We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort

Save
Share
4100 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Priceline
Only 5 left at
$199
Free cancellation until 12/08/22
travelup.com
$224
Algotels
$172
Vio.com$199
Marriott$199
Lol.travel$240
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (627)
Room & Suite (310)
Pool & Beach (56)

About

#14 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
South Lake Tahoe, California is a beautiful, welcoming destination year-round surrounded by nature and scenic views. Feel right at home at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort in South Lake Tahoe where you can choose from several vacation resort villa types that meet your travel needs. Our guest rooms offer a king bed and sofa bed which sleeps 4, and our one-, two-, and three-bedroom villas feature separate living areas, full kitchen and plenty of space for your family to spread out. You'll also enjoy convenient amenities such as on-site dining, swimming pool, children's splash pad and whirlpool. You can also participate in organized resort activities that are fun for the entire family. Enjoy hiking at Mt. Tallac Trail, exploring Emerald Bay and Carson Hot Springs, and so much more nearby.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Hiking
Indoor play area for children
Valet parking
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Ski rentals
Skiing
Bowling offsite
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Kids club
Car hire
Taxi service
Photo copier / fax In business center
Salon
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1365Reviews76Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 664
  • 464
  • 126
  • 66
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ToniTones wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Nice front desk staff (Alexis checked us in). Was given a privilege card- was not pressured into attending a time share presentation (it was mentioned however by concierge). Property well maintained and clean, the room we stayed at was clean. We stayed on 2nd floor Alpine and location was perfect. Easy walk to the village, Raleys, Van-sickle park, casinos
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We're happy to hear that Alexis provided a nice arrival to Marriott's Timber Lodge. Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne wrote a review Aug 2022
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina277 contributions38 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Just spent a week at this resort. We had a one bedroom unit. The location is fantastic...right in the middle of the Heavenly Resort area....two blocks to the casino and a few blocks to the lake (albeit a $25.00 per person charge). This was a great base for hiking (must go to Emerald Bay!) and all other activities. The music and bands at night in Heavenly Village were great. Just walk right out your door and you are in the middle of everything. The whole area is very crowded on the weekends. The only problem is parking....you must Valet Park for $32 a day (however, if you trade in or are an owner, the fee is waived). Just walk through Heavenly Village to get to Ralley's Supermarket. There you find everything you need for food, drinks, etc. The workers at the resort were really very nice. I honestly can't think of a thing that was negative.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Hello Suzanne, we really appreciate your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge. We are so pleased that the accommodations and location met your needs! Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HighClub wrote a review Nov 2022
United States49 contributions35 helpful votes
We have been staying here several times. I really liked this place and left an excellent review after our first time. The last time we rented a 2 bedroom villa. When we arrived our room was not ready. The front desk staff seemed a bit rude, but I thought it could be just that day. Then we did not get any room service. They said it was due to Covid, but when I asked them if there are any covid restrictions in place, the lady laughed and said no. To request towels, I had to call a number, get some link and contact housekeeping through it. It never worked. Had to ask the concierge for towels. They won't even come pick up the trash. You had to leave it in front of the door for staff to pick it up. We had to walk around trash bags left in the hallway by people - not great. The fridge door was broken when we arrived, but after a call, it was fixed promptly. On the last day, when we were checking out, we were locked out of the room because it was 4 mins after check out time and they disabled our keys. I had to pull our luggage from our room and when I went to the front desk they were quite rude about it. I have never been locked out of my room at checkout time. We were traveling with a young child and an elderly person, so we had to do a couple of trips to the room for the check out. I think the hotel did not have enough staff, but still charged for the room although it did not provide service. After several years of going there, we won't be back again. For the price and rating of the hotel, this was a really bad experience
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your review. It is disappointing to read that your stay did not meet the expectations you had from your previous stay. We apologize that we didn't measure up this time, and sincerely appreciate your comments. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with the appropriate departments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Betsy from SoCal wrote a review Oct 2022
8 contributions
October 2022 Experience – Good and Bad We’ve “owned” our Marriott Timber Lodge timeshare for about 15 years. During that time, we’ve brought and met friends and family up at Lake Tahoe. It’s been really great. The way it works (or used to) is I’d make our annual reservation on the Marriott “Owners” website, noting all our preferences: high floor, view of the gondolas, and, if possible, a deck (only a small portion of the rooms have a deck, but it’s really great to sit out there and sip your coffee in the mornings). We arrived yesterday, October 8, a little later than usual, because we stopped to show our granddaughter the Manzanar historical site, which is an important part of American history. When we arrived, we were welcomed, “Welcome back!” This is something we’ve grown used to and something we really enjoy hearing, after a long, ten-hour drive. Then I started the check-in process. None of our requests were fulfilled, not one. I was told that there were no requests in the system; nor was my phone number or Marriott number or anything else. Interesting, since they know where to send our maintenance and property tax bills every year and our $1600 annual check for maintenance to them seems to clear just fine. We were actually first assigned a room overlooking the transit center. We were put there the first time we visited, before we knew the lay of the land. These rooms enjoy the continual sounds of buses arriving and departing, as well as trash trucks, and the like. No thank you. I told my husband this. His response: Hell, no. The front desk supervisor, Mallory Wolfe, was very solicitous and told us she’d work with managers in the back to get us a great room. Well, the new one is better, but let’s see how our requests were handled. High floor? Nope. We are in the Alpine building on what the elevator thinks is the third floor, but is actually one floor above the pool. That would be the second floor. Can’t get too much lower. View of gondola? Nope. We have a view of the street in back of the building and the parking lot of the condos behind the Timber Lodge. Quiet now, but it’s the main exit from this property and others. On the plus side, we did see a bear roaming down this street last night, so that’s something. Deck? Of course not. Only a few of the rooms have this extra benefit; certainly not the ones on a lower floor facing the street. Mallory the supervisor was, as I said, very nice about all this and even brought us a bottle of wine. She brought it to our room and asked how we liked our new room and view. I welcomed her in and showed her the view of the street and parking lot. She seemed surprised. She said it is considered a prime room, but that maybe it’s only during winter months when you can see snow on the mountain. It is fine, and I'm sure we'll enjoy our visit, but it’s not what we requested. What really bothers me is the advice she gave me: In the future, contact Ally Marschak, the “Rooms Controller,” who will ensure that we get the room we want. Okay, what? I’ve been an owner for 15 years and have made requests. 90% of the time we’ve gotten what we requested. Now, as Mallory said, “The room you want is in high demand. They are assigned on a first-come, first-served basis.” Huh? Now I must contact an individual to make sure I get in the queue for a good room? How about giving me this person’s number and email when I made the reservation eight months ago? The rooms (we got a two-bedroom) are nice, if dated and worn. The same uncomfortable couch and chairs we’ve come to know and, if not love, then at least recognize. We love this place in general and will always bring friends and relatives with us when we come in the future. I do want to warn you, though, that being an “Owner” doesn’t mean anything anymore. By the way, my husband thinks that, perhaps if we’d gotten here at 4 PM instead of 6:15 PM, we might have gotten the room we requested. We’ll never know. But what is the point of being an owner and being invited to make specific requests when booking a reservation months in advance, if those requests go nowhere? Why are owners not given some sort of preferential treatment because we do pay a lot for the “ownership”? The magical “system” is always blamed for something going awry – like not having my phone number or reservation information or email. Why can’t this system collect requests and pre-assign rooms based on these requests? Tell owners this is on a first-come, first-served basis. Fine. But at least convert a request into a fulfillment. There’s an idea! And, yes, we do know that requests cannot always be accommodated. But it seems that requesting something eight months in advance should count for something. Bottom line: Mallory was friendly and we appreciate the bottle of wine, owner week reservation process doesn’t work, pointless to request a particular type of room – you get what they give you upon check-in, sad to learn fifteen years of “ownership” mean nothing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded Oct 9, 2022
Hi, thank you for your review of your recent stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge. We are truly sorry this stay was a disappointment. While we would love to meet everyone’s requests, it sometimes is just not possible when occupancy is high. However, the resort team will make every effort to accommodate and we apologize your requests were not met. We appreciate your feedback and hope your next visit with us will not disappoint!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Saxeygirl wrote a review Sep 2022
Salt Lake City, Utah1344 contributions541 helpful votes
We often spend some time in South Lake Tahoe and this is one of our favorite places. It's big, so has a lot of guests. Checking in right at 4 pm can be a bit congested but it all works out. They have a nice pool and they are located right ext to the "heavenly" ski lift with many shops and restaurants near by. Plan to walk a LONG way to your room because it's spread out. The rooms sort of surround the large pool area. We always ask for a pool view so we don't end up with a room near the main road. Plan ahead, they fill up early.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Pool view assures you aren't near the main road
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded Sep 22, 2022
Hello, we really appreciate your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge. We are so pleased that the accommodations and location met your needs! Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve O wrote a review Sep 2022
37 contributions12 helpful votes
Had a wonderful stay and experience at the Marriott Timber Lodge Sept 4 - 11 2022. We reserved our week through Interval. We were assigned a 4th floor 2 BR location with balcony facing Tahoe Blvd - could not see the lake but balconies are not common at this lodge (top floor is 5). All staff (front desk, valets, maintenance and cleaning) were very friendly, welcoming and professional. No complaints - only praises. Rooms were very nicely furnished and clean - did not look dated. Had full kitchen that was basically equipped - note that coffee maker is drip and filters/coffee are supplied. Used washer/dryer which worked great. It was a long walk to our room from the elevator which might be a negative for some visitors. We attended the fitness yoga and core sessions including yoga sessions in the forest behind the resort, at the local beach (free access after Labor Day), and at the Marriott Grand Residence pool deck. Kristin led the yoga sessions and was a great fitness session leader and friendly individual. Note that you can request a key card to the (more upscale) Marriott Grand Residence located next door to use their pool/facilities. Fitness center looked well equipped with separate room for weight lifting. Note that there were not many shaded locations at the pool so get there early if you need shade. I wished they would add dining options or swap out the Fire + Ice mongolian fried food dining option for a more mainstream offering. Be aware that many dining and activities (e.g. Gondola) shut down or have shorter hours after Labor Day.... however our overall experience at Timber Lodge and at all locations (Emerald Bay, beaches, traffic) were much easier and pleasant with significantly fewer visitors.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded Sep 12, 2022
Hello Steve, we really appreciate your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 2 bedroom villa with a balcony! It's awesome that you had time to enjoy some fitness yoga classes and core sessions with a our wonderful fitness instructor, Kristin! Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1GCFAN wrote a review Sep 2022
Grove City, Ohio89 contributions70 helpful votes
We were there for a week and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms seemed a bit dated but everything we needed was there. Staff promptly brought towels and other supplies and then followed up to make sure we were satisfied. The pool and 4 hot tubs were right outside our building and plenty of towels available day and night. . The valet parking is $32 a day but parking is very limited in the area. A nearby (8-10 min walk) public lot behind Raleys is $24. The ACE valet attendants were very friendly and careful given.the tight quarters outside the hotel.. They (hotel staff and parking valets) are all about texting and sometimes it is hard to get a voice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring your own pen and paper in case you need to write something down.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded Sep 5, 2022
We really appreciate your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge. We're glad our staff were helpful and friendly! Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We can't wait to welcome you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary K wrote a review Aug 2022
Oakland, California86 contributions43 helpful votes
We enjoyed 5 days at the Marriott Timber Lodge, and it was a delightful experience. The staff were all consistently friendly and helpful. The pool was perfect and well maintained. I know there are challenges with staffing everywhere, and I saw marked improvement over last year. It’s a great starting point for visiting nearby beaches and trails, or simply enjoying the pool, the grills, and the comfortable residences. I was glad the staff were all masked indoors. We were too. Despite signs, most guests were not. But it did not interfere with a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Hi, thank you for your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge. We are delighted that you had a lovely return visit with us. We appreciate the feedback and cannot wait to welcome you back for another wonderful vacation!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SoFlaFam wrote a review Aug 2022
Fort Lauderdale, Florida98 contributions61 helpful votes
We spent a week at this vacation club and couldn't have enjoyed it more thoroughly. Our 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit overlooked the gondola and was very clean, nicely decorated and had all modern kitchen/laundry equipment. The beds and linens were very comfortable--so were the pullout beds (not your typical sofa bed at all!) It was plenty of space for our family of 5 (including teenagers who need more space than average!) The pool was very nice, we loved the ping pong table and activities like cornhole, and all used the gym daily. You can't beat the location! Heavenly Village was so fun, and we were in the heart of it all. The concierge staff was very friendly, helpful and took their time with our many questions. Literally my only complaint is about the valet system being glitchy (it's an app that only worked for me about half the time.) But the valets were very nice and went out of their way to rush to get the car when the app was down.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get a corner unit if possible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Hello, we really appreciate your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge. We are so pleased that the accommodations and location met your needs! Thank you for taking time to share your comments. Sorry for the valet app that glitched, but glad the valet team were nice and rushed to get your car. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dcg86 wrote a review Jul 2022
Denver, Colorado181 contributions67 helpful votes
We've stayed at over a dozen Vacation Clubs and this is similar and met our expectations. Lodge mountain theme, property not too tired yet. Nice amenities, grills, pool, full kitchens, convenient Valet Parking, good service - each request was done within 15 minutes (texting is the best). The travel industry is chaotic right now, everyone tried their hardest here, and the staff could not have been nicer. Excellent location - right in busy Heavenly Ski village so there are many delicious restaurant choices, shops, live music, activities, etc... Casino's and Ski Run Marina/beach within walking distance. No, this is not a full-service Marriott hotel, so don't expect daily cleanings or priority given for Bonvoy points (I'm Titanium level). Vacation Clubs have NEVER offered this. Owners get priority, and the owners in our group got the rooms and views they requested. My only complaint: very few balconies, which is different from the other MVC's we've been to. We'll definitely return, hopefully during ski season.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Pool view was nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Responded Aug 7, 2022
We really appreciate your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge. We're glad we met your expectations! We are so pleased that the resort location met your needs to many dining experience. Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We can't wait to welcome you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott`s timber hotel south lake tahoe, marriotts lake tahoe, marriotts timber hotel, marriott lake tahoe
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLake Tahoe (California)South Lake Tahoe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
264
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARRIOTT'S TIMBER LODGE, A MARRIOTT VACATION CLUB RESORT $149 ($̶2̶9̶6̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - South Lake Tahoe, CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort?
Nearby attractions include The Loft Theatre (0.1 miles), The Gondola at Heavenly (0.04 miles), and Puzzle Room Tahoe (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flatstick Pub, Base Camp Pizza Co., and Driftwood Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Vikingsholm (4.9 miles).
Does Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Marriott's Timber Lodge, A Marriott Vacation Club Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.