We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Village Lodge

Traveler (46)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)

About

#16 of 17 hotels in Golden
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you’re looking for a budget friendly hotel in Golden, look no further than Golden Village Lodge. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Golden & District Arena (0.5 mi) and Spirit Square (0.9 mi), guests of Golden Village Lodge can easily experience some of Golden's most well known attractions. Rooms at Golden Village Lodge provide a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free wifi. You can also enjoy a pool and an on-site restaurant while staying at Golden Village Lodge. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Golden Village Lodge. If you’re looking for a sushi restaurant, consider a visit to Nagomi sushi, One Sushi, or Q's Asian style Fusion Rrstaurant, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Golden Village Lodge. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular canyons such as Canyon Creek. The staff at Golden Village Lodge looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Indoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
185Reviews
0Q+A
21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 35
  • 27
  • 52
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
-Beds had clean sheets -Shower head was from 1968 and after some playing it acted like a shower head -Drain on tub was at about 50% of design -Needed a pole vault to get into the beds -Oh yeah, that pool they advertised... It is getting"renovated" -Wall by room door and bathroom
Read more
As I write this, my husband is watching the water in the tub slowly drain. It was 1 inch full 5 minutes ago, it's about 1/4 now. So where to start... The good: the mini fridge actually keeps things cold and is large enough to store the breakfast you brought with you. The bed
Read more
Response from Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Sep 11, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. The mini fridge is mean to keep the food cold. There is a temperatue setting in the fridge that can keep the food cold or frozen. Our bed linen is cleaned daily. Thank you for saying its cleanish. We have been providing breakfast on select days over the summer. We have just started the breakfast included feature at our property and hope to have it a permanent feature in the months ahead. I do apologize for the smoked cigar on the windowsill. We are a non smoking property, however we do have designated rooms with balconies that guests are able to smoke outside. As far as places to charge your phone. There is a lamp between the beds that has two USB ports along with two plug ins located on the lamp. There is also an alarm clock with a USB port plug in that is also located on the bed side table between the beds. We infect don't have blankets, we have duvets. All our rooms have wood flooring and are wet jetted and mopped every day. The baseboards are caramel stained wood baseboards that are wiped down daily with a damp cloth. We have 76 rooms on the property and enough parking for 100 cars. There is also ample street parking, in fact when the entire parking lot is full guests have been known to park on the side of Lafontaine road. Their is a fire extinguisher in all cases located on the property, and all rooms have a smoke and heat sensor in all rooms. My front desk staff did all they could in making your stay pleasent. During your stay you never at any point approached the desk or called for us to correct any of the problems. If the room was so terrible why did you stay the entire night and then check out in the morning and not mention a single issue to our front desk staff. I don't feel its fair to comment any more on the items that you mentioned including the tub. My staff work very hard to provide all guests with a clean and comfortable stay. In the future when you stay at any property, regardless of the time of check in, let the desk know you are not happy and have found issues in the room. Your stay satisfaction would be very different.
Read more
Upon check in they wanted to charge us 20.00 more because it was the weekend which was not quoted upon booking. Thinking no set price they charge whatever they want. Room had no electrical plate, toilets barely flushed, towels belong as rags, shower didn’t drsin for dome time,
Read more
Response from Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Sep 11, 2018
The reason you were going to be charged the extra $20 was because you did not declare the two additional people that were in your reservation. As explained upon check in your reservation was for 2 people, however you had 4 adults and the charge is $10 per additional person. It had nothing to do with the weekend. We do not charge what we want and the additional person charge is clear. With that being said I can understand why you are attacking every other item in my rooms. So let me address each item that you have listed with little to no explanation. All our rooms have electrical plates. If the toilets barely flushed do you think they would be in the room are even more that we would rent the room to a guests? All our towels and linens are new and were purchased in APRIL 2018. I don't understand your comment about the shower. Your words are "shower didn't drsin for dome time". Not sure what this means. If the remote batteries were not working, well for that I am sorry. A phone call to front desk and we would have replaced them for you at no charge! We spent over 700K on renovations, however its not to your standards. I must thank you for being truthful in your feedback. You are correct about my renovations and that they did occur. You are always welcome back.
Read more
Stopped for one night on our way to Vancouver. Check in was prompt. Stairs only to room on second floor with access at the back. Room was somewhat dated but was ok for what we needed. They did offer a breakfast, which we weren't expecting, at a small restaurant next door. Small
Read more
Response from Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Sep 11, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We recently completed a property wide remodel and renovation. To some it may be dated to others its a modern look. I try my best to keep up with the JONES and make sure my business is up to date with new style and decor. Our breakfast program worked well for our first time. We are looking to make this a permanent staple and hope to build a new breakfast area for our guests.
Read more
We were hesitant to stay here after reading reviews, but we were glad we did. We had a room with jetted tub, new pine flooring/furniture, and a skylight. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. The a/c was loud but cooled the room very well.
Read more
Response from Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge
Responded Sep 11, 2018
Thank you so much for your feedback. We value all our guests and their opinions. We do hope you will return soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden village hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Howard Johnson Hotel Golden
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesGolden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing