We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Canal Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canal Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
ontario,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel stay ever. Their keys for the rooms weren't working so we had to go to front desk every time we left the room . The microwave and coffee maker did not work . The staff did not seem to be to concerned. The pillows were yellow . I slept on top of the sheets . We stayed only... More 

Helpful?
Thank frenchyOntario
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This will be the first time I have ever written a negative review for Trip Advisor. I had the great misfortune of checking into this motel in June and it reinforces my belief why everyone needs to do their homework before checking into a hotel. Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity to do that because the accommodations I thought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carrie W

Travelers are raving about these Welland hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Had a great stay here, Staff: Cassie, Shelby, Taylor were excellent. Most friendly and professional. Booked our room through Miss Amanda, what a super lady. Made sure we were well taken care of. We stayed for 7 days, had a drive up room which is great for taking luggage in and out. Location is great and close to shopping and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 343no
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Okay I'll be honest. I haven't visited since by review in May. I have been using this hotel for at least ten years an average of three times a year for at least three day stays. They pissed me off during the Pan Am games by asking for well over the regular price so I didn't stay that time. Like... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandra_l_golden
Managercn006, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry you were so disappointed during your last stay.We are now under new management and ownership, so I sincerely hope that you DO choose to come back and give us a try More 

Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Very convenient location for touring the area, yet away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms were good, the bathrooms were good, everything worked as it should. These are hotels for people on a budget and they don't disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank John W
Amanda R, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to provide you with the best customer service, and we look forward to having you return during your next visit to Niagara!! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Don't stay here if you don't have to! Only hotel available for my friends wedding in Welland that weekend. Our family stayed there and we were in close proximity. Rugs felt wet during a hot spell in Southern Ontario. I left the hotel after a 4 day stay with horrible hay fever. During the day you could smell the farmers... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa G
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

I stayed there last night we had no problems at all the staff were great:) the room was comfortable and very good location . I hope people give this place a chance . They are trying to make things better . As long as you have a descent place to sleep who cares .

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess2016
Amanda R, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

We look forward to your next stay with us!!! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

This hotel is poorly managed. Period. The rebranding to a lesser quality Econolodge product must be the only way Choice hotels can still leverage money from this franchisee. The hotel is absolutely filthy. Top to bottom. There is a lack of staff and supplies that results in having not enough linen for the guest rooms. I will not return and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
Managercn006, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you had such a horrible experience. I would like you to know that we are under NEW ownership as well as management. I would love it if you would give us another chance so you can personally see all the improvements and changes we have made to ensure our guests have the best stay while... More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

I am writing about this hotel to express my disappointment (to say the least) with the Comfort Inn now named Econolodge in Welland Ontario. My stay consisted of a group reservation/rate of $129/night, for two nights. These reservations were made by my son’s baseball team, who, I learned, stayed in your hotel on previous occasions. The hotel was sold-out, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vallejos
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

For starters this has changed to an Econolodge, so don't be fooled. The blond at the front desk does not love her job and she makes you suffer for it. While waiting for my room key I was entertained by the cleaning staff sitting around the complaining blond as they complained about work and asked for and passed around their... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Follows58
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welland
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
6.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
11.0 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Niagara Residence & Conference Centre - Welland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a newly renovated hotel under new ownership and management. We are 100% NON smoking, and your comfort is our #1 priority. We offer luxurious beds, cable TV, free high speed wi-fi in all the rooms and main lobby, free continental breakfast every day as well as a complimentary newspaper. We are conveniently located just minutes from downtown Niagara Falls, our state of the art Flatwater Centre (home of the Dragon Boat Championships and Pan Am Games). We are also mere minutes away from stunning hiking/cycling trails, world renowned wineries and beautiful beaches along the lake. We offer very competitive rates, and can accommodate groups as well. Our friendly and courteous staff look forward to making your next trip to Niagara a great one!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canal Inn

Address: 870 Niagara Street, Welland, Ontario L3C 1M3, Canada (Formerly Canal Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Price Range: $37 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Canal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Niagara Falls/Welland Hotel Welland
Comfort Inn Welland
Welland Comfort Inn
Canal Inn Welland, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay