We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Berry's Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Berry\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To look at Berrys you would think you were going back in time to the days of the single story, no frills motel. However, I would challenge any of the chains to have a cleaner room, enough towels, and a friendlier staff. The room sparkled from the carpet up. The beds were comfortable and we had everything we needed for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

I'm happy you were satisfied with your stay. Someday we'll start renovating the outside of the motel, but in the meantime there's still lots to do inside, which matters most. Thanks and come again! More 

Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in with no reservation for one night stay on way to Lunenburg. Price was very reasonable - too good to be true. We were pleasantly surprised! The room was spacious, very clean and the gentleman that was at the counter was friendly, courteous and helpful. Especially nice to have laundry facility and close to many amenities. We would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Plattsville
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for staying with us. Glad to hear you were happy with your stay! And yes, I try to keep our rates competitive; we're all about VALUE. Have a great trip. More 

Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Rm 26 is a very modern suite. There is a sofa and kitchenette in the front and a bedroom in the back. The is a new full size refridgerator/freezerm a microwave, hotplate, standard kitchen sink, 4 slice toaster. There is an immaculate bathroom with a full size tub/shower and even a tissue dispenser. The bedroom has a full size bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for staying with us. I'm happy you liked your suite. While our standard rooms all have air conditioning, our suites, which are in a separate building, do not. I took your advice though, and installed air conditioners in the bedrooms of suites 25 and 26 (the rest of the building is rented to monthly guests, but I've... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Room number 6 smelled musty n old. Couldn't even sleep in the bed due to all the hair in it, slept on top of the covers. The bed was very uncomfortable and hard. It maybe cheap but that was for a reason. Will never return!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Caper1976
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you weren't happy with your room. Yes, I have to agree with you, Room 6 hasn't been renovated yet and is looking pretty old, as is the case with all three of our smoking rooms (I'm guessing that you asked for a smoking room, as there is no other way we would rent it to you unless you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Truro hotels

Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

I stayed at this hotel for one night last weekend. It was clean and tidy. I can't really say anything really bad about the room or really great. If you are not going to be in your room except to sleep this is a great cheap place to stay close to shopping and inexpensive restaurants. We were in room number... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for staying with us! If there wasn't a coffee maker in your room there should have been; each room has a bar fridge, microwave, and coffee maker (coffee and tea is available at the front office at no charge). Irons and hair dryers are available at the front office. There are four electrical outlets in every room;... More 

Edmonton
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

We were in a renovated room, which had tile and laminate flooring, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, extra seating, king bed and was a nice size. A couple small changes would make it much better. There is only one available electrical outlet near the fridge, with a sign saying, "do not unplug the fridge". If people are unplugging the fridge,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunnyalberta27
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for staying with us! Actually, we had to place the signs on the bar fridges because occasionally somebody would unplug a fridge because they didn't like the sound of it running while they slept. Unfortunately, this meant that the freezer compartment would defrost and water run all over the floor. If they did this at an expensive... More 

Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

My family and I were on our way to Cape Breton Island, NS and stopped at Berry's Motel for the night. It's conveniently located on a main street with plenty of shopping close by. We had an issue with the AC in one of our rooms and were quickly given another room. After we left, I realized that I left... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyne I
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for staying with us! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and yes, if a guest happens to leave something valuable behind we're happy to help get it back to them. More 

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Berry's Motel is located near shopping centers and lots of mid-low range places to eat, which came in handy as they do not serve breakfast. Some of the rooms are remodeled and based on the decor and the price, we had one of those rooms. (Room 21) Plus side--the in-room heating/cooling unit was very efficient and heated up our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank SusanDP
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for staying at Berry's Motel. Your review reminds me to do two things: fill the holes in the bathroom where once a towel bar was attached, and to remove the sticker on the mirror (I guess somebody thought it was cool to put a sticker on the mirror). Actually, we do have ice in the office; there's... More 

New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I just stayed at this motel- I loved that they had smoking rooms. Keeping in mind it is a motel- not a hotel, I thought the room was good for the price- It was older but clean, What really stood out to me was the kindness of the staff and a particular guest- checkout at 11 am- They had a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank SusanG G
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for staying at Berry's Motel. Yes, we do have a few smoking rooms, but as you mentioned, they are some of our older rooms. I wish I could take some of the credit for your satisfaction, but all the kudos goes to Susan, our super duper day manager, and to Mike, one of our long term tenants.... More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This was a terrible experience! I keep trying to discuss the matter with the owner who keeps hanging up on me. The first time I called, I left a message and asked him to return my call but he did not. When I booked I asked for the un-renovated room price. I was volunteering all weekend at Nova Scotia Music... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Christine L
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review

According to my records you rented three rooms: two renovated rooms at $69 and one older room at $59 (#1, #22, and #9). If there was a problem with the reservation/pricing it should have been brought to my attention at the time of check-in and I'd have gladly corrected it. I have checked the electrical outlets for those rooms and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 9 in Truro
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#4 of 9 in Truro
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#7 of 9 in Truro
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tidal Bore Inn
Tidal Bore Inn
#6 of 9 in Truro
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
1.3 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 9 in Truro
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Berry's Motel is centrally located in Truro, known as the 'hub' of Nova Scotia. Many of the province's favorite tourist attractions are located within a daytrip of the motel, so you can make us your one stop destination while visiting beautiful Nova Scotia!Berry's Best Features: Friendly staff, spacious grounds, small-dog friendly (sorry, no cats please), drive-up rooms (no stairs to climb), close to many eating establishments, amenities available at the front office, iron & blow dryer available, free WI-FI, picnic area, free ice, cable PLUS, free local calls, air conditioning, large parking lot to accommodate our trucker friends, fridges and microwaves in all rooms, complimentary local paper at front desk, laundromat. Plan to stay a while? Special monthly rates available. We have both regular motel units and mini-apartment suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berry's Motel

Address: 73 Robie St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Price Range: $60 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Berry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry's Motel Truro, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay