We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Balmer's Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Balmer\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I loved eating the veggie burger (I was addicted!) beside the outdoor bar, with friendly staff chatting to me kindly. The views are sensational and the location is handy and a pleasant walk to the city centre. The bedrooms were happy colours. I would definitely happily stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank finediningvegetarian
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Happy to hear youve found a new veggie burger addiction!!! :-) Thanks for the great review, we are happy to hear you really enjoyed your stay!! We hope to welcome you back! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is awesome just awesome, 10 min from the main Station of Interlaken OST. Cozy place with nice old building style and reception and a side area where you can have some rest and place for Breakfast and Lunch and a fun area where you can play Billiards, Table Tennis, Foosball & more. I was staying in a room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yehia E
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

We are liking that you are calling us and your stay AWESOME! thanks and you are awesome too!! More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

High points: breakfast decent. Staff friendly and really helpful. Toilets nice and clean. Lovely old world swiss chalet style with sloping roof. Rooms not too hot despite being in the attic. Beds comfortable and clean, changed between every guest as I could tell and not having to put your own sheets on was nice! Bar and club pretty expensive but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beckyyyyyyyyyyyy
BalmersHostel, Public Relations Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and firstly thank you so much for leaving such an honest and detailed review! We are happy to receive feedback such as yours and strive to improve all the time. We apologize the rooms were not quite ready when you were informed they would be, and it surprises me that you had to keep your bag in the lockers,... More 

Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love this place. The staff is so nice, friendly, warm and welcoming. They really made me feel at home. Ive travelled the world a lot and have stayed at some of the best hotels and resorts but I have to say that Balmer's hostel does everything right and then some. When you visit Interlaken, be sure to stay here!

Helpful?
Thank thetravellerslists
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review, we are happy to hear you had a great stay!! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The night receptionist is really arrogant. Right before us was a Danish couple who might've pressed the bell a few time to them he condescendingly commented- "You must be in a real rush to get into your rooms". To us, when we did not have our passports, instead of politely explaining that it's the norm in this hostel, he brusquely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Faiz17A
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and tips, we really appreciate them . We sincerely apologize for the unwelcome behaviour and will definately follow up on this. This is not the Balmers way at all and not one we are used to. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay! More 

seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

for one of the most famous hostels in the world, its a shame to see it go so far downhill. I rented a private room here with my wife in June 2016, and while the grounds are still funky and fun, the facilities, service, and generally ... everything are basically unacceptable at this point. problem 1) even though its been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank seattledirtbag
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for such an in-depth review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please allow me to respond to some of your concerns in the hope you may make some sense out of this. 1) Most of our private rooms are under slanting roof, this is mainly do to the wooden Swiss chalet... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Had my boyfriend stayed here a few years ago when we were in college, I probably would be rating this hostel 5 stars as it definitely had a young and fun vibe. However, we did feel that we were a tad old to be staying there...the first evening of our trip there was a 16+ party in the basement club...being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex O
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback, we have a +16 party once a month as Interlaken (not Zurich ;-)) does not have a many facilities for the younger locals. Besides that once a month party we have a strict no under 18 entry. We hope you made use of the free bus passes you got at check in, although you... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Overall, this hostel is OK. But the showers were absolutely nasty. Disgusting, not maintained and freezing cold. This was the only cold shower I had to take in a month of traveling around Europe staying in hostels. Desperately needs improvement. If you appreciate a decent shower, stay somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank mrm-travels
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We have three buildings all with different style showers. We appreciate that some of them are in need of replacing / renovating and we are working hard to achieve that goal. We do our best to keep them clean and offer better shower facilities in our Monch building... More 

Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Balmer's hostel was great, really! I didn't get the chance to chat with so much people, and since I was not in Interlaken for that long, I was not at the hostel for most of the time, but it is comfy and convenient, plus it is really cute :) The staff was really nice and helpful too :) Since we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie-Pier C
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review!! Happy to hear you loved your activities, and found the staff really helpful. I appreciate your feedback about the rooms too, the buildings are really old as are the electrics so we are only able to put one power strip per room other wise all the fuses would blow constantly. We will surely be... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

thumbs up !and is highly recommended. IS SO classic plus so cute decorated! you will be so happy to stay here! service is good! location is okay,they give good advice, space is so nice,you can cook at the kitchen, and many area to sit around for chatting wtih travellers.

Helpful?
Thank karen22015
BalmersHostel, Manager at Balmer's Hostel, responded to this review

Awesome to hear you were SUPER happy!! We love to hear that!!! Thanks for the great review! Happy travels to you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (108)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:58
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matten bei Interlaken
0.8 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#32 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#16 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 21 in Interlaken
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Balmer's Hostel. We are the first established private hostel in Switzerland, providing a comfortable and friendly location from which to explore the adventure capital of Europe. The Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau (Swiss Alps) at our doorstep and two big glacier fed lakes are just a stones throw away. We have dormitories, private rooms, apartments and tents. Rated Top 10 hostels of Europe, a product of over 60 years of experience.We are the heart of all hostels. We strive to bring fun and memorable experiences to our guests so come push your boundaries and party in our Club with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmer's Hostel

Address: Hauptstrasse 23 - 33, Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken CH-3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Matten bei Interlaken
Price Range: $32 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Balmer's Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balmer's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer`s Herberge Hotel Matten
Balmer's Hostel Interlaken/Matten Bei Interlaken
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay