We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga
See the most recent reviews
Showing 503: English reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. For the $90.00 per night price tag it was ok. The front desk staff were very helpful and nice. So was the cleaning staff. The hotel is old and dated. Peeling wallpaper, cracked paint. However, our room was cleaned well and I felt comfortable staying in it. The breakfast is simple cereal,...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lots2say3
Hojo11798, Front Desk Attendant at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the value and the staff here at the Howard Johnson Kitchener. We are always looking for things to improve upon and greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you and your family here with us again! Best...

Port Dover
Reviewed February 11, 2015

Unfortunately I was thinking this was going to be a quality hotel to stay at for the price I paid. Definitely could've been worse but expected better. The check in man was very friendly and helpful. Paid for the room with my credit card as soon as we got there. Generally that's done when you check out. The elevator was...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
Hojo11798, Front Desk Employee at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and expressing your thoughts in regards to your recent stay with us at the Howard Johnson Kitchener, I am terribly sorry that you found that your room was unsatisfactory, I wish you had spoken to one of our guest services agents while you were here on the property, as we would have done everything...

Chatham, Canada
Reviewed February 10, 2015

I recently stayed at your hotel on a Thursday evening. I had called and booked ahead of time. The reason for me calling vs booking online is that I wanted to ensure that our dog was welcomed. They CSR said that it would not be a problem as HJ is pet friendly. When we arrived at the hotel and signed...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NPreston13
Hojo11798, Front Desk Employee at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and expressing your thoughts in regards to your recent stay with us at the Howard Johnson Kitchener, I am terribly sorry that you and your family had found your visit unsatisfactory. I apologize that the person you spoke with when booking was unclear about room availability and surcharges when accommodating pets. Once again I...

New Hamburg
Reviewed February 2, 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred F
Hojo11798, Front Desk Employee at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed January 23, 2015

I stayed here Jan 22-23 The lady at the desk, Morag, was very kind and went out of her way to get me a room on the first floor since she noticed I have problem walking. I went swimming in their warm pool, great way to relax. They had a nice continental breakfast for me before I headed home. Morag,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb R
Guelph
Reviewed January 20, 2015

Okay....we paid less than $100 but expected higher quality. The check in/out was efficient. The breakfast was okay. The decor is old and outdated. The bathroom paint was peeling off. Didn't use the pool. Elevator is antique and slow. Hallways were cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joroo_63
A Wyndham traveler
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A Wyndham traveler
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 13, 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B587CObrianm
Hojo11798, Guest Services at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review

North Bay, Canada
Reviewed January 9, 2015

I'm really surprised to see the reviews of this hotel. I suspect these people have little experience with hotels. If I was paying $150/night I would be disappointed. But I wasn't, I was paying less than $100 freaking dollars!!! For the cost, it is a great value. The front desk checked me in/out quickly and efficiently and were right at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eh_jay2014
Hojo11798, Guest Services at Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga, responded to this review

eh_jay2014, Thank you so much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Howard Johnson Kitchener. At our hotel we love to accommodate you and your loved ones as much as we can. We are pleased to hear you and your family took advantage of, and enjoyed our available amenities. Thank you again for the terrific...

norwood
Reviewed December 30, 2014

This hotel should be condemned as it is dirty bedding is not being changed. Wall paper is falling off the walls, renovations have been done very shoddy. The hot tub had beer caps in it broken pieces of the tub where all over the floor, carpet near pool was lose and frayed causing a trip hazered. There was cobwebs hanging...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K7213YGdavidb
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitchener hotels
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
272 reviews
Knights Inn Kitchener
#9 of 14 in Kitchener
121 reviews
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga

Address: 1333 Weber St E, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Price Range: $65 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Kitchener Conestoga Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson - Kitchener Conestoga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“a tip to a good room...don't stay here..”
 of 5 bubbles 350carolyna, Nov 24, 2016 | Read review
“go elsewhere. Holiday Inn around the corner is wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles WendyA255, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“I would take a room that isn't on the bottom floor”
 of 5 bubbles 144ingaj, Jan 14, 2016 | Read review
“There is not one good room in this place”
 of 5 bubbles jean784, Sep 21, 2015 | Read review
“Call them to book a room, you can get bigger apartment than”
 of 5 bubbles 209miladd, Aug 30, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question