We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Inn by the Lake

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inn by the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 712: English reviews
Redding
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Poor quality. I thought this would be a nice clean place to stay but when I walked in it smelled very musty and dirty. I wore my shoes in the room the whole time. I would not recommend this property to my friends. My balcony faced an old rundown trailer park even though the Inn is right across the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P866ZClisaf
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value your comments and although we cannot change the experience you had, we are pleased to report that the hotel has already begun a significant renovation of all exterior, guest rooms and common areas here at Inn By The Lake. Once complete, in December 2016,...

Petaluma
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Fix the air conditioning and bathroom faucet please. Nothing worse than tossing and turning all night because room temperature is unregulated. Opened the balcony doors to try and cool the room off, but this resulted in noise from street and other guests wafting in. Check in staff were friendly, warm and efficient. Room was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Aaron C., thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value your comments and although we cannot change the experience you had, we are pleased to report that the hotel has already begun a significant renovation of all exterior, guest rooms and common areas here at Inn By The Lake. Once complete, in December...

San Mateo
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Everything was perfect, carpets in room and hallways need to be updated. Bear beach restaurant foods don't match the quality of the inn. I will not eat again at this place. I hope next time the restaurant will be updated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minouches2016
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review Inn by the Lake. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with the exception of the carpets and Bear Beach Café. We are pleased to let you know that the hotel is currently closed and undergoing a major renovation and one of the many...

Rancho Cucamonga
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Thanks again for great service and an environment that was beautiful and restful. I'm certain we will return again. The staff met all needs and were helpful in all aspects including recommendations for the surrounding area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 790jond
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly hope you will return again. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

For $242 we bought pubic hair and women's head hair in the tub as I was getting ready to put my toddler in the bath tub. No shame that the housekeepers name was courtesy signed off by "x" on our night stand. Oh yeah no Disney channel for the kiddos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Samantha D., thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered. We value our guests feedback and will look into these issues. Thank you again for the review and we hope you will visit us again after we complete our renovations in December 2016.

Capitola
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Absolutely the best property and people. We've been coming every Labor Day Weekend for 10 years, plus usually once or twice during the year. For a family reunion there is no better place. The rooms are always pristine, the pool area is a delight, the picnic are and the bowling alley/restaurant on the property makes it ideal. We love it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanda K
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Wanda K., thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We here at Inn by the Lake and Tahoe Bowl always look forward to your family reunion. We can't thank you enough for choosing us for the last decade. We look forward to many more visits with you and your family. Thank you...

Pleasant Grove
Reviewed September 16, 2016

It was a chance happenstance that my husband and I ended up at The Inn by the Lake. We had no idea what to expect. We were very please with our stay, the service we received at check-in, and the directions given us by the staff. The room was clean and comfortable. Thank you. We would stay here again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emilye90
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear guest, we would like to thank you for the absolutely great review. We are so happy you found us, even it was just by chance. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was so great. We hope that your travels bring you back through our beautiful area of the world and that...

Elk Grove
Reviewed September 15, 2016

Overall a very convenient place to stay. Within walking distance to beach and shopping. Clean rooms. We stayed in a king bed room with a view of the lake. Upon first entering the hallways felt dark and made me feel like the hotel wouldn't be updated and nice, but the rooms were big an the bedding and pillows were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanmichaelb
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time to review Inn by the Lake. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to let you know that we are currently closed and undergoing a very extensive renovation of our interiors until December of 2016. Once we reopen guests should find our corridors much...

Auburn
Reviewed September 14, 2016

Great Place to stay, can't wait to come back again. The place was very comfortable and the view was very nice.. Our last visit included the use of some white robes but they weren't there this time.. Great place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6michealc
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the views. We are sorry about the robes, they were at the Front Desk, but on your next visit they will be in the rooms once again. Thank you for being one of our wonderful repeat guests. Thank you again for...

Vallejo
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Enjoyed the location, it was quiet and right across the street from the lake with plenty of beach to enjoy, we took advantage of the bikes they offer , very fun, took a cab down to the casinos for dinner, no wait at all for a cab,would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciabX3221GY
Jeremy A, General Manager at Inn by the Lake, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of Inn by the Lake. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, our location and some of our great amenities. We hope that your future travels bring you back to beautiful Lake Tahoe and that we will once again have the privilege of accommodating you....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

368 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (211)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite with Balcony (63)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Queen Room with Balcony (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
778 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#10 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
821 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
368 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#20 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inn by the Lake is conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach. Heavenly Mountain Resort is a mile away and the Inn's mid-town location offers easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn by the Lake

Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $100 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn by the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn by the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Inn by the Lake staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Sacramento, California, United States
11 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Inn by the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room overlooking the Lake - spectacular sunrise. Maybe not as quiet, but worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles Q8717XKrichardf, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Insist on a room away from the elevators, they are noisy and we could hear the elevator opening and closing all night long.”
 of 5 bubbles SFKAT3, Sep 7, 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor front building has the best view.”
  • View of Lake Tahoe from room 304 balcony.
 of 5 bubbles KenC013, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are facing the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewhS305YZ, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
“We loved the 2 bdrm, 2 bathroom, with kitchen on 3rd floor. It was huge to us!”
 of 5 bubbles jonie134, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay