We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Retro Suites Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Retro Suites Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 300: English reviews
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed one night for a wedding and loved the hotel. Each room is different (e.g. Cowboy, motorcycles, etc), very clean and quiet. Really good restaurant attached. If you golf, you can stay and play at a nearby course. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good--rooms are unique, free parking, and the staff is hard-working and kind. The bad--I would not call this a luxury hotel (as they call themselves)--it's comparable to a Holiday Inn, almost. The sheets were incredibly itchy and of poor quality, stains on the carpet, the in-room fridge smelled of dead fish. There were no black-out curtains, so the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank OntariOH
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Retro Suites, Ontario's Premier Boutique Hotel during your recent trip to Chatham. I am very surprised that you found our sheets to be itchy and of poor quality. We purchase the finest of linens, and have made great strides to ensure that all towels, and bed linen of a superior quality. In regards to the blackout... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed Aug. 10 to 12, 2016 in the Sunset room. It was calming, serene and spacious, something one enjoys on vacation. :) I was encouraged to wander the hallways to see the décor which was very well done. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because it was so close to Tecumseh Park where every Wed. night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne K
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Retro Suites Hotel & Chilled Cork Restaurant. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff as I know they will be delighted to read your comments. Your feedback is greatly appreciated... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Brownstone is ok for night or two, but has no windows; The Library and First Class a slight step up. Restaurant/room service is very good and has a super staff. If hotel personnel had more training and a few things were added it could be a four-star, i.e. housekeeping eye to detail, instead of "this is all we do"... More 

Helpful?
Thank mauharrison
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We always appreciate the time each guest has taken to help us improve our experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the overall experience of our Hotel and Restaurant Thank you again for taking the time to leave these comments. We hope you will consider us again in the... More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Each room is unique with some great ammenities. Coffee is a bit on the weaker side (in the room and restaurant) but the Keurig option in the room is nice. Breakfast - we had vouchers so we had either only the continental or breakfast sandwich option. Both were good. Their homefries are excellent. Dinner - Kids had each Angel Hair... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blecky
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Retro Suites Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the in room amenities, breakfast and dinner from our on-site Chilled Cork Restaurant. We are glad that your stay was a great one. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Niagara area
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful hotel that welcomes visitors to Chatham! Beautiful, comfortable, cool. Fun to wander around the hallways and browse the interesting displays. Huge bathroom, micro, fridge, great décor in rooms. The young lady on the desk was so friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, my husband I both felt that the Fellow on the desk gave off an air of superiority... More 

Helpful?
Thank RDTravelMom
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Retro Suites Hotel during your recent visit to Chatham. I am thrilled to read all your positive feedback! Our team works very hard at providing excellence in both our customer service and product and it is always so great when I can share your positive comments with them. However, I am sorry to hear that you... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the Sky room last weekend of July. The hotel is beautiful and check in was very friendly and accommodating. Initially the room looked lovely and inviting. But the logistics aren't good. It faces King Street (the main downtown core). At 2 am there were still lots of rowdy people hanging on the sidewalk below our room. How... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita L
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of the disappointing experience you had in our Sky Room. Sky is a very popular room for guests who love lots of light in their room. In future, I might suggest Brownstone on your next stay; it is a great room for light sleepers. I also understand you had a... More 

Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a nostalgic visit to Chatham. Overall the King St. is looking great and this hotel is something special. It seems that the builders have managed to internally connect an number old side by side buildings to create a very modern hotel while preserving the street scape. The interior is done up in "art hotel" style that makes... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob V
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us here at Retro Suites Hotel I was thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your experience with us, and that you enjoyed our rooms that are all very unique in style and decoration. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Retro Suites... More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed as a group at the Retro Suites, first time using this place and it was amazing. The atmosphere is fantastic. Great detail that is very pleasing to the eye. The rooms were first class all the way. Huge beds :)

Helpful?
Thank Gord B
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you and your friends back very soon! More 

Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

10 ladies had our annual 2 night get away. This time to Chatham. All 10 of us have traveled around the world staying at many wonderful hotels. Retro Suites is now at the top. Every room is unique. We had 4 rooms. A wonderful breakfast was included. Check out their website and click on accommodations. I can't speak high enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeriSutts
THotelManager2016, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such an excellent review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at the Retro Suites Hotel. It always makes us happy to hear that our guests had a memorable stay from start to finish. We look forward to your return on a future... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatham
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Address: 2 King St W, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Price Range: $122 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retro Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Retro Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay