We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Lazy S Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lazy S Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Milpitas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

I came here with my family 11 years ago and really liked our stay so we decided to bring the family back. I booked online for 2/18- 2/20. Received an email confirmation. Everything seemed fine. Until the morning of 2/18. I called the number to confirm our reservation. Disconnected. Thought maybe they were having phone issues so we headed out... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Pramane P
lazytahoe, Old manager at Lazy S Lodge, responded to this review

New owners. Don't know what they are doing. The booking system and website is up to them. I still have the email. You want be charged by the old owners. We thank all of our old great customers for their patronage over 9 years Kirk More 

Rapid City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

I wish there was a rating between poor and average because that would be a more accurate description of this place. It is old and pretty dated, the cabins/rooms are not well insulated. On the up side, it runs between $80 and $100 nightly during the most expensive week of the year to visit Tahoe. The rooms are clean, many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coli S
lazytahoe, Manager at Lazy S Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize your stay was not to your liking. I tried to donthe best this holiday. If you had heater problems you should have told me in the office. It was cold outside yes and I would have been glad to help. We do pride ourselves on clean Rooms. Yes older property but doing our best to update rooms and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

To start of when arriving the manager took an hour and a half break so we had to wait in the cold to check in and was in no hurry to assist not only us but other groups that needed to check in. When we went to check we were forced to pay more money or leave since "his rates... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryce A
lazytahoe, Manager at Lazy S Lodge, responded to this review

Well coming from one of the worst customer experiences in 9 years i am not surprised about the review. No one had used this room in at least a month so the marijuana smell was not there. It was cleaned a week before. This customer was charged the same as everyone who booked at this time and he had no... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

I have written more than 50 property reviews and this is my first one-circle review and with good reason. Imagine getting off a long plane journey and driving more than 5 hours to reach your accommodation after dark in the middle of the busy holiday season only to be told that the booking you had made was not going to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Behappyeachday
lazytahoe, Manager at Lazy S Lodge, responded to this review

I do not know what happened. In 9 years this is the first time this had happened and I am sorry for this. I did help this man find a room. I took a hour at least and i called many lodges around town. I checked expedia on what was available. I called to neighbors and he refused because of... More 

Sacramento, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Stopped in on a whim while the other hotels were booking fast. Laid-back quiet place that is a bit dated but hey, your in the mountains so its actually rather cool and laid back. The grounds are clean, likewise for the heated pool area. The room with its real wood paneling are quite the through-back. The room was clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank DHenchaz
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

we just spent a few nights at the Lazy S. From Kirk who helped us when we were unexpectedly delayed and was super nice and helpful when we checked in, to the spacious facilities themselves, this was perfect for our needs. It is not a five star luxury resort, it is older, BUT it is clean, convenient and everything seems... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank suttercreek
Pilot Hill, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Very basic hotel with musty smell in room. My husband and I dreaded getting in the bed to go to sleep for the night. Wood paneling everywhere and back door narrow and hard to shut. Shower gross and tiny. We would never go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank doughebb
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We spent 3 nights for a family ski vacation. The rooms are clean, the kitchenette was very useful for us and the fire place was fun. They also have a swimming pool for the summer. We took the cottage, which had a bed room and a sofa which open to a queen bed in the living room.

Helpful?
1 Thank aditrip
Reno, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Nothing trendy or slick but this motel was a perfect home base for a weekend of hiking, lounging, and exploring the Emerald Bay side of South Shore. Large pool and grass area with BBQs and Mini kitchen makes it a good choice for families who want to do some cooking. Quaint.

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgette K
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We were so glad to end up at this nice little quiet place instead of one of the big chaotic resorts that are nearby. The manager is quirky, but friendly, the rooms plain but adequate, but the big plus is the green yard with picnic tables and a Ping pong table. We had fun playing (badly) and played cards at... More 

Helpful?
Thank sally v
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.3 mi away
Emerald Bay Lodge
Emerald Bay Lodge
#63 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#34 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tahoe Valley Lodge
Tahoe Valley Lodge
#39 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#47 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Manzanita Lodge
#10 of 18 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#42 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lazy S Lodge

Address: 609 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6504
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lazy s Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing