We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

Clean, comfy beds. Clean bathroom. Dirty carpet & outside hallway. Blinds would not close and big windows means people could see in. Old property, could use a remodel. You're really paying for the location and was happy they don't have a minimum stay requirement.

Helpful?
Thank singerchick516
Yreka, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

This is starting from 3 stars. It is old. I barely see people staying there during Thanksgiving break. There is no hair dryer, no coffee pot, no closet and hangers. It just doesn't make sense that we cannot blow dry our hair and cannot have anything hot in our room in such freezing days and no where to hang our... More 

Helpful?
Thank jywu109
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

Again, I booked this location based on reviews from trip advisor. Wanted something within walking distance of Harvey's for concert. Searched on Trip Advisor map and found this as being the most reasonably priced. This is a small mom and pop place with no special frills or big lobby but if you can look past that we found our room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2upride
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

To be honest this motel was mediocre - at most. The rooms were very small and the whole accommodation was very old. The beds were very uncomfortable but at least the rooms were some kind of clean. The owner was handsome but appeared some kind of confused. The stay was for one night alright but next time i would rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank globetrotterHH013
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The hotel is going trough a major remodel but that didn't stop the staff from taking great care of us. Room was large and clean and had everything we needed. The location is convenient and close to lake and sights. We had a very nice stay.

Helpful?
Thank Cindi C
Brentwood, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Room was totally outdated and not very clean. We left the first morning of our 2 night stay to find vomit and feces next to the back stairs where the parking is. When we returned hours later it was still there and again the following morning. I understand the there is young people partying in the area but it should... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dani S
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this incident to our attention. You are absolutely right, this is unacceptable. We are taking measures to make sure it doesn't recur. We apologize for your inconvenience, and hope you will let us show you better hospitality at some point in the future. More 

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Rosemead, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family just got back from staying here and was very satisfied. It was very comfortable and is located in a great location. This hotel is in walking distance to the Heavenly Village and all the Casinos. It is also walking distance to the beach. We felt secure with our car parked outside our window of our room. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The price and location of this place were fine, but everything else left much to be desired. The room was clean but bare bones...no place even to hang up clothes except for some pegs on the wall! We asked for an iron and got one, but they didn't have ironing boards. The TV was a flat screen but only played... More 

Helpful?
Thank oswel
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When we arrived, there was trash in the parking lot and there were trash bags sitting out in the hallways, probably from housekeeping. The television didn't work. The toilet seat was sliding off. There was no AC, just a portable fan. The bed sagged. We could smell cigarette smoke in the hall ways and there were cigarette butts at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank chucktodd75
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay! We were unaware that you required a room with air conditioning, and would have done our best to accommodate this, had we been aware. We did, however, buy you a brand new fan; it was two days old. Unfortunately, since you arrived directly after July 4th, due to the... More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Courteous, helpful staff made every effort to help me with a reservation problem (my mistake). Quick response and happy outcome! Soooo much better to deal with than the big hotels! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank N S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (264)
Viewed
Budget Double (33)
Viewed
Ecomony King (34)
Viewed
Economy Queen (29)
Viewed
Economy Queen (with Desk) (40)
Viewed
Standard Double (33)
Viewed
Standard King (34)
Viewed
Standard Queen (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#35 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#44 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#30 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelers Inn & Suites
Travelers Inn & Suites
#54 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
3.5 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#41 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Hacienda Inn
Tahoe Hacienda Inn
#57 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have an exceptional location. 3 blocks from the Heavenly Gondolas, less than a minute's drive from Harrah's Casino, and less that five minutes drive from Montbleu.But that's not all!Reserve your Standard Room ahead at Best Choice Inn, and have the ability to customize your room to your liking!Here at Best Choice Inn, we believe in value and customer service. Therefore, when you book any of our Standard Rooms, we'll give you the opportunity to select what kinds of amenities you want!Extra pillows? Coffee and danish for breakfast? A surge protector to charge up those extra electronic devices? An extra something because it's your birthday?Even just creating your dream romantic room and dedicating it to your sweetheart!Book at Best Choice Inn, and you'll have the ability to design your hotel room to your satisfaction. Just request a Standard Room to get started!*Note: customization only applies to Standard Rooms. All Budget and Economy rooms are not customizable. Every room is fitted with free wi-fi, a microwave and small refrigerator, and cable tv. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

Address: 954 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6935
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $60 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choice Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay