We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lazy S Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lazy S Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Milpitas
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

I came here with my family 11 years ago and really liked our stay so we decided to bring the family back. I booked online for 2/18- 2/20. Received an email confirmation. Everything seemed fine. Until the morning of 2/18. I called the number to confirm our reservation. Disconnected. Thought maybe they were having phone issues so we headed out...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Pramane P
lazytahoe, Old manager at Lazy S Lodge, responded to this review

New owners. Don't know what they are doing. The booking system and website is up to them. I still have the email. You want be charged by the old owners. We thank all of our old great customers for their patronage over 9 years Kirk

Rapid City
Reviewed January 4, 2016

I wish there was a rating between poor and average because that would be a more accurate description of this place. It is old and pretty dated, the cabins/rooms are not well insulated. On the up side, it runs between $80 and $100 nightly during the most expensive week of the year to visit Tahoe. The rooms are clean, many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coli S
lazytahoe, Manager at Lazy S Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize your stay was not to your liking. I tried to donthe best this holiday. If you had heater problems you should have told me in the office. It was cold outside yes and I would have been glad to help. We do pride ourselves on clean Rooms. Yes older property but doing our best to update rooms and...

Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

To start of when arriving the manager took an hour and a half break so we had to wait in the cold to check in and was in no hurry to assist not only us but other groups that needed to check in. When we went to check we were forced to pay more money or leave since "his rates...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bryce A
lazytahoe, Manager at Lazy S Lodge, responded to this review

Well coming from one of the worst customer experiences in 9 years i am not surprised about the review. No one had used this room in at least a month so the marijuana smell was not there. It was cleaned a week before. This customer was charged the same as everyone who booked at this time and he had no...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed December 28, 2015

I have written more than 50 property reviews and this is my first one-circle review and with good reason. Imagine getting off a long plane journey and driving more than 5 hours to reach your accommodation after dark in the middle of the busy holiday season only to be told that the booking you had made was not going to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Behappyeachday
lazytahoe, Manager at Lazy S Lodge, responded to this review

I do not know what happened. In 9 years this is the first time this had happened and I am sorry for this. I did help this man find a room. I took a hour at least and i called many lodges around town. I checked expedia on what was available. I called to neighbors and he refused because of...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed September 20, 2015

Stopped in on a whim while the other hotels were booking fast. Laid-back quiet place that is a bit dated but hey, your in the mountains so its actually rather cool and laid back. The grounds are clean, likewise for the heated pool area. The room with its real wood paneling are quite the through-back. The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DHenchaz
San Francisco, California
Reviewed August 13, 2015

we just spent a few nights at the Lazy S. From Kirk who helped us when we were unexpectedly delayed and was super nice and helpful when we checked in, to the spacious facilities themselves, this was perfect for our needs. It is not a five star luxury resort, it is older, BUT it is clean, convenient and everything seems...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suttercreek
Pilot Hill, California
Reviewed August 9, 2015

Very basic hotel with musty smell in room. My husband and I dreaded getting in the bed to go to sleep for the night. Wood paneling everywhere and back door narrow and hard to shut. Shower gross and tiny. We would never go back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank doughebb
Palo Alto, California
Reviewed March 10, 2015

We spent 3 nights for a family ski vacation. The rooms are clean, the kitchenette was very useful for us and the fire place was fun. They also have a swimming pool for the summer. We took the cottage, which had a bed room and a sofa which open to a queen bed in the living room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aditrip
Reno, Nevada, United States
Reviewed October 1, 2014

Nothing trendy or slick but this motel was a perfect home base for a weekend of hiking, lounging, and exploring the Emerald Bay side of South Shore. Large pool and grass area with BBQs and Mini kitchen makes it a good choice for families who want to do some cooking. Quaint.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgette K
Arnold, Maryland
Reviewed September 25, 2014

We were so glad to end up at this nice little quiet place instead of one of the big chaotic resorts that are nearby. The manager is quirky, but friendly, the rooms plain but adequate, but the big plus is the green yard with picnic tables and a Ping pong table. We had fun playing (badly) and played cards at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sally v
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.3 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#49 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#29 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#48 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Manzanita Lodge
#10 of 17 in South Lake Tahoe
8 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#39 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tahoe Keys Resort
Tahoe Keys Resort
#92 of 122 in Lake Tahoe (California)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lazy S Lodge

Address: 609 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6504
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lazy s Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lazy S Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
San Jose, California
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lazy S Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Know what you are getting into before you arrive, or you may be very disappointed”
 of 5 bubbles colis2015, Jan 4, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with Fireplace are cool. The entire area is very quiet at night. A good nights sleep comes easily.”
 of 5 bubbles DHenchaz, Sep 20, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms away from emerald bay rd. were a good choice for us.”
 of 5 bubbles georgettek394, Oct 1, 2014 | Read review
“The cottages are closer to the road, so try to get one that's further back if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles 973pattid, Jun 22, 2014 | Read review
“Suites near the highway will have more traffic noise. All of the studios and one-room w/ kitchenette units are located in the back wing, next to a quiet street.”
 of 5 bubbles 144LauraC, Aug 14, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question