We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Hound Inn

621 Baker Street, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4J3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountain Hound Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wainwright, Alberta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is friendly. The rooms are very, very small. Nothing special, and no view. But the location is nice as it's right on Baker Street, which is the main street. The room was quiet, and very clean.

Helpful?
Thank Clipper02
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My stay was for 3 days and the staff were just wonderful, the bed comfortable and the hotel very quiet. For awhile one evening there was a fairly exuberant group but they were told to keep it down about 10pm and after that were angels. I would stay here anytime i visit.

Helpful?
Thank wildflower388
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'd had a terrible flight with delays and cancellations and overnight stay in the airport. That is just to emphasize how tired I was and how I slept like a rock every night on a comfortable bed, quiet room and enjoyed hot coffee complimentary every morning. Location us perfect and the staff acted like missing luggage problem was their missing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ramona T
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

This hotel was conveniently located in the heart of downtown. The town closes up pretty early but it was nice to be able to walk a few blocks either way and see things. The room was small but had what we needed but a coffee maker would have been nice. The price reflects the amenities.

Helpful?
Thank JoyMarieJ
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

Nice place, quiet, clean, great price. Frank checked us in and gave us excellent service. Non smoking hotel which is great as they are hard to find. Also pet friendly. I would stay here again and recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank VirginiaGenealogist
Ridgecrest, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

Nelson can be an expensive area to stay, so when I found Mountain Hound at a fraction of the other hotels, it was a pleasant surprise. It's conveniently located down town within walking distance of great shopping and food. The hotel is older, but has block walls which kept all the noise out, a simple continental breakfast with great rich... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJveetwin
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Had a one night stay in this lovely clean hotel right on the Main Street of Nelson. Hotel clean, beds very comfortable and quiet at night. Surprisingly very quiet through the night even though this was in the downtown area with a revitalization of the street going on near by. Our room faced the back of the hotel but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank JustAlly15
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The room was small but everything worked OK. It's quiet enough, except for the window AC units that cycle on & off. My room shared a "tunnel" on the outside for the AC's for 3 rooms so sometimes there was a bit of a rumble from one of the others. The location is good with lots of shopping & restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gtosher
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

The room was clean, the staff was helpful and it was in the perfect location nothing more to ask for really. The room sort of did look like a prison cell but really for the one night we were staying there it did the job perfectly! I would totally stay here again if we pass through Nelson again.

Helpful?
Thank SnMnew
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Very bad service. very bad attitude. poor experience. stayed there during my 22nd birthday, what happened was i stayed there for 4 nights, on the 3rd day they call me up at 11 checkout and tell me to leave i ask them 20-30 mins to pack up and get changed, i then actually instead of leaving decided to extend the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Divyan C
MountainHoundInn, General Manager at Mountain Hound Inn, responded to this review

This individual was removed from our property for violating our no smoking policy, damage to hotel property, and threatening our staff. We were informed by the police that we are not the first property in Nelson where he had to be removed. Please weigh this review accordingly. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay