We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avalon Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Avalon Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
SF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't bother. Very dark and not clean. And the staff acted like we were bothering them. Forget about the breakfast unless you like oatmeal and Costco pastries. We could not wait to leave. Our first time in Tahoe in 10 years.

Helpful?
Thank RonnSF
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that you didn't have a relaxing and refreshing stay with us - this does not sound at all like the type of experience that we want for our guests have. We are however, happy to be able to tell you that we have a new management team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Avalon Lodge (part of CLE Hospitality) for a Company sponsored event June 11, 2016 for a night. It was a lovely event and hotel until the charges started coming through. Not only was the company charged for my one night, so was I! Then August 29, 2016 more charges started coming through for $189, $56 and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Katrina, we are shocked at your remarks regarding your recent stay with The Avalon Lodge. Katrina, we would like to tell you that we have a new management/ownership team in place(as of mid September 2016), who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. We will be commencing a review of all of our service procedures and standards, along... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

Very dirty place. You pay 200 USD, and get nothing. Breakfast, is not a breakfast you might have in mind. Leftovers from other hotels I guess. Not worth spending your money in this MOTEL. We walked in the room, the first day, and found out that pillows, and sheets were not changed, they were dirty and with lots of hairs.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fatos M
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, I'm so sorry that you didn't have a relaxing and refreshing stay with us - this does not sound at all like the type of experience that we want for our guests have. We are however, happy to be able to tell you that we have a new management/ownership team in place (as of Mid September), who have... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Sheets were dirty. As i crawled into bed, I felt sandy substance. I opened up the sheets further only to find hair and some other orange substance. Pillows smelled like someone else's head. Plastic glass was dirty. Pool was unusable. Shower water pressure nil. Breakfast was oatmeal and/or granola. We had a "minimum stay" of 2 nights, but left after... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Jackie, we are very disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are extremely disappointed that you found so many other faults with cleanliness and our amenities. We are however, happy to be able to tell you that we have a new management/ownership team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. They... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

I cannot say anything about the hotel, except that they refused to refund me $680 when I had to cancel due to illness. I canceled four days before arrival and was willing to pay the one day cancelation fee. The hotel claimed their system was down for four days and refused a refund. A most awful place as far as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bknauf
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

The pictures are very deceiving. The room smelled like old carpet and the bed sheets were dirty. I was so disappointed I got refunded for one night and went to go stay at another hotel. I didn't even stay one night.

Helpful?
1 Thank tikomack2003
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are disappointed to hear about your experience with The Avalon Lodge. We would like to inform your that we have a new management and ownership team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. We will be commencing a review of all of our service procedures and standards, along with a training program for... More 

Oakland, Calif
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Stayed at Avalon for 2 nights with our two dogs. Place was clean, basic bedroom, bathroom. Within easy walking distance to casinos, restaurant/retail section near Gondola, Lake. Decent, basic place, pet friendly. "Continental Breakfast" was oatmeal or granola with coffee. Fine for us, but don't expect more !

Helpful?
Thank twogordons
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, while we are glad that you had a decent stay here, we are disappointed that our hotel still left something to be desired. We would like to inform your that we have a new management and ownership team in place (as of Mid September 2016), who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. We will be commencing... More 

Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

This lodge could be decent, if they had half the stuff they claim to have and to add a staff that was friendlier and actually did their jobs! Called to speak to a manager and were told that he only works the midnight shift when normal people are sleeping (Like midnight to 5 a.m.) Sounds to me like he doesn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank fairfares
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are disappointed to hear about your experience at the Avalon Lodge. We would like to inform your that we have a new management and ownership team in place (as of Mid September 2016), who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. We will be commencing a review of all of our service procedures and standards, along... More 

Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

We stayed at the Avalon in April 2016 and took our dog with us. The hotel has a good location close to most everything in town and the rooms are average size, but they are noisy. The free breakfast was more of a snack than a meal and I didn't think it was worth it. The amenities like snow shoes,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALHMartinez_CA
macross97, Guest Relations Manager at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, while we are glad that you had a decent stay here, we are disappointed that our hotel still left something to be desired. We would like to inform your that we have a new management and ownership team in place (as of Mid September 2016), who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. We will be commencing... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

I recently stayed here Apr 16, 2016. I had booked a specific room on Apr 2 by phone. I paid in advance except for the pet fee and taxes. When I got there around 2:30 I was informed that my room had been given away the night before. While I was waiting inside there was a terrible dog fight outside.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#16 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
968 Park Hotel
968 Park Hotel
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#5 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#18 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $103 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay