We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Esplanade Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Traveler (150)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (29)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Devonport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Esplanade Hotel offers heritage hotel accommodation and dining, right on the waterfront in Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand. Nestled in the heart of Devonport village, just across the harbour from the heart of Auckland City, The Esplanade Hotel dominates Devonport's foreshore and enjoys unrivalled harbour and city views. This boutique hotel was built in 1903 and has a character and charm all of its own. It is only a twelve minute ferry ride to downtown Auckland, without the hassle of the inner city. After a busy day sight seeing or on business, The Esplanade Hotel is a haven to escape to at the end of the day…sit back and relax in the bar or restaurants and watch the Auckland city lights and harbour activity. The Esplanade Hotel has seventeen rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms, including the luxurious Victoria Suite and the two bedroom Penthouse with stunning harbour views.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
317Reviews
3Q+A
71Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 121
  • 40
  • 22
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
When taking the ferry to Devonport for the day I had to step into this beautiful heritage hotel and the main floor is gorgeous to walk through. Edwardian architecture and beautiful ambience. I sat at an outside table and had wine and cheese board overlooking the water and the
Read more
Response from Esplanade_Devonport, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded 2 weeks ago
We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the gorgeous 'ole girl in the future.
Read more
We booked for 4 adults at 1.30pm. Saw people in by the fire inside,it appeared very quiet.After ordering we waited 40 minutes,one meal arrived without any cutlery.Had to go and find staff for these items and drinking water The food was very average to poor.Being a Friday
Read more
+1
Great location near ferry terminal, restaurants, cafe’s and bars. Unique shopping and art galleries nearby. Exterior looks great, interior was outdated, dirty and unacceptable. More of an older male environment. Lack of commitment from reception to understand guests concerns.
Read more
We were greeted and served by a lovely efficient waitress yesterday morning. We ordered breakfast of toast and granola muesli. An extremely disappointing breakfast was served to us - it was like they made it up as they went along! Would not recommend dining here.
Read more
We had another fabulous stay at the Esplanade Hotel, in one of the sunroom suites on the first floor - both highly recommended, but room 105 is our favourite view. The Esplanade is a lovely old hotel with character, great bar with a fire and I particularly like the cozy club
Read more
Response from Esplanade_Devonport, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Responded Apr 29, 2019
We thank you for your kind comments and look forward to having you back to stay one day :)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
esplanade hotel auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandNorth ShoreDevonport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing