We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Avalon Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Avalon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Carmichael, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small property with clean, comfortable spacious rooms. Complimentary early, continental breakfast. with coffee/Tea maker in room and complimentary Sherry Wine as well. Extra blankets for those chilly nights in Tahoe. Friendly staff and front desk personnel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mel, we take cleanliness and upkeep very seriously and we pay attention to every detail to ensure that room is perfectly prepared for upcoming guests. So, we are really happy to hear your stay was enjoyable -- from spacious rooms to amenities, to fresh, hot breakfast. We hope you will keep us in your mind when you visit the...

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ripoff alert! very dishonest! here's the deal I made a reservation over the phone for 11-24-16. was told that they have a 2 week cancellation policy.note:( I've stayed with my dog at the Avalon twice last year had great experience no issues and did recommend to friends.) I was told that they are under new management and that nothing had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnewman396
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very sorry and absolutely shocked that you appear to have had such a bad experience during your recent stay with us. We aim to provide a pleasant experience for all our guests and we are always disappointed if a guest does not have a great experience with our hotel. However, please allow us to address the...

Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

I don't travel frequently at all unfortunately so when I do I'm generally a little nervous when I book a room. There was no need to be nervous when I booked a room for the first weekend of October '16. I had called ahead to inform the desk that my girlfriend and I wouldn't be in until nearly 2am and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bunnybearblue
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We always strive to make your stay with us as pleasant and cozy as possible and I'm so pleased to hear that we achieved our goal on your visit. Thanks for leaving a stellar review, and recommending us on TripAdvisor. I am sure your experience will help many...

SF
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Don't bother. Very dark and not clean. And the staff acted like we were bothering them. Forget about the breakfast unless you like oatmeal and Costco pastries. We could not wait to leave. Our first time in Tahoe in 10 years.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonnSF
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that you didn't have a relaxing and refreshing stay with us - this does not sound at all like the type of experience that we want for our guests have. We are however, happy to be able to tell you that we have a new management team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the...

Reviewed August 29, 2016

We stayed at the Avalon Lodge (part of CLE Hospitality) for a Company sponsored event June 11, 2016 for a night. It was a lovely event and hotel until the charges started coming through. Not only was the company charged for my one night, so was I! Then August 29, 2016 more charges started coming through for $189, $56 and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Katrina, we are shocked at your remarks regarding your recent stay with The Avalon Lodge. Katrina, we would like to tell you that we have a new management/ownership team in place(as of mid September 2016), who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. We will be commencing a review of all of our service procedures and standards, along...

Reviewed August 15, 2016

Very dirty place. You pay 200 USD, and get nothing. Breakfast, is not a breakfast you might have in mind. Leftovers from other hotels I guess. Not worth spending your money in this MOTEL. We walked in the room, the first day, and found out that pillows, and sheets were not changed, they were dirty and with lots of hairs....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fatos M
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I'm so sorry that you didn't have a relaxing and refreshing stay with us - this does not sound at all like the type of experience that we want for our guests have. We are however, happy to be able to tell you that we have a new management/ownership team in place (as of Mid September), who have...

Reviewed July 19, 2016

Sheets were dirty. As i crawled into bed, I felt sandy substance. I opened up the sheets further only to find hair and some other orange substance. Pillows smelled like someone else's head. Plastic glass was dirty. Pool was unusable. Shower water pressure nil. Breakfast was oatmeal and/or granola. We had a "minimum stay" of 2 nights, but left after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie A
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Jackie, we are very disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are extremely disappointed that you found so many other faults with cleanliness and our amenities. We are however, happy to be able to tell you that we have a new management/ownership team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. They...

Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

I cannot say anything about the hotel, except that they refused to refund me $680 when I had to cancel due to illness. I canceled four days before arrival and was willing to pay the one day cancelation fee. The hotel claimed their system was down for four days and refused a refund. A most awful place as far as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bknauf
Sacramento, California
Reviewed May 28, 2016

The pictures are very deceiving. The room smelled like old carpet and the bed sheets were dirty. I was so disappointed I got refunded for one night and went to go stay at another hotel. I didn't even stay one night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tikomack2003
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are disappointed to hear about your experience with The Avalon Lodge. We would like to inform your that we have a new management and ownership team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. We will be commencing a review of all of our service procedures and standards, along with a training program for...

Oakland, Calif
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Stayed at Avalon for 2 nights with our two dogs. Place was clean, basic bedroom, bathroom. Within easy walking distance to casinos, restaurant/retail section near Gondola, Lake. Decent, basic place, pet friendly. "Continental Breakfast" was oatmeal or granola with coffee. Fine for us, but don't expect more !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twogordons
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, while we are glad that you had a decent stay here, we are disappointed that our hotel still left something to be desired. We would like to inform your that we have a new management and ownership team in place (as of Mid September 2016), who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. We will be commencing...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
968 Park Hotel
968 Park Hotel
#17 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#16 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#19 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
Heavenly Inn Lake Tahoe
#24 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $82 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Avalon Lodge staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
over a year ago
6 months ago
Arundel, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“quiet place, spacious, comfy rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 753melb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles RonnSF, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT BOOK THIS MOTEL. There are many other places in the area, for a better price, and better conditions.”
 of 5 bubbles 267fatosm, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 646jackiea, Jul 19, 2016 | Read review
“if possible, stay away from Fri - Sunday. Tahoe in general is a zoo.”
 of 5 bubbles twogordons, May 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay