We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Villa Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 158: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here because it was a good price and fit our budget. The good was big, with a larger area by the bathroom sink with a closet, fridge and chair. The bathroom was a decent size. They had done some upgrade but the carpet was old and stained and the ceiling was probably the original, which was dirty. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nikster87
Frank S, Owner at Villa Motel, responded to this review

Hi Nikster87, thank you for your valuable and honest review. I'll save your review and discuss with our maintenance on how to resolve the issues you've mentioned. More 

San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my first visit to the city of Nelson B.C. From driving through the city it seemed that it certainly had a european charm, sitting nestled on a hillside. We were on a motorcycle trip, so just passed through not stopping to eplore. Our destination for the nite was the Villa Motel. This is an old motel, it has... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolegab
Frank S, Owner at Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the details review Carolegab. Just to clarify your review, you had booked a queen but when you extended your stay the Standard Queens were already sold out. We offered the next available room which was the Standard King room. I just wanted to clarify this because the way it is written sounds like you reserved a queen... More 

Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Older motel but fairly well kept. Reasonably clean. Rooms are average in size. Parking can be a bit constricted if you arrive late. Restaurant on site. Nice location along the north side of the bridge and lake/river. Nice location for the sunrise and quiet once the day traffic has subsided. Pool included however we did not use. Close enough to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin1372
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great budget hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. For a place to just crash.. it works. No bells or whistles. Somewhat updated decor for a motel. Showers are older. Staff is helpful. Breakfast was offered, however the amazing cafes of Nelson win out. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Gracefullife
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set on a busy street overlooking the bridge and river, this hotel has the perks of a comfortable hot tub and a useful laundry. The room was very comfortable and with the air conditioning, quiet to the outside traffic noise. Reasonable given the offerings.

Helpful?
Thank garyschoenberg
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked our vacation through the Kootenay's the August long weekend at the spur of the moment. Needless to say, there was not much available. When we arrived at the Villa we were a little hesitant as to what to expect. The room was very pleasant, much better than expected. The room was large - one queen and two... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sparta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second stay at this facility. Once again, we were very pleased. One of their rooms includes two bedrooms and two bathrooms. One of the bedrooms has a queen bed, one has two double beds. This is an excellent option for our family when we are visiting Nelson. The rooms are modest, clean, conveniently located and well priced.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francie J
Frank S, Owner at Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Francie! Yes, the standard room with three beds is a perfect fit for families that don't need a living room or kitchenette. We are very happy to hear that the price and value as well as our staff friendliness has been suitable and consistent between your stays with us. We wish you well on your... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The motel came recommended by a local and was great! The price was right and it was located right on the highway quite close to city centre. Quiet and clean. Would definitely recommend if travelling through Nelson or if you are staying for awhile.

Helpful?
Thank Noelle L
Frank S, Owner at Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Noelle L, Great to hear you had a wonderful time travlelling through Nelson. Thank you for dropping in for a stay. More 

Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a little surprise. First motel weve stayed in that has a kitchenette with all cooking facilities plus full size fridge. Beds were clean and comfortable. Frank at reception was so helpful and informative. Across the bridge from town and a bit of a hike but soo pretty to walk.

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Frank S, Owner at Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Karen S for sharing your experience at the Villa Motel. I do enjoy that walk over the bridge, through the beach/park, water front walkway all the way to downtown. You get some pretty cool views along the way and actually get to see Nelson as a whole, not just the downtown core. More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a larger group for 2 nights so we needed lots of rooms and wanted an area where we could sit outside and talk/drink. None of the hotels in town had this so we picked the Villa. Was an easy check-in and had great dining recommendations form the desk. The pool was definitely used by kids, and the murky water... More 

Helpful?
Thank WantedDriver
Frank S, Owner at Villa Motel, responded to this review

Dear WantedDriver, Thank you for your review. There were some good and bad mixed in your review and I wanted to take a moment to reflect on your words and provide a different view. I apologize if you found our swimming pool and room condition not to your satisfaction. I will forward your concerns to the relevant departments. We do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.5 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#8 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Villa Motel is located right by Nelson’s Orange Bridge, with views of Kootenay Lake and the surrounding mountains. It is ideally situated away from Nelson’s city noise with plenty of free parking while being a close 4 minute drive to Baker Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Motel

Address: 655 3a Hwy, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6M6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Price Range: $78 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hotel Nelson
Villa Motel Nelson
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay