We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Noir

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Noir
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

913 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 903: English reviews
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the first time in may and had a wonderful time. Hotel staff were welcoming, room was clean and spacious with lovely shower room and it was only a 10 minute walk into the city centre. (wouldn't cost a lot to get a taxi but it was a sunny day) Breakfast wasn't included in the price but... More 

Helpful?
Thank denisecharles1988
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Well funny just how things turn out sometimes, I booked here for four nights, which is a lot in York, apparently, I chose this hotel because of two main points, 1, its about the right price (after all I am a Yorkshire man), 2, its in the right place for what we wanted to do, which was walk into York... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpe-and-Gromit
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday for 1 night in September. Very nice hotel, clean,& spacious rooms. Staff friendly. Around 15 minute walk from the centre of York. Would recommend. Thank you for making our stay :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Njs89
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and partner stayed here in August for 2 nights. The hotel was in a great location. 15 mins walk to York city centre. Room was nice and the facilities were updated. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Julia S
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They put bleach everywhere in your bathroom, the cleaner spilt it on one of our black bags leaving lots of white spots and the hotel would do nothing about this. The noise and commotion from other guests will keep you awake, as it did us, as the room is not at all soundproof. You can hear everything from the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank RJGCLO
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear RJGCLO, We investigated your complaint about the stain on your bag, and could find no evidence that this was caused by bleach. The highly experienced housekeeper who cleaned your room had used bleach in your bathroom, but not in your bedroom where your bag was located, and the photograph you sent us of the stain did indeed look like... More 

Travelers are raving about these Clifton hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid £185 for one night expecting a quality clean room for our anniversary weekend away. Unfortunately the equipment in the room was dated and the bathroom needs a renovating. Stains on the towels Un washed tea cups Very disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked to stay here overnight as this hotel is situated within easy reach of York University which we were visiting for an open day. We arrived at around 9:15pm after a long drive from Essex and were greeted by very friendly reception staff who offered us complimentary drinks. The hotel has an extensive dinner menu but unfortunately we had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hoteliers need to understand. Leisure guests and wedding receptions mix as well as oil and water. If you don't have the facilities to serve them both properly then pick one and stick to it! Having driven for over 4 hours looking forward to a leisurely dinner I was more than annoyed to be told that if I wanted dinner that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pomtiddly
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Pomtiddly, I sorry you had to eat earlier than planned at the hotel on Saturday night. Unfortunately we only have a small restaurant and kitchen here, and we need to limit bookings on busy nights to avoid disappointing diners with long waits for food. The group who booked their meal on Saturday night were just a group of friends... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for one night after reading reviews.Wanted hotel with parking & within easy walking distance of York centre-perfect on both counts.Stayed in room 101 which was described as "compact".Reminded me of garden lodge-had 1 double bed & 2 single beds with entrance door but no window. Would be uncomfortably hot in high summer.Ended up propping door open with chair while... More 

Helpful?
Thank Salutati0n
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Saluatati0n, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you were upgraded from a compact room to our family room. There is a fan provided in every room which can help if you find the room too hot! I hope we can welcome you back to the... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stopped here quite alot over July August and Sept for work. Stunning place, rooms are brilliant with everything you'd expect and want but the reasons I kept booking it for my stops in York were the great food on offer, the amazing staff and the 2min walk into the heart of York. The staff are cracking at this place... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJMC111
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear SJMC111, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Great to hear good feedback from a repeat customer. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

292 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Classic Room (22)
Viewed
Compact Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
1.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#13 of 47 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Price Range: $87 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay