We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Trailhead

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Trailhead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Don't be fooled by the cute room photos, this place is not good. The carpet in the rooms is filthy (made grosser by the fact that they are pet-friendly), I was burned by the broken shower, and the light didn't work in our room. When I let the "management" know about these issues on our way out and gave them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey W
toronto
Level Contributor
87 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Stayed 1 night - Queen room. Cleanish - clean linens but Interiors and fixtures were very worn and in need of updating and paint. We had a leaky tap but the water was really cold. It can get loud and the walls are thin. Garbage cans outside fill up quickly and get knocked over - assistance of the two-legged kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank 905

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Union City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

Central located. Walking distance to the ski resort and heavenly village, close to casino and beach. The view on second floor is very nice. I drove up from bay area and this place is on the right side of highway 50 with a tall sign. The decor in the room is unique and nice. New AC Unit in my room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank RR12340521
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

The hotel was a complete disappointment for the price (~$150). Location of the hotel is good and it stops there. The hotel is more like a motel were people just grab rooms on the fly. There is a passageway to the rooms which is also more like a common patio. people were blocking the way, partying loud and smoking. Rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank marirsk
Brian A, Front Office Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello guest! I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our quaint hotel. Thank you for addressing any issues we may have, and were not aware of. I have gone over this with the staff to ensure everything is in working order. And for future reference, we do in fact have rooms with tubs, upon request. We have 36... More 

california
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

I was in South Lake Tahoe to do a bit of gambling and enjoy the snow, and chose The Trailhead motel for my two night stay. I checked in on a Thursday, the 14th of January, and checked out on the 17th. My single King bed room was clean, had a good heater for the main room, and also included... More 

Helpful?
Thank firedog13814
Brian A, Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello Guest! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and for your next visit, we do offer coffee pots to take to your room at no extra cost. Just let Front Desk know at check in. This building was built in 1947, so the bathrooms tend to be a bit smaller than what we are used to, we... More 

Dublin, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a trip to South Lake Tahoe for skiing at Heavenly and Kirkwood resorts. Heavenly is right down the road, and you can walk to the Gondola from the hotel. It is about a 10 minute walk so it is helpful if you can have someone wait with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AJH798
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

Super clean rooms. Great,friendly, helpful staff, close to casinos, close to grocery stores and lake. Lots of parking. Breakfast and coffee. Most comfortable hotel bed ive ever slept in. Clean bathrooms. Quiet. Pool. Non smoking rooms. I think there are jacuzzi rooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Rachel! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Pros Close to Nevada casino hotels Parking close to room Sheets clean Cons Carpet within room and outside in hallways severely stained. It was dark brown but still the stains were plainly evident. Very noisy. I asked via email for a rear room but was given the one right next door to the office (next to the road). I asked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Darran A
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Darran, We have gone over your review with the entire staff and will be fixing any and all issues to the best of our abilities. Unfortunately, we do not have rear rooms. All of our rooms face the parking lot and highway. The pool is structurally unsound and we can not fill it up, it floods onto our neighbors... More 

New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

This review is actually an edit to my a previous review. We booked two rooms and as I previously described mine was adequate. Unfortunately I discovered on the day of departure that the other room although designated non smoking smelled like smoke and old cigarette butts were under the air conditioner. The two people in that room knew that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison H
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Alison, I'm sorry your stay wasn't as pleasant as you had hoped. I just wanted to inform you that all of our rooms are non-smoking. If there was an issue regarding smoke and cigarette butts, we encourage you to inform the front desk immediately so that we can resolve the issue. I have also shown this review to our... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Maybe we got lucky but our room was perfectly clean, save there was only a trashcan in the bathroom not the room. We stayed during the week, it was pretty quiet. The donuts for breakfast were nice, but there was nowhere to sit. The front desk was nice and helpful going so far as to book us a trip on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tarun P
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Tarun, Thank you for your feed back. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We actually just bought some new buckets for trash cans and placed them all in the rooms this week. I hope to see you again in the future! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#42 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#57 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#17 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#37 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#31 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#26 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe is located in a picturesque area of California in Lake Tahoe, just a few minutes from the Casinos, Lake Tahoe Beaches, and Heavenly Ski Resort. Adventure awaits, exploring all this great area has to offer. The opportunities are endless, from hiking, biking and skiing, to fishing, swimming and sailing the clear blue waters, Lake Tahoe is truly America's playground. When you stay with The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe, you can unwind in one of our newly renovated rooms, watch cable TV with HBO and enjoy free high-speed WiFi. The Trailhead promises to serve you with our friendly and knowledgeable staff, ensuring a memorable Lake Tahoe experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Trailhead

Address: 3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $87 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trailhead 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Trailhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay