We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balmers Tent Village

Save
Traveler (76)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average10%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“hot tub”(26 reviews)
“free bus pass”(9 reviews)
“above ground”(3 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (164)Write a Review
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
95
37
14
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
95
37
14
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubfree bus passabove groundfun place to staycamping experiencegreat partysurrounded by mountainssurrounding sceneryhiking trailsgreat facilitiesbed dormtable tennisstay longerswiss national dayexpensive countryvisiting switzerlandgreat stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 153 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

I booked a camping spot in their camping field back in April for our visit in September. I had read the great reviews and was really looking forward to it and the photos of the field looked great. On arrival we had to wait for...More

Thank ChristyJade
Response from BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmers Tent VillageResponded October 30, 2017

We thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience once again. We apologized for any inconvenience about the camping field not being available for you when you arrived. Unfortunately this was beyond our control and unavoidable and came as a surprise...More

Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

This is an ok place to stay 1 or 2 nights, but probably not more than that. There were not enough toilets for the amount of people so it were not the cleanest. Also the ventilation could be improved since the toilet stalls didn't have...More

Thank Arrow214
Response from BalmersHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Balmers Tent VillageResponded September 28, 2017

Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry that the facilities of the Balmers Tent Village did not meet your expectations. The Tent Village is indeed only equipped with basic facilities that cater to the needs of young backpackers who prefer to pay...More

Reviewed September 15, 2017

My room was outdated, damp, and there were so many people the bunk beds were shoved against one another so you are sleeping only inches away from a stranger. The breakfast is ok, nothing special. This is a business, interested in making money more than...More

Thank SunnyBtravellin
Response from BalmersHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Balmers Tent VillageResponded September 28, 2017

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at Balmers was not up to par. I understand that the facilities of the Tent Village were perhaps not to your liking and we will take your feedback concerning this...More

Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

Location of tent village is quite good as a base to explore interlaken and surroundings. A bus stop is just 100m away from the property. View from the property is quite amazing. But the tents were awful. We took a double bed tent. When we...More

Thank Zihan I
Response from BalmersHostel, General Manager at Balmers Tent VillageResponded August 28, 2017

Hello Zihan, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and experience with us, we can only improve and grow with this kind of comments. I should like to have some response however to some of your concerns. We only make have a...More

Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

As a family staying with an 11 and 8 year year old, this camping experience was a bit of a let down. The tents themselves were spacious and comfortable and clean. However the noise that went on and on into the night was really disappointing....More

Thank lizzielou40
Response from BalmersHostel, General Manager at Balmers Tent VillageResponded August 11, 2017

We want to thank you for your feedback and comments which we take very seriously. We apologize for other guests lack of respect, one would think in a campsite to keep the noise levels down. Let me start off by saying that indeed we are...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345631
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Pool
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Pool
Details
Price range
$39 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$39 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (76)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (2)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Shahir Yar K
September 15, 2016|
Answer
Response from Lara B |
Hello, you can pitch your own tent at the tent village but only during the months that we are open which are in June, July, August till mid September. Kind regards
0
Votes
emirhan h
July 21, 2015|
Answer
Response from BalmersHostel | Property representative |
Hello, The tent village is about 25 minutes to the Ost station. Its probably better for you to take a Taxi (about 20 francs) tomorrow morning we will give you a free bus pass for the remainder of your stay so you can have... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Tents on the south side have the least constant exposure to sun!"
Read review
"They all the same...!!!"
Read review
"any tent/room is great"
Read review
"If possible get a private tent, triple tents have door and can be locked."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing