We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1135 Resort Dr, Parksville, British Columbia V9P 2T6 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (48)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (10)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 06/17/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ocean Trails Resort
Updated 06/17/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 14 Specialty lodging in Parksville
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.2
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Located on seven lush, wooded acres just steps from Rathtrevor Beach, Ocean Trails Resort is the perfect place for a family getaway to Parksville. Choose from one, two, or three bedroom condos and enjoy affordable rates, free parking, free Wi-Fi, fully-equipped kitchens, fireplaces, cozy duvets, and washer/dryers in every unit. Resort amenities include a new aquatic center with a seasonal heated pool, hot tub, tennis court, pickleball, recreation area, children's playground, BBQs and more.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Hiking
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Non-smoking hotel
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
24-hour check-in
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
368Reviews7Q+A87Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 220
  • 114
  • 21
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
55moel wrote a review Mar 2022
Winnipeg, Canada10 contributions11 helpful votes
When we tried to book a place in December in Parksville, there were no vacancies any where. Ocean trails was the only place that would put us on a waiting list and called us back. We stayed in a very well equipped and clean 1 bedroom unit. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Anything missing was corrected immediately. One of the best shower pressures I have experienced in a commercial location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: There are1 and 2 bedrooms available.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Thank you for stopping by Ocean Trails during your recent visit to Parksville. Our suites and amenities are designed and maintained with you in mind, and we’re glad you found them comfortable. Please come and visit us during the summer for a whole different feel!
Read more
Kathy A wrote a review Jan 2022
Victoria, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
We had booked a 3 nights stay in December 2021. Before our stay roads on the island were closed due to washouts and dangerous conditions. Government directives were advised for essential travel only. There was also a gas shortage as a result of this at the time. We contacted Ocean Trails to cancel our reservation however they withheld our $50.00 deposit. We understood someone from the resort would contact us however we never did hear from them. . Due to the circumstances it seems like poor customer service and irresponsible to withhold our deposit with these advisories in place. There are many resorts in Parksville and on Vancouver Island to choose from. In the future we will book with another resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. The last 2 months have certainly brought challenges, with many events beyond everyone's control. While the Provincial Health Order did not apply to our region for the dates of your reservation, as you say, there were other conditions that made travel more difficult. We do make every effort to be flexible and accommodating, and for that reason, offered to let your party change your travel dates free of charge. As you can imagine, there are third-party expenses associated with a cancellation. Therefore, we have policies in place which for a small fee, allow guests some flexibility to change or cancel a reservation. Since you elected to cancel your reservation, unfortunately we had no choice but to adhere to this policy and charge the $50 cancellation fee. We do appreciate your feedback though, as we are committed to offering a positive experience to our guests. Thank you again and all the best in your future travels.
Read more
Fearless549909 wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
We will never return to Ocean Trails. We responsibly cancelled, due to the government directive for essential travel only, gas restrictions and serious weather conditions that resulted in some road closures and delays. Ocean Trails withheld $50 of our deposit which seemed an unfair practice in these circumstances. Our decision to cancel was based on government advisories. We were told we would get a response to our emails regarding this. To date there has been nothing. Due to these poor customer relations, we have made a decision to never stay at this resort again, nor of course, would we ever recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Jan 20, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. The last 2 months have certainly brought challenges, with many events beyond everyone's control. While the Provincial Health Order did not apply to our region for the dates of your reservation, as you say, there were other conditions that made travel more difficult. We do make every effort to be flexible and accommodating, and for that reason, offered to let your party change your travel dates free of charge. As you can imagine, there are third-party expenses associated with a cancellation. Therefore, we have policies in place which for a small fee, allow guests some flexibility to change or cancel a reservation. Since you elected to cancel your reservation, unfortunately we had no choice but to adhere to this policy and charge the $50 cancellation fee. We do appreciate your feedback though, as we are committed to offering a positive experience to our guests. Thank you again and all the best in your future travels.
Read more
Rudy U wrote a review Sep 2021
Vancouver, Canada62 contributions41 helpful votes
The 2 bedroom unit we shared with another couple was very comfortable - kitchen was very well equipped. We asked for and received a unit right near the path to the beach. If you have trouble with STEEP ramps, you might not be able to walk down to the beach, and would have to drive (3 min) to the Rathtrevor parking lot. My only complaint was with the office staff - we reserved through Booking.com and got a call from the hotel within an hour of making the booking, asking us for a larger deposit than Booking.com required. I paid it, but asked for a receipt/reservation confirmation. It took 3 emails and 3 phone calls over the course of a week before we ever got our confirmation. Very sloppy!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Sep 28, 2021
Thank you for your review of Ocean Trails. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
wkangstadt wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
There were 15 0f us that travelled from Vancouver by ferry, of course hoping to golf 6 days. However, the weather was not good to us and we were able to play only 3 courses. Anyway, we all had a good time and ate at a number of good restaurants that we had dinners at also, last year . Next year we are planning on going over in August and will once again stay at Ocean Trails Resort ! Thankyou !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Sep 24, 2021
It sounds like your group had a great time here at Ocean Trails and made the most of the various amenities in the area. Thanks for taking the time to leave us this positive review. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
fjp10 wrote a review Sep 2021
Vancouver, Canada2 contributions
From start to finish , Ocean Trails is a perfect spot. Incredible staff that was patient with our ever changing reservations with uncertain International Covid regulations. The individual units were completely outfitted and spotlessly clean. Great grounds with pool, playground and of course the wonderful beach. I'd highly recommend Ocean Trails
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Sep 17, 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We were happy to be of service and so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Trails. We sincerely hope to see you and your family again soon!
Read more
Chelan M wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
Hi there it was al very last minute and we enjoyed every minute super friendly, cozy and kitchen all stocked and the pool and hot tub were clean and then we needed a BBQ no problem they brought one over and took it away Gladly stay again :) Chelan
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Sep 17, 2021
Thank you, Chelan for your amazing 5-star review! We're delighted we were able to accommodate your last-minute booking and happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Ocean Trails. Please come back and stay any time!
Read more
rafaellaporta wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
The resort is great! We all had lots of fun, the kids were in the swimming pool, hot tub and playground all day long. The resort was very clean and organized, at night very calm and with no parties or noise.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Sep 16, 2021
We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your time here at Ocean Trails! Thanks for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the resort, we certainly make every effort to keep it looking fresh so it's nice to know it was noticeable. We hope to see you all again next year!
Read more
jcfries wrote a review Sep 2021
Vancouver, Canada45 contributions40 helpful votes
This was our first time at Ocean Trails. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo - fully equipped and clean. The third bedroom was it’s own private suite on the second floor with a separate sitting area with a TV and pull out couch along with a full bathroom and king sized bed in the bedroom. We appreciated the fan (no A/C in the units) and being amongst the trees as it was hot! The new pool was a huge hit with the kids. Many bike trails out your front door - we even biked on a well marked gravel trail to Coombs! Note - the trek to the beach was steep. We packed a wagon and walked the first day, but the remaining beach trips were done by car - a short 2 minute drive to Rathtrevor Provincial Park, where there was ample parking and “outhouses”. Otherwise, there were no bathroom facilities on the beach directly below Ocean Trails (quite a walk with little ones to Rathtrevor outhouses). A great family trip all in all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Sep 16, 2021
We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Trails and that you had the opportunity to really explore the surrounding area with your family. There are certainly some wonderful spots around if one is adventurous enough to explore them, which it sounds like that was the case for your and your family. Thanks for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review. We hope we will see you and your family again in the future!
Read more
barriehancock wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I realise these are difficult times but there was no impression of friendliness to the guests. Family has been coming here for fifteen years, over 25 with other friends. Liked new swimming pool and hot tub. Felt something going on here?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Agency / Consultant at Ocean Trails Resort
Responded Sep 16, 2021
Thank you for choosing Ocean Trails for your vacation getaway for so many years. We always do our best to provide friendly and courteous service, but we especially appreciate your bearing with us during this challenging year. We do hope to see you return again next year!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean trails hotel parksville
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandParksville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Trails Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Trails Resort?
Nearby attractions include Rathtrevor Beach Provincial Park (0.5 miles), Parksville Museum (0.5 miles), and Oceanside Village Artists' Gallery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Trails Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Trails Resort?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a dishwasher.
Is parking available at Ocean Trails Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Trails Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste Bistro, British Bobby Restaurant, and Black Goose Inn at Beach Acres Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean Trails Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Trails Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Milner Gardens & Woodland (7.3 miles).
Is Ocean Trails Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.