We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Banff Gate Mountain Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For our family trip to the Canadian Rockies we stayed there for a week. The location is pretty good - just over a hour drive from Calgary airport, 45 minutes from Costco, which is a must for a cabin stay unless you plan to eat all your meals out. Nestled in the mountains and surrounded by magnificent views, which make... More 

Helpful?
Thank PickyBizTraveler
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

We loved our first time at Banff Gate Mountain Resort!! If you are looking for a 5 star hotel or modern up to date amenities, look somewhere else. This is a quaint, rustic area with spectacular backdrop to it. Located minutes from Canmore, this peaceful resort is located in Dead Mans Flat. Our cabin (#28) was a two bedroom cabin... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank crash2224
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our time at Banff Gate Mountain Resort. The cabin was spacious and well appointed. We were in a 2 bedroom that comfortably fit our family of 6. The kitchen was great to have as the mud room was an unexpected bonus. The mattress are starting to get old, but overall comfortable sleeping. The amenities were really great.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club

Helpful?
Thank Erin C
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016 via mobile

Disappointed with the under maintained carpets ,bathrooms,old furniture, small pillows (bring your own). The area septic system is inadequate, creating an annoying smell. The games room needs some upgrading , the pool area is fine. Cabin supplies like toilet paper and paper towels are inadequate 1 industrial roll for the week (bring your own ). The view is fabulous .

Helpful?
1 Thank mikechartrand
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our resort during your stay. We are aware that our cabins are a bit dated - we are working as hard as we can to get some upgrades in there as soon as possible. There are always extra supplies like toilet paper, towels,... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

We have been going to Canmore for years and had no idea this place existed! It is off the highway and very quiet. It is located about 15 minutes away from Canmore where the restaurants and shops are - easy drive. Check in was efficient and friendly. In the main lodge, you can rent movies, there are a couple of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MacapaAB
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi MacapaAB, Thank you for reviewing our resort! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Banff Gate and were able to take in the views, as well as enjoy the amenities we offer. Hopefully we will get to see you again in the summer! More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

The views of this old ski resort turned individual cabins are spectacular. My family has had time shares up here and we have been going for years. Do not expect 5 star suite or service, however the units are cozy and comfortable and sleep 6. The pool and hot tubs are also fun for families and nice after skiing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mark S, Thank you for your review! The views from every cabin are definitely a guest favourite. We are glad to hear that you love this place as much as we do - we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

stay and go skiing in winter; stay and go hiking in summer. go groceries shopping in Canmore within 10 minutes drive. near Banff, go shopping and sight seeing within half an hour drive. go to Lake Louise for sight seeing just an hour drive.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Michael K, You're right - there is so much to do out here in every season! We are so close to Banff and Lake Louise, as well as multiple ski hills in winter and incredible hiking in the summer. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The resort is conveniently located just a few minutes from Canmore and about 20 minutes from the Banff NP gate. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cabins are very comfortable and maintained well though they are a little dated which is hardly noticeable because of the awesome views all around. Note that the Hertz Neverlost did not have the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi rpowell25, Thank you for your review! It's true that our cabins are a bit dated - but we are working on upgrading as much as possible. The views definitely make up for what the furniture lacks! We have heard quite a few stories from other guests about the GPS leading them astray when they try to get here -... More 

Gibbons, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

I booked a long weekend stay at the banff gate mountain resort for my family, from the photos I saw it looked awesome, and it really is, its quiet even when it is full, a handful of 1000sqft cabins in the middle of the pigeon mountain range?...yes please! It is rustic, let's get that out of the way, but from... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Shane S
Banff Gate M, Resort Representative at Banff Gate Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shane! Thank you for your glowing review! We are so happy to hear that you love our resort as much as we do! Since all of our chalets are fully equipped, it can seem quite quiet on the resort even when we are completely full! Once the warmer weather arrives though, we have lots of outdoor activities such as... More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

As a place for two couples to stay and enjoy access to walking trails, this is a terrific find. The cabins are a bit tired but are perfectly adequate and reasonably well stocked. The setting is beautiful, with views of rocky peaks and forests. What's a bit off putting is a faint sewage smell (strong in the lodge) that hangs... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cathryn W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
0.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
5.3 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
5.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#12 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Banff Gate Mountain Resort is an outdoor playground for all ages where mountain activities and rustic amenities meet. It is nestled in the majestic pines of Pigeon Mountain at the foot of the Lougheed and Windtower Mountains. Our 46 fully appointed chalets are surrounded by Lake Louise and the adventures of the Banff National Park. Activities include water rafting, hiking, skiing, mountain biking, dog sledding, golf and more. For those preferring more peace and quiet, the picturesque grounds of the resort provide the perfect retreat. Children’s play areas are intertwined by hiking trails that sprawl throughout the resort connecting to the surrounding wilderness. Local wildlife often wanders unhindered throughout the area and across the property. An indoor heated pool, hot tubs and a family clubhouse provide a well-rounded travel destination for families and adventurers alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Address: 302 George Biggy Sr Rd, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Price Range: $171 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Gate Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Banff Gate Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Gate Mountain Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Banff Gate Mountain Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay