We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Canal Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canal Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
London, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in late evening without having the opportunity to research this facility and too late to move to another hotel. The key card system is not working so we didn’t get keys. The hallway was smelly and after viewing the room, it quickly became obvious that there is a severe lack of maintenance and housekeeping. The room was missing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thérèse G
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not sure what the young gentleman name is but he is very nice and is amazing on the customer service end of things. House cleaning never showed up so no clean towels and no wifi and we had to ask to be let into our rooms every time. The rooms were not very clean. We spoke to the owner and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 131LisaL42
WellandInnH, Public Relations Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us! We can appreciate how disappointed you were with your experience. Our management team is dedicated to improving the service and quality of each guest's stay and your concerns will be addressed right away as we begin renovations and review the service provided by... More 

Travelers are raving about these Welland hotels

Welland, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four months ago I booked 10 rooms at Canal Inn for my daughters wedding. When guests called to book room they were told no rooms left. 4 or 5 tries later finally arranged rooms. Guests found rooms had food and scrap all over the rooms. As well as the rooms had mold in them. I was very upset and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank bobbedell
WellandInnH, Public Relations Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely apologize for the difficulty your guests had booking their rooms for your daughter's wedding. We can appreciate how frustrating that must have been. We have plans to renovate our guest rooms to address some of the issues your guests pointed out. We will also be sharing your feedback... More 

ontario,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Worst hotel stay ever. Their keys for the rooms weren't working so we had to go to front desk every time we left the room . The microwave and coffee maker did not work . The staff did not seem to be to concerned. The pillows were yellow . I slept on top of the sheets . We stayed only... More 

Helpful?
Thank frenchyOntario
WellandInnH, Public Relations Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We are currently renovating our rooms and updating the access card system to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

This will be the first time I have ever written a negative review for Trip Advisor. I had the great misfortune of checking into this motel in June and it reinforces my belief why everyone needs to do their homework before checking into a hotel. Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity to do that because the accommodations I thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
WellandInnH, Public Relations Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the state of your room. It is very important to us that you enjoy your stay. We will ensure our housekeeping staff is made aware of your feedback and we will make any necessary repairs to the broken patio door handle. Your safety is... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Had a great stay here, Staff: Cassie, Shelby, Taylor were excellent. Most friendly and professional. Booked our room through Miss Amanda, what a super lady. Made sure we were well taken care of. We stayed for 7 days, had a drive up room which is great for taking luggage in and out. Location is great and close to shopping and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 343no
WellandInnH, Public Relations Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Our goal is to ensure each of our guests has a comfortable and enjoyable stay, so we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yours. We look forward to your next visit! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Okay I'll be honest. I haven't visited since by review in May. I have been using this hotel for at least ten years an average of three times a year for at least three day stays. They pissed me off during the Pan Am games by asking for well over the regular price so I didn't stay that time. Like... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandra_l_golden
Managercn006, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry you were so disappointed during your last stay.We are now under new management and ownership, so I sincerely hope that you DO choose to come back and give us a try More 

Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Very convenient location for touring the area, yet away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms were good, the bathrooms were good, everything worked as it should. These are hotels for people on a budget and they don't disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank John W
Amanda R, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to provide you with the best customer service, and we look forward to having you return during your next visit to Niagara!! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Don't stay here if you don't have to! Only hotel available for my friends wedding in Welland that weekend. Our family stayed there and we were in close proximity. Rugs felt wet during a hot spell in Southern Ontario. I left the hotel after a 4 day stay with horrible hay fever. During the day you could smell the farmers... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa G
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

I stayed there last night we had no problems at all the staff were great:) the room was comfortable and very good location . I hope people give this place a chance . They are trying to make things better . As long as you have a descent place to sleep who cares .

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess2016
Amanda R, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

We look forward to your next stay with us!!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welland
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
6.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
11.0 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#27 of 135 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
0.6 mi away
Niagara Residence & Conference Centre - Welland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a newly renovated hotel under new ownership and management. We are 100% NON smoking, and your comfort is our #1 priority. We offer luxurious beds, cable TV, free high speed wi-fi in all the rooms and main lobby, free continental breakfast every day as well as a complimentary newspaper. We are conveniently located just minutes from downtown Niagara Falls, our state of the art Flatwater Centre (home of the Dragon Boat Championships and Pan Am Games). We are also mere minutes away from stunning hiking/cycling trails, world renowned wineries and beautiful beaches along the lake. We offer very competitive rates, and can accommodate groups as well. Our friendly and courteous staff look forward to making your next trip to Niagara a great one!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canal Inn

Address: 870 Niagara St, Welland, Ontario L3C 1M3, Canada (Formerly Canal Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Price Range: $38 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Canal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Niagara Falls/Welland Hotel Welland
Comfort Inn Welland
Welland Comfort Inn
Canal Inn Welland, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay