We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GoldenEye

Race Course Oracabessa Bay, Oracabessa Jamaica
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (959)
Room & Suite (840)
Pool & Beach (338)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 resort in Oracabessa
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
GoldenEye Hotel & Resort overlooks the Caribbean Sea in the quiet village of Oracabessa Bay on Jamaica’s north coast. Named after one of Ian Fleming’s World War II missions, Operation GoldenEye, this Island Outpost property is owned by Chris Blackwell, Jamaica-raised founder of Island Records. The stunning 52-acre property is home to secret coves, breathtaking private beaches, tropical forests and a singular lagoon. There are 49 stand-alone Beach Huts, Lagoon Cottages and Beach and Lagoon Villas, as well as Fleming Villa, designed by Fleming, himself.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Snorkeling
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Quaint
547Reviews81Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 453
  • 52
  • 25
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jeff B wrote a review Apr 16
San Francisco, California5 contributions3 helpful votes
Attended a wedding at this beautiful location. It was wonderful. The food was delicious. The service was great. The employees seemed genuinely happy and easily engaged with guests which was fun. Such a friendly jovial place. Toilet had some issues and water wasn't always hot but that was it complaint wise. We had great swims and sunsets. Forgot to use the tennis courts. Bed was comedy and air conditioning was welcomed and powerful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
frankiebrando wrote a review Apr 12
San Francisco, California9 contributions9 helpful votes
We were at Goldeneye in February and had the most incredible experience of our life. What a bucket list trip! Goldeneye is not only one of the most beautiful and charming places you’ll ever be at, but the service and staff and community makes you feel like you’re part of a warm family. I want to give a special thanks to Nataskei She couldn’t have been more kind, more gracious, and more wonderful during our stay . I couldn’t wait to see her at dinner and at lunch because she was so fun and so lovely to be around. My husband’s birthday was that week and the whole staff, including Nataskai and Kevin made us feel so special. Kevin was also a rockstar and so sweet during our stay. We plan to make Goldeneye part of our yearly vacations because you can’t ask for a better place on earth to be. Thank you, Chris Blackwell for making a paradise for us. The whole experience was so greatly appreciated We feel grateful to now be a part of the Goldeneye family!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanine Tribley, Other at GoldenEye
Responded 2 days ago
What a fantastic review, thank you! We really appreciate all your compliments and will be sure to let the team members know, they will be so happy. We are thrilled that you feel part of the GoldenEye family as you are, and we hope to see you regularly at your new Jamaica home away from home! One Love, Jeanine Tribley PR Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Londonmum1 wrote a review Apr 9
London, United Kingdom31 contributions15 helpful votes
Goldeneye is a special place - the location is gorgeous with so many great spots to explore and swim. The resort makes it easy to be active, you can snorkel, kayak or paddle anytime in the most beautiful waters surrounding the property. We loved the vibe - great music playing all the time with such friendly and helpful staff. If you like laid-back luxury and relaxing without crowds, Goldeneye is perfection. The spa is wonderful too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanine Tribley, Other at GoldenEye
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for describing you experience at GoldenEye as “laid back luxury” it is, and that is what we hope all our guests feel when with us…a Jamaican home away from home with unobtrusive service, delicious fresh fare and a team who love what they do. The property is also so expansive that you will feel as if there is no one else there, and kayaking around especially in our tranquil lagoon is really an incredible experience. We do hope to welcome you back year after year! One love, Jeanine Tribley PR Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura B wrote a review Apr 9
1 contribution
This is our second visit to GoldenEye and we plan to make it a yearly tradition. We love everything about this place—the setting, atmosphere, amazing staff, activities, food... and we just had the pleasure of visiting the Field Spa for two of the best massages we've ever had. Our massage therapists were Karen and Karine and they are both fabulous. A relaxing, therapeutic, and spiritual experience — 10 stars!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanine Tribley, Other at GoldenEye
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review on our award winning FieldSpa! Our team are passionate about giving the best treatments and service….we do appreciate the 10 stars and hope to welcome you back soon again. One Love, Jeanine Tribley PR Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
R J wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
the stay was ruined by a theft from housekeeping. no accountability even after I was told there would be. horrible experience. very noisy as well, so much for peace and quiet. try staying at gee jam, they have integrity, and it is more beautiful with great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanine Tribley, Other at GoldenEye
Responded 5 weeks ago
We are very sorry to read your review. We spoke to the Guest Services Manager who reported that upon your call about the item you reported missing, a security agent went to talk to you, and did an incident report based on your complaint. Our team are very passionate about service and ensuring each and everyone of our guests’ enjoy their stay with us. They go above and beyond to ensure that if you have a complaint it is taken care of immediately. We are sorry that you thought it was noisy and that could be from activities we provide to the guests, like drummers on a Friday evening, or our reggae band on a Saturday night at our BBQ. Other noise out of GoldenEye is out of our control, and sometimes there is music in the distance across the Bay. We will ask a manager to get in touch with you based on your written review here. One Love, PR Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Manuela G wrote a review Feb 2024
Los Angeles, California160 contributions102 helpful votes
Chris Blackwell certainly knew what he was doing when he decided to expand the Goldeneye property into cottages and beach huts. The place is still charming and never feels crowded and, even on a rainy day, can still provide good settings and good spots to relax. The swimming on Button Beach is great, the food is good, the service friendly and impeccable. This is luxury, Jamaican style! Our beach ut which had an additional downstairs space with a kitchenette, dining area extra bathroom and relaxing couches was particularly lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: The BBQ at Button Beach is a terrific lunch spot
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanine Tribley, Other at GoldenEye
Responded Mar 7, 2024
Thank you so much for your lovely review of GoldenEye! We appreciate when you the guest take your time to write in here. Thank also for your compliments on our food, service and property! You are so right, there are many spots to use around the property to relax and unwind…making it a very relaxing experience. We hope you will come back and visit your Jamaica home away from home again in the near future! One Love, PR Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David G wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
February 8-16, 2024 We just spent a sublime eight nights at GoldenEye in one of the charming and beautifully architected Beach Huts. We have traveled to a dozen islands and many resorts throughout the Caribbean, and this was among our best experiences. We give Goldeneye five stars for many reasons including: the extraordinary natural beauty of the setting; the unique feeling of privacy, peace, and serenity; the genuine warmth and professionalism of every staff member who we met; and most of all the authentic and unmistakable Jamaica vibe! The iconic music producer and owner of GoldenEye, Chris Blackwell has poured his love of Jamaica into this resort, and you can feel it in every nook and cranny. It emanates soul! We love that every text from the staff ends with One Love or 1❤️. That says it all! David Gershon and Gail Straub
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lisa F wrote a review Jan 2024
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Beautiful place but felt less friendly and ‘helpful’ compared to other similar places we stayed (Jakes, strawberry hill and Geejam). Our complimentary bottle of rum took 2 days to arrive, we were told ‘we have none’ despite the shop been stocked with them. Only after numerous texts did it turn up! , other guests had the same issue. Beach hut rooms good, nice big beds, mosquito nets and outside shower. Window shutters are very effective but so tricky to open with even the cleaners struggling . Hence room can feel dark. Good air conditioning though. Small point but there is nowhere to put shower products outside apart from the uneven stone slabs, so they keep falling over. Reception staff are courteous but didn’t respond to some of our questions ( we enquired about turtle sanctuary and villas) The grounds are beautifully maintained and there are numerous places to sit, with plenty of swimming areas. Lagoon is so peaceful and we saw turtles during our kayaks. Free yoga (2x a week), kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel equipment and hobby cats . Friday night Blackwell rum party great, a Jamaican band drummed the sunset in. Other theme nights offered , depending what nights you stay. Some staff were excellent -ordessa, Nikita, Kevin , Donald, Carl all deserve a mention. Food and drink expensive. BBQ is $78 plus 20% tax and service. Wine is minimum $50 plus 20% a bottle. One red strip is $8 plus 20%. Met some great people here but I’m not sure we will rush back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
HelloMoto28 wrote a review Oct 2023
Chicago, Illinois50 contributions4 helpful votes
Last minute stay and the experience was terrific. The property is quite unique and exactly what I needed. I had a wonderful spa day for my birthday, the best massage I've had in a very long time. The Staff is also super friendly and helpful. Many thanks to Avid at reception and Pops for taking me to the airport. The only downside to this property is the food and frankly the prices. $14 cocktails and the Jamaican food offerings, are disappointing. I wanted to buy a bottle of Blackwell rum and the cost was $70 USD. The same bottle of rum was available at my local liquor store in Chicago for $27. I was completely shocked by the prices, no different than dining in Chicago or many large cities.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanine Tribley, Other at GoldenEye
Responded Oct 27, 2023
Dear HelloMoto28: Thank you for your review of your recent stay at GoldenEye. We are very happy to hear that you loved the property and enjoyed the Spa so much, it is always a hit! Avid and Pops are two of our many stars at GoldenEye. We are sorry that you found the prices high for food and beverages, we have done everything we can to deliver delicious dishes and a wonderful range of options at Bizot, Button Beach and at our pop up BBQ’s and dining. We do hope you will return one day again in the future. One Love, Jeanine Tribley PR Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Glynis J wrote a review Sep 2023
Staffordshire, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at this fabulous resort for 7 nights in cottage 20 (beachfront) between the 6th -13th September 2023.This resort is amazing, set in the most gorgeous seafront and gardens location. It was very quiet, in a good way, which we absolutely loved, with a feeling that we were on a desert island alone. The staff were amazing, very attentive and friendly. I would definitely recommend Goldeneye to couples, but not necessarily for young children. This is a barefoot holiday, relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet, enjoying kayaking around the beautiful coastline lagoon, with Donald. A nice surprise to have Brushy One String performing at the restaurant. A big shout out to all the staff who looked after us during our stay, especially Anieka, Marlon and Nakita.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanine Tribley, Other at GoldenEye
Responded Sep 27, 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay at GoldenEye! So happy to read that you discovered the reasons why so many people love GoldenEye which is the privacy, the setting….staff, and authentic experiences around the property. Thank you for your kudos on the team members who love what they do. We are also so thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Brushy One String performance! We hope to see you soon again at your home away from home. One love, Jeanine Tribley PR Manager - Island Outpost
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oracabessa area.
PRICE RANGE
$488 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
goldeneye hotel oracabessa, goldeneye hotel ocho rios, goldeneye resort ocho rios
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint Mary ParishOracabessa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GOLDENEYE - Updated 2024 Prices & Resort Reviews (Oracabessa, Jamaica)

Frequently Asked Questions about GoldenEye
Which popular attractions are close to GoldenEye?
Nearby attractions include Noel Coward's Firefly House (3.3 miles), Galina Lighthouse (3.1 miles), and Fort Haldane (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at GoldenEye?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at GoldenEye?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at GoldenEye?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at GoldenEye?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to GoldenEye?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sugar Pot Ruins Beach & Restaurant, Sugarpot Beach Bar & Restaurant, and Yummi Tummi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at GoldenEye?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and fitness classes during their stay.
Does GoldenEye have airport transportation?
Yes, GoldenEye offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at GoldenEye?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does GoldenEye offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to GoldenEye?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort Haldane (4.8 miles).