We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Selah Motel

Show Prices
#3 of 12 Hotels in Kenora
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Selah Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent night at Selah before fly-in fishing trip. Everything great. Room appeared to be recently remodeled. Bed was great. Price was great. Host was great. Will stay again for sure when next in Kenora...

Helpful?
Thank isatai44
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Older building, every room has an outside entrance, but very well cared for. Our room was exceptionally clean, with newer furniture and a refurbished bathroom. Includes the standards: small fridge, microwave, coffee machine. A/C worked great. We enjoyed our two-night stay, and would stay here again. A few things to note: Parking lot in front is very shallow and backs... More 

Helpful?
Thank louguay67
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

The hotel is on a main road, the road is not much more than 3 meters from the room's entrance. This was not my favourite motel on this trip, but was there for us. Friendly staff, but it's tough to get a good night's sleep when you have traffic noise so close. I'm afraid I'll be looking for a different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hans P
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

We look for best value hotels/motels and the Selah didn't disappoint. They have a sign on their wall that there is a 5% discount for cash, so why not save a few more dollars. The motel was once a run down mess but has new owners and received a big reno job. My Kenora relatives were surprised when we told... More 

Helpful?
Thank Halligan007
BeautyRests, Manager at Selah Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for all your sweet details. We are glad you were able to share your experience with Kenora folks. Have a great summer we look forward to see you again More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last week driving across from Alberta to Nova Scotia. Called and booked the room. Jeannie (sorry if spelt wrong) was super friendly. We were still four hours away and didn't realize it wasn't open 24hr till after we book. Called back and let them know how far we were and if it was to late we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naturallyhere
Jeannie L, Owner at Selah Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, we appreciate your review. It was our pleasure helping you that evening. Hope to see you again someday. Jeannie More 

New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were travelling across Canada and Kenora was our destination on our second night. Checked trip advisor and read the reviews for Selah and decided to give it a try. Beautiful, clean room. White linens. The owner was most accommodating. Don't drive by - it's a wonderful place to stay and very reasonable!!

Helpful?
Thank Marie M
Jeannie L, Manager at Selah Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your inspiring words, hope to see you again in the future. More 

Kenora, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

This motel has very pretty furnishings and large screen TV, but it was dirty as well as full of harsh chemical smells - worst of both worlds - only stayed becauase was too late to get something else. Was just as noisy as worst rated hotels and much more expensive.Would not recommend it at all.

Helpful?
Thank incunabula2016
Jeannie L, Manager at Selah Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words in regards to the furnishing. We use only organic products no harsh chemicals. Melaleuca is the brand name. Not sure where the odor was coming from. Noise is sometimes out of our control, although, I do advise people to dial "0" and we deal with it immediately. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

My experience there was amazing the Owner's Dave and his wife were so nice making us feel at home each and every day with the use of the BBQ the small boat out back and everything else one of the best times I have had being away from home and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
Jeannie L, Owner at Selah Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind remarks we appreciate your thoughtfulness. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic motel, been travelling northwest Ontario with work staying in various hotels/motels, and the selah stands out, clean rooms, modern and comfy beds with a great location! The owners are friendly and make you feel welcome. Would recommend this to anyone!

Helpful?
Thank andywal79
Jeannie L, Owner at Selah Motel, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your kind words hope to see you back this way again.​ More 

Sundridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

Room was clean and updated--BUT very noisy, we stayed in the lower level and you could hear everything from the room above, and l mean everything! Would not stay there again, even though the owners where very nice- it was just too noisy. Street noise was very loud also, as motel is located right on the main street.

Helpful?
Thank Dellandrea53
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenora
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Lakeside and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Kenora
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Kenora
Travelodge Kenora
#7 of 12 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Kenora
Days Inn Kenora
#6 of 12 in Kenora
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Kenora
Super 8 Kenora
#1 of 12 in Kenora
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nature's Inn Kenora
Nature's Inn Kenora
#1 of 9 in Kenora
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our motel offers all the amenities of an upscale hotel, but in a cozy, intimate setting. Each of our rooms are decorated with luxury in mind. Sink into a lush, fresh, clean bed and let your cares float away. Single or double rooms, in room coffee, 42" TVs, private baths, balconies, microwaves, refrigerators and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Selah Motel

Address: 700 Eighth Ave S | across from Travelodge, Kenora, Ontario P9N 3Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Kenora
Price Range: $76 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Selah Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Selah Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selah Motel Kenora, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay