyMtnMan14
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback on TA. If you feel the remodel is basic, well that's your opinion. I guess spending $700,000.00 on a remodel to some guests is basic. In regards to the bathroom claims, housekeeper did clean the bathroom area after no hairs or dirt were found. All patio and decking have duradeck product and are cleaned daily be... More 

Stettler, AB
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was crazy bad!. First off it was the highest price I've paid for a hotel in a very long time and it was sooo Gross. The staff wasn't even friendly. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned. DON'T STAY HERE!

Helpful?
Thank Troyandcindy A
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ours was a last minute trip to Kelowna for a wedding. In my rush, I booked the room for the wrong day. I phoned the hotel directly, the receptionist was very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. When we arrived later that day we had already been booked in and our room was ready. The room was very clean. The location was... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephengibson2016
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on TA. My staff and I work very hard to meet the needs of all our guest, be it a long term stay or over night. Our recent property renovations have proved that hard work does pay off and when guests such as yourself take the time to recognize that work it goes a long... More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dirty, dirty, dirty. To their credit good mattresses and bedding but otherwise just plain awful. Avoid if you can, especially at this price point. Carpets in outer hallways are disgustingly dirty and stained, a real turn-off. Floors inside rooms are not carpeted and need a good mopping.

Helpful?
Thank sheryl t
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will address all the issues you have mentioned. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After an accident on the highway at the Enchanted Forest, we were stuck on the highway for hours and fell behind schedule to get back to Calgary before nightfall. I was travelling with my disabled mother and 3 children, so I called my husband in Saskatchewan and asked him to make some calls and find us a hotel room for... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Enderby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had people in the room above us. They arrived late and left early. Their footsteps we so loud on our ceiling that I felt like I was living inside a bass drum. Not a good sleep! Other than that, it's an ok place for the price. Just make sure you get an upstairs room.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Rosalynn M
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had a bad night. In the future please call the front desk and we can make a courtesy call to the guest and ask them to be quiet. I want to thank you for your kind words on our property. Please email me directly at info@howardjohnsongolden.com More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the check in desk in time to hear a woman complaining for 5 minutes about the cleanliness of her room and lack of customer service of the staff. Went to our room to find that the coffee makers, there were 2, were in the bathroom, 1 with a pot and 1 without. I went to set up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason M
Pavi K, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel Golden, responded to this review

Thank you for your complaints on TA. We have to types of coffee makers. One is what is known as a 1 cup coffee maker. This was the coffee maker you mentioned without a pot. You use the coffee cups that are provided in the rooms, place the coffee pod in the maker and it pours the coffee into the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
1.2 mi away
Ponderosa Motor Inn
Ponderosa Motor Inn
#12 of 19 in Golden
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Golden

Address: 1439 Lafontaine Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3, Canada (Formerly Golden Village Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $86 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Golden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Village Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay