We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chimo Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cochrane
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chimo Motel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

July 31 rented a room for minute, my husband brought the luggage in and my small dog didn't stop going underneath the desk I tried to remove her from there so I removed the chair and I surprisingly saw a 4 inch big sausage rotten she almost took a bite out of it but I had time to grab 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francine B
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

we've stayed there many times over the last few years. great place for a great price. the kitchenettes are spacious and very handy.They have heated, secure snowmobile storage on site which is great. its close by to all amenities and you can ride from the motel.

Helpful?
Thank Josh S
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your good words. It is our pleasure to accommodate you. We had not TripAdvisor account, just registered today to respond. Thank you and we hope to see you next year. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016

Horrible, don't go there. Owner not pleasant. bathrooms have mould. Rooms are cold. We had an absolute horrible time getting to Cochrane, broke down on route in North Bay. Had to stay in North Bay and also pay for our room in Cochrane as our kids were already at the Chimo Motel. we spoke to the owner via phone, explained... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob N
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry for late respond,I just registered to day to respond.. I understand your frustration as your car broke down and you had to pay for one room at our place for your son and one for yours in North Bay, but that was something not under our control. I was favouring you by giving... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

Stayed a night here. The owner was very pleasant and accomodating, as well as the housekeeping staff. The room and bathroom were both very clean and I had no problems with them. A/C worked great, cable TV kept me occupied, and the bed was fairly comfortable. Overall much better than I expected and will likely stay here again if I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snafu S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here needing to use the kitchenette so he only had one room that would allow a dog (our jackchi) it only had one bed we had our children with us who had to sleep on the floor. The bathroom door is to low my husband is 6'5 and cracked his head badly. He had a migraine for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shekinah R
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We showed our pet friendly room first before you checked in, you and your wife like it, She said" nice and clean room", The room has only one bed, while you are a family of 5 + 2 dogs, that's why we asked you if your family can not fit here try to other hotel... More 

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

I've been staying here for over 20 years. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, they have all the amenities such as fridge, microwave, coffee pot, etc. The owner is friendly & will do anything to help you. If you're looking for a reasonably priced room with all the comforts of home I highly recommend the Chimo Motel. I look... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you john for your good words. It has been our pleasure to accommodate you for more than 20 years. More 

Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

If all your looking for is a bed to sleep in then this motel will do. Its inexpensive and a usual you pay for what you get. The bathroom is very small as is the separate sink area. So small in fact there's no room for a shaving kit without blocking half the sink. AC didn't work. The blinds didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank TMac_10
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and point out drawbacks . The fridge's and Airconditions are changed and the problem you mentioned are fix. IT was nice if you mention us upon your stay we can change the room or gave you a full refund. Sorry for the inconvenience and hope to see you again. More 

Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Sorry folks but the room im in doesn t look like in the picture. They have spraid the rugs over and over here.... My alergies !!!!! By the morning ill be sick. The linen is clean but bed covers and blankets are old,,,i am a salesman and travel lots. My wife would never stay here. That should say enough. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonatyan J
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Hadn't stayed here for a while as it hadn't been maintained - new owners seem to be trying hard and it is just as good or better than Westway to me. Owner was helpful and 2 room suite was much more comfy than regular 2 bed room and worth the extra couple bucks. Would be 4 stars but still needs... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Troy L
Chimo M, Manager at Chimo Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Internet barrier has been fixed now. Year ago we had not much choice in our town now town has more options for internet. We also update local network with new technologies so every room you can get fast and reliable internet. Hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cochrane hotels
0.0 mi away
Thriftlodge Cochrane South
0.0 mi away
North Adventure Inn
North Adventure Inn
#5 of 7 in Cochrane
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Station Inn
The Station Inn
#3 of 7 in Cochrane
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Chimo Motel

Address: Hwy 11 West | On the south side of the road betweenSwiss Chalet, and Canadian Tire, Cochrane, Ontario P0L 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Cochrane
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Chimo Motel Cochrane, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing