We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull Newick

0.2 miles from Newick center
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
The Green, Newick BN8 4LA, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't normally give bad reviews but this place is terrible. We were passing by and popped in for dinner dispite it looking run down and empty. Our table and cutlery was very dirty and the glasses sticky. When our food came an hour late it was inedible. The pub stank of rotten meat. We allso saw rat droppings and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank changlucy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 19, 2016

there was a power cut when we were there, which was unfortunate, so we used another local pub, however the staff are the biggest issue, customer service is non existent, and I would avoid as they were rude and unhelpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alis0nbate
Philip G, Manager at The Bull Newick, responded to this review

They had a room only deal. But wanted a discount as the pub had a power cut. This did not effect there rooms at alll . It's funny how customers can be rude to members of staff but if we answer back we're the rude ones.unhelpful oh yes we didn't give them the discount

England
Reviewed November 15, 2016

Stayed for one night August Bank Holiday weekend. Would have been a great room had it not been for the broken bed which led to a very uncomfortable night. We had the last room so we just had to suck it up. Can see that this has been mentioned before on here so am surprised it wasn't fixed before. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UKGirly
Reviewed November 5, 2016

We stayed for two nights, using three of the rooms. One evening meal, which was excellent. Warm greeting from all the staff. We regreting not staying for breakfast as the evening meal was so good! The secluded accomadation at the rear is cosy warm, with TVs, Kettles and refeshments, brilliant shower in the morning. It's the perfect place to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
Philip G, Manager at The Bull Newick, responded to this review

thank you great having you for the 2 nights

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

Very friendly place. We were given a choice of tables on arrival great atmosphere and very cosy. Staff apologised for the wait as they were extremely busy but it wasn't a problem. Food was lovely and plenty to eat. All in all a nice relaxed evening and will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buddy1372
Philip G, Manager at The Bull Newick, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words,,we look forward to seeing you again

derbyshire
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Had one night here to see friends and was a lovely place. They were a bit short staffed when we arrive but I really friendly bloke called Ronald saw to us and couldn't do enough to help us. Room was nice and food and beer in the pub was great, highly recomended!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank therams_1884
Philip G, Manager at The Bull Newick, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words

Reviewed September 16, 2016

Away with work this week, I booked two nights here - it was my third or fourth stay so I knew what to expect - the double en suite room in the outbuildings could do with a coat of emulsion, a new mattress and some new net curtains but it suits me because of its location and ample parking. Got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Philip G, Manager at The Bull Newick, responded to this review

can only apoligise ,,and say it will never happen again

Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Well this was a popular room at some point. Huge leather sleigh-type bed, comfortable mattress, clean enough, but for the black mould around the junior-size shower, and the lifting lino behind the sink- there's obviously been some water damage in the past, but it's ok. The bed however has been through the mill. As has the chandelier, possibly. One side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Philip G, Manager at The Bull Newick, responded to this review

we did apoligise for the faulty bed,,in fact gave them a £70 refund which they forgot to mention also a member os staff gave them a lift to brighton as they couldnt get a taxi,,,also something they forgot to mention

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2016

accommodation was spacious and clean with a huge comfortable bed. Meals in the pub are of great quality and at a good price. Great location in rural Sussex with easy access to Brighton, Eastbourne, Haywards Heath and Tunbridge-Wells. At £45 a night for the room and inclusive breakfast you can't go far wrong. Highly recommend and will stay here again!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJBooCollins
Philip G, Manager at The Bull Newick, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words

Titchfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for one night between business meetings. The welcome was warm and friendly, the service throughout was excellent. The food was good, priced OK for the area. They had Sam Adams on tap, which made a nice change. The room was clean enough, some mould in the bathroom, but nothing serious. I booked a 'luxury ensuite room' and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newick
4.3 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,082 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
203 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,365 reviews
3.6 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Griffin Inn
The Griffin Inn
#1 of 2 in Fletching
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely old country pub ideally situated in a picturesque village in the heart of East Sussex, right on the A272. Under new management as of the beginning of April, we have recently undergone a refurbishment and have also taken on a new Head Chef. Serving a new, re-vamped menu and a large selection of fine wines and ales makes us a great stopping place for any occasion.In addition we have eight rooms, all equipped everything you need for a comfortable and peaceful night's rest should you find it hard to leave at the end of the night! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bull Newick

Address: The Green, Newick BN8 4LA, England (Formerly The Bull on The Green)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newick
Price Range: $52 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Newick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Bull Newick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Newick United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Bull Newick staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Bull Newick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Specify en-suite”
 of 5 bubbles B1775JSjohnc, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is probably the least favorite option being close to the car park access”
 of 5 bubbles jobberdave, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay. Just visited the pub”
 of 5 bubbles 684nigelh, Jun 13, 2016 | Read review
“Didnt ditsy here so can't comment on rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Mosesandpenny, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles ChristinaR591, May 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question