We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cloudside Hotel

Orbitz.com$83*
View Deal
#4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Cloudside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cloudside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 343: English reviews
Canada
Reviewed June 25, 2016

We planned a visit to Nelson at a very short notice and didn’t have enough time to find out a good place to stay. Hence, we almost solely relied on the reviews and decided to stay here. We showed up sometime in the afternoon. This B&B was well located in downtown and looked like a nice large house full of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellalone
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

As we have a chance to comment I would label this 'Unacceptable review!' despite the positive comments that you made about our service and breakfast. As we have five rooms with private bathrooms it is not fair to misrepresent or misquote us. You chose to pre-book via a third party and had selected our 'Fir' room before you arrived, one...

Armstrong, Canada
Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at this quaint Inn. Our hosts were wonderful. We were privileged to eat breakfast with eight other guests and had lively conversation. The breakfast started with granola, fruit and yogurt. Later we were served French toast. The rooms were charming, although we did share a bathroom with other guests. We loved the warm and relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolynnie
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and the experience with other guests, its a a good way to find local information and travel tips from others. We are excited to be doing some renovations in the fall, and we will no longer have the shared bathroom. We will be adding some new...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed June 18, 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Cloudside Inn and we were delighted the entire time. There were so many comfortable areas, inside and out, to relax. Inside, everything was spotless and very nicely finished and decorated. Outside, there were many nice sitting areas featuring lots of views and attractive landscaping. There was off-street parking as well. For a house as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iGrok
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed May 28, 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay at Cloudside. We were warmly greeted by Chris and Sally and they were perfect hosts. We had some special food requests and were accomodated with imaginative and delicious breakfasts. We would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendyk9
arizona, british columbia
Reviewed May 22, 2016

host very friendly and welcoming - we've stayed here a number of times - lovely, gracious old home with comfortable rooms and cozy common area - walk to interesting shops and excellent restaurants (we always return to Bibo) - breakfasts always superb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elderlyones
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

I chose the Coudside for my birthday weekend based on reviews from Trip Advisor. Location was amazing. House and rooms are well appointed. Disappointed that there was no breakfast offered after our nights stay due to the owners being out of town on vacation. We received $10.00 per individual to get breakfast elsewhere but the point of a B and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you were not aware that we were taking our only 12 days away from our business this year. We let every customer who booked directly with us know that this was the case, and that our rates had been lowered to reflect this. However, we are considerably more restricted as to what we can tell...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 21, 2016

During the southern winter last year I read about Cloudside and thought it just the place for my wife, son and I to stay at for a winter holiday. We rented the top floor apartment for 10 days in February to combine with skiing at Whitewater. Our stay was as close to faultless as I think you could get when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denabroad
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Denis, Thank you so much for you very kind comments, they really mean so much to us and this sort of review makes it all worth while. We really enjoyed having you as our guests and meeting your family. I am happy you enjoyed Nelson and all it has to offer, you certainly choose a great snow year. We...

Calgary, Alberta
Reviewed April 20, 2016

After eight hours of driving, this was a welcome stop-over on our way from Vancouver to Calgary. Clean, quiet, comfortable, welcoming. Breakfast was perfect, with a properly made pot of tea and eggs any style. We'll definitely check for vacancies at Cloudside Inn first for our next stay in Nelson.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie88
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate it and your very kind comments. So happy we could be your hosts, and give you a mini break on your long drive. Sally

Sandpoint, Idaho
Reviewed February 23, 2016

This was our second time to the Cloudside Inn, after having spent our first Christmas together here two years ago. We fell in love with the place, and knew we'd be back. We returned for this trip with my 5 year old step daughter, and felt perfectly cared for by Chris and Sally, and their excellent staff. This time, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHons126
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed December 15, 2015

Absolutely amazing place to stay in Nelson. My wife and I along with out 2 year old son spent several nights in the Cedar room last week. The house is cozy and inviting. Chris's breakfasts are wonderful. Value is best in the city. You are just 2 blocks from Baker. We stayed our last night at the Hume and though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YYCMatty
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Price Range: $92 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cloudside Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cloudside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There is also a large apartment with kitchen and living room; we were going to use it for our girls' ski trip but it was already booked.”
I2572OBjanetc, Mar 31, 2017 | Read review
“stay in any room you will love them all”
muffindipper, Mar 17, 2017 | Read review
“bark in the back if you have mobility issues easier access in the alley”
903wendyk, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“If you don't do steps this place could prove to be a little difficult!”
davidbmwsetd, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Any room will be nice, since you can spend time in the common room. I had the smallest room, with a private bath. It was just fine.”
CalgaryMarcoPolo, Jul 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$83* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$85
Expedia.com$83
TripAdvisor$85
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates