We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
GREEN BAY
Level Contributor
697 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Yes this is a basic Best Western franchise. However, it is conveniently located on Main Street, the room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was not the Ritz but it was well stocked and fresh, and the staff was very friendly. For the choices available in Yarmouth, you could do a lot worse.

Helpful?
Thank dsj5777
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the BW Mermaid upon our arrival on The Cat from Portland, Maine. The lady at the front desk was very nice and checked us in quickly. Our room was pretty basic and a little on the small side from what we are used to. Still, we had two queen beds, a small table and chair in one... More 

Helpful?
Thank JLD1368
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi JLD1368, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are i the process of renovations and have had many new items arrive already with more still to come. Our Front Desk Agents would have been more than happy to assist you with your TV issues. We do offer a fantastic breakfast in the morning... More 

Dartmouth, Canada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Best Western Mermaid for business on July 21, 2016. I opted for this hotel as it offered the best corporate rate in the area. I was more than pleasantly surprised with my stay. The room was very large and clean. I especially appreciated the hard surface floors as I have allergies. The bed was one of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi Jessica P, Thank you for the fantastic review of your stay while with us! We are pleased to hear that we offer the best corporate rate in our town. :) We have just recently replaced almost all of our carpeted floors in our guest rooms with hardwood flooring as many people nowadays do suffer allergies. It certainly makes it... More 

Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
484 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were here for just 1 night. The room was clean, the Internet worked well, and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. Jan at the desk was friendly and very helpful. There aren't many places to stay in this town.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Barbara F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay while with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was great. Thank you, Dawn Robicheau, General Manager More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in Yarmouth due to the fact we were taking the morning Cat ferry to Portland, Maine. There aren't a lot of options for hotels, but we chose this one due to brand recognition and dependability, and its proximity to the ferry. The hotel was aged, but clean. The breakfast was the typical selection of breads and packaged pastries,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MadGrendel
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi MadGrendel, Thank you for the review. We are an older Hotel but we are in the process of upgrading our guest rooms. We have within the last 2 months replaced our lamps, mirrors, flooring, lounge chairs with ottomans and today our new drapes are being installed. We are awaiting the arrival of the remainder of our new case goods... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

not happy at all with check in. I had booked my reservations in advance but waited over 20 minutes to receive keys as attendant in training attempted to determine if there were available rooms for two couples before me.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank janek1999
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hello Janek1999, We want to apologize that you had to wait while being checked in. I am sure that our Front Desk Agent would have acknowledged you and let you know that she would do her best to be with you as soon as possible. We offer tea and coffee and have a seating area in which to lounge in... More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yarmouth is not over endowed with hotels or B & Bs so we had little choice. The rooms are motel type but on 2 floors. Pool looked nice but we arrived too late to use it. Beds are doubles reasonable nights sleep. Room was clean but furnishing basic. Breakfast was included but was not particularly appealing. The cost was comparable... More 

Helpful?
Thank NorfolkSpinone
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi NorfolkSinone, Thank you for the review. Our outdoor heated pool is very nice indeed and is very enjoyed by our guests as we are the only Hotel in town with an exterior pool. We are sorry to hear that you didn't get the chance to enjoy it as well. We certainly pride ourselves on our room cleanliness. Our housekeeping... More 

kentville
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I checked in here Friday July 15 2016. I will start with the good things. The pool was awesome. The free breakfast was nice and the coffee was hot. All the staff we dealt with were very good and friendly. The room was your average hotel room,the showers was nice,the room was reasonably clean,the internet worked fine,the... More 

Helpful?
Thank guysmontess
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi guysmontess, We are happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our pool. Many of our guests love that they can sit out by the pool and suntan as well. :) I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our free hot breakfast and that you found all of our staff to be good and friendly. We try... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very pleased with our choice of hotel in Yarmouth. It was easy to get to from the ferry port, lots of parking and had friendly staff. The room was very up to date with wood floors and modern decor. We requested a room in the front with a water view, but it did have a fair bit of road noise... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShutterBuggz
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi ShutterBuggz, Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay while with us. We are certainly close to the ferry being less than a 5 minute drive. We have updated our rooms and are currently doing more upgrades. The remainder of our items should be arriving by the middle of... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There weren't a lot of choices in Yarmouth. The room was clean but heavily scented with bleach. Complimentary breakfast was not appetizing and quite crowded so we chose to eat in town. No elevator in hotel. Jake's pizza place in town served breakfast with a reasonable amount of choices. Skip the pancakes, however.

Helpful?
Thank Hollymberi
BWMermaidYarmouth, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review

Hi Hollymberi, I apologize that felt the room smelt of bleach. That is certainly not something that we use in our rooms. We have scent free detergents which we use on our sheets as many of our travelers have allergies. We offer a fantastic breakfast every morning with offerings of ham or sausage, eggs, breads, bagels, muffins and danish's, fresh... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.5 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#6 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
7.8 mi away
Churchill Mansion Inn
Churchill Mansion Inn
#3 of 5 in Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth is conveniently located within walking distance to the Ferry Terminal where the Nova Star Cruises will take you to Portland, Maine. Several Museums, and a variety of nearby dining and shopping options are all within 2 kms from the Hotel. We are a proud 2 GREEN KEY holder. Each spacious guest room features all the extras that make a difference while traveling. Our AIR CONDITIONING UNITS will ensure that you have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Each guest room includes free wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" Flatscreen HD Plasma TV's, HD Digital Cable, free local calls, and a free Hot breakfast. Other amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (seasonal), guest laundry and business center. BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth is also pet friendly (feels apply). Bus tours and groups are welcome! Whether attending one of the many outdoor festivals, enjoying a game of golf, sight-seeing, or enjoying one of beautiful beaches all within a 15 minute drive. Our friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth

Address: 545 Main Street, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Price Range: $133 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western + Iniative, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yarmouth
Yarmouth Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay