We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 292: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is exactly what you would expect of a Best Western. The bed was very comfortable and I slept great both nights. Great to have Seattle's Best coffee but bring some creamer or milk as only Coffee Mate is provided. Glad I brought my own pillow as these ones are a bit lumpy, but the sheets are very good.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank loulou6244
Brussel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Port Alberni is not a place you should see, but if tofino is fully booked its a good place to start. This best Western is very nice, clean, good rooms, friendly staff, parking place with more then enough space. Wifi could and should be better. The inpanded restaurant is great, a plus!

Helpful?
Thank Johan W
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, relatively quiet (could hear showers running, etc. in other rooms), and they seemed to have lots of little extras to make sure the stay was comfortable. Seemed to be close to the center of town, loads of parking and staff were very friendly. Cost was rather high, but would consider staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandy B: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and comfortable, and the staff very friendly. All of our team thoink of themselves as ambassadors for the hotel and tourism in the... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The air conditioner in our unit did not work. Maintenance was sent up and said "I cannot do anything I am just the janitor". I asked for a credit off of our bill due to a bad night's sleep. The manager who didn't even bother coming to see me offered me $25 - very disappointing experience given that everything else... More 

Helpful?
Thank DGB_TTT
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DGB_TTT: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this Tripadvisor review. We checked the air conditioning units after you had left in the morning and found they were both working fine. The only thing I can think of is that when the outside temperature drops to 60 degrees Fahrenheit, the air conditioner which has a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every member of the staff at the Barclay was amazing! We couldn't thank the office staff, the restaurant staff, and the cleaning staff enough. We've never been treated with such kindness and concern at any hotel in the past. My 91 year old dad and 86 year old mom were so well taken care of by everyone that I don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky E
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky E: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to enjoy Stamps Café while you were here. Stamps Café has become a favourite among our guests and locals alike. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Best overall service I've experienced in a hotel. Everyone from front desk, to bar staff, restaurant staff, and housekeeper. Made us feel welcome in a genuine way, a friendly way, not just from some customer service training handbook. Rooms were immaculately clean, with solid ammenities. Food in bar and restaurants were good portions, hot, and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie C: Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor review. We are all happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and the entire team was very proud to read your comment that this was the best overall service you have experienced in a hotel. We always try to provide the best service and product... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the weekend of Canada day the hotel was beautiful even the room so were happy to have a good night sleep after a busy weekend. It wasn't until we went to bed that we had the hardest time sleeping because the mattress was so firm and hard that we couldn't get comfortable so got... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rae l
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rae l: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this Tripadvisor review. We are sorry to hear you found your bed uncomfortable, we generally get great responses in this area. I will review our room standards with our Housekeeping Team as it is standard to have coffee packages in all of the rooms, and I... More 

Crofton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Central to everywhere, lots of parking, quiet. There are lots of gentle hiking trails nearby and lots of hard climbing trails. We could see the water from 5th floor. The quay has a new aquarium with touch ponds that are filled with local ocean life, collected from the local waters, Definitely must see for $5.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tawny M
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tawny M: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. Their are many things to enjoy in the Alberni Valley and you definitely had the opportunity to enjoy some of the beauty of the surrounding area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward... More 

Bowser, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the BWP Barclay Hotel because it is well located and a well respected Hotel in Port Alberni. While filling in time prior to the wedding festivities we walked to the waterfront Quay Drive and admired the waterfront near the Canal Marina in the morning. It was a delightful stroll along the river and on the Quay, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan012014
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan012014: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room well appointed and comfortable. We have recently completed a renovation of all of our guest rooms and the results have been very well received... More 

Victoria BC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The facility has lots of parking. The lobby & rooms all seem fresh and updated. Our room was very clean and came with a queen size bed, pullout couch, small fridge. It also had all the amenities in the bathroom including a hairdryer. The bed itself was on the hard side, so if that is a factor then longer stays... More 

Helpful?
Thank GordonHeadFamily
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GordonHeadFamily, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and updated. We recently completed a renovation of all of our guest rooms. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Swept Away Inn
Swept Away Inn
#4 of 12 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
22.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#2 of 12 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Ave., Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Price Range: $128 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay