We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Chartfield Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chartfield Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 523: English reviews
Esinburgh
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a great place to stay. Good location right next to all the shops, restaurants and bars. Good place to stay if you are visiting the cape point and penguins. Breakfast was good and the pool nice. The loft room was amazing with a balcony. Wifi codes didn't work at times but it was a good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 721grantf
chartfield, General Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Grant, Thank you very much for your review and for staying at Chartfield. I'm glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We trying our very best to solve the internet problem. Unfortunately we haven't been lucky yet but we won't give up. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Lisa

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a great time at the Chartfield Guest House. The staff were fantastic and always ready to assist us with whatever problem that we had. We will return to the Chartfield Guest House in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariosH8446BM
chartfield, General Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Mario, Thank you very much for your lovely review. I'm glad to hear that you have had a good time at Chartfield. We already look forward to welcoming you again and wish you all the best. Kind regards Lisa

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a lovely venue, looking out to the sea. Everybody very friendly and helpful. Everything very neat and clean. Will definitely be back. But would like to stay a little longer. Within reach of all the interesting shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U4465PDcarlas
chartfield, General Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Carlas, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Chartfield and that you would like to come back. :) We already look forward to meeting you again. Kind regards Lisa

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ended up here after a bad experience and it is the best thing could happened to us ! The place is cosy, well decorated, the hosts are so nice ! Big thank you to sherine !!!! The bed is so comfortable and the breakfast is sooooo gooood! In a way I'm happy that we had a bad experience because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelivor
chartfield, Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this wonderful review during your busy holidays. We hope that you return to Cape Town and especially to Kalk Bay and Chartfield. Have a wonderful holiday further. We are looking forward to see you again in the future.

Cupertino, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a amazing place to stay. In the sleepy little town of Kalk Bay lies a amazing little bed and breakfast where their customer service simply amazes. We stayed 2 nights in the loft which was a wonderful experience. Every morning the staff would bring you a cup of coffee (or tea, your choice) straight to your room and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
chartfield, Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review and it is always wonderful to know that our guests enjoy there stay with us and appreciate the ambiance of Kalk Bay. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our guest house again.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as a couple. Had our own little cottage. Neat and tidy, however the house-keeping was not up to scratch. The ladies at reception were amazing. Super friendly and helpful. Overall a pleasant stay. I would however look into a updated makeover on the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashika D
chartfield, General Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Ashika, Thank you very much for reviewing and giving us a feedback again. We really appreciate it as this is the only way to improve our service. We have spoken to our housekeeper and I'm sure that this will not happen again. We hope that you will visit us again to see that this is not the standard at...

Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights in one of their standard rooms which was very comfortable (a big room with nice wooden floors, a big bathroom with shower and bath, a comfortable bed, we even had a seaview. Its was so nice to wake up in the morning, open the curtains and see the sea. The guesthouse is very professionaly run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
chartfield, General Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Ann, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Chartfield and your time in Kalk Bay. Our highest goal is to make all our guests happy and to assist them wherever we can. We already look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Lisa

Allgäu, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed this location as a relaxing starting point for our day trips to Cape Point, the city centre, Franschhoek and more. The team gave us a warm welcome and helpful advices on where to go to. The room 'Seaview' was lovely with a beautiful view on the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylvia168
chartfield, General Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Sylvia, Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. I'm glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Chartfield. We hope that you will visit us soon again. All the best Regards Lisa

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chart field is a gen of a place that I hope we can keep coming back to for decades to come. Beautiful design throughout, incredibly friendly service, charming beyond words, clean, delicious food and peaceful atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonoSimone
chartfield, General Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Jono, wow, thank you for this lovely words. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you again. See you soon. Regards Lisa

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly helpful staff , lovely clean room . Good breakfast . We loved it ! Location is nice to , as we could walk down to numerous restaurants and enjoy a evening meal or lunch . We will be back to visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A9759MQrichardo
chartfield, General Manager at Chartfield Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Richardo Thank you very much for staying with us and for your review. We glad to hear that you loved Chartfield and our breakfast. :) It's nice to hear that you are planning to visit again and we already look forward to that. Have a lovely day further. Kind regards Lisa

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalk Bay
12.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
590 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
187 reviews
15.1 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chartfield Guesthouse evokes the spirit of a time when everything was done with a little more style and with a lot more attention to detail. It's a haven created to whisk you away from the cares of the world. Chartfield Guesthouse is nestled in this quaint seaside village of Kalk Bay. Our rooms are large and private, allow the cool ocean breeze to whisper through your open windows. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chartfield Guest House

Address: 30 Gatesville Road | Kalk Bay, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kalk Bay
Price Range: $48 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chartfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Chartfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartfield Guest House Hotel Kalk Bay
Chartfield Guest House Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chartfield Guest House staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Pasadena, Maryland
5 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Chartfield Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Loft was the best room in the B&B. If you can't get the loft, we were told to get a room with no one above you.”
 of 5 bubbles EvanC784, 1 week ago | Read review
“a room with seaview”
 of 5 bubbles 307annv, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, but sea view ones are best”
 of 5 bubbles MacnLorraine, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“We loved the artist cottage. No view but the decor and comfort is well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles 645garyw, Mar 30, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with ocean view, you will not be disappointed!”
 of 5 bubbles anoukb239, Mar 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay