We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Gladstone Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gladstone Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room I had was very nice, clean and tidy, it had everything I needed, with space for all of us. The location was great, being only a small walk to shops and restaurants. The staff were able to answer all my questions. I would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed for two nights and found the staff pleasant and the room comfortable and quiet. The room was clean and I think it had been recently redecorated. It was close to the town centre and I walked to Supermarket. The motel was on the main road to Nelson and close to the airport I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 148susan
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, really appreciated.

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay at the Gladstone Motel, The room was very clean and inviting and the location was just fantastic, so close to everything we needed. I am sure to recommend this motel to anyone who is looking to stay in Nelson

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruby502016
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a lovely family weekend away here. Friendly service, comfortable, clean accommodation. Great shopping mall close by. Not far from the city so nice and central for driving through to Motueka the following day. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _84jenlove
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The suite was large, well furnished and clean. Loved having the kitchen! We arrived Christmas day after 6 hours of driving and were tired and hungry. When we arrived, the owners welcomed us and asked if we had eaten. They gave us a large plate of ham and trimmings and an even larger plate of dessert that fed our family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
Westport, New Zealand
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated. Great location, handy to main road when departing Nelson, short drive to airport and friendly helpful staff. Close to Richmond Mall for a good variety of cafes, shops etc. Excellent location for sports groups as across the road from sports ground.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rcb95
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Very very rude manage would never ever stay. Would not listen or allow communication from us at all which was so rude, he has no ability to manage clients and should not hold the position. In our view not a pleasant place to stay in Nelson Richmond. We definitely had a pleasant stay in other motel in Richmond and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23,702,370
gladstone2014, Manager at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi Linda, your review is based on you booking at our motel and then arriving at a different motel and staying there. You were rung by me and asked if you were booking in at which point you advised you were booked into Parkside motel. The other motel should have called us to check if you were booked in with...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Due to unfortunate weather events this weekend we were unable to land in Nelson and unfortunately had to cancel our trip. Gary at Gladstone Motel was extremely helpful and we will definitely be staying at Gladstone Motel on our next trip down to Nelson. Thank you for your help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pykerbs
New Zealand
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We often travel around NZ supporting our children in their sport; I would highly recommend this motel as a great location, clean premises and brilliant service. The owners are kind, considerate and very accommodating which is refreshing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pannells
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Me and my 2 kids have stayed here a couple of times in the family unit. Is stylee & clean, with comfortable beds & lots of space for everyone to not be on top of each other. Owners and staff were really friendly and helpful & it was really easy to get to different places from. Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelina P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.3 mi away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
53 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
6.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oxford Court Motel
Oxford Court Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gladstone Motel, Richmond,Nelson offers immaculate modern Nelson region accommodation in beautifully appointed units at an affordable price. Choose between fully equipped suites and fully serviced studio units. Everything that you would expect from a modern motel but with Gladstone's extra touches of hospitality and comfort that you would expect in a Four Star Plus rated Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gladstone Motel

Address: 19 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand (Formerly Destiny Motels)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Price Range: $111 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gladstone Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gladstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Motel Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gladstone Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I was on the top floor. I can't comment on other rooms. Mine was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 148susan, 3 days ago | Read review
“room 803 was perfect for us. Parked right outside the door.”
 of 5 bubbles ravnf, Jan 15, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room further away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles hurtle1, Jan 7, 2016 | Read review
“Our suite was right beside the office. 2 bedrooms, outside patio table, right beside a lemon tree. Perfect!!”
  • Kitchenette
  • Jet Tub
  • Nice clean Bathroom
  • Smaller room with 2 single beds
  • Larger room with 2 larger beds
 of 5 bubbles knsqueakers, Feb 11, 2015 | Read review
“If you dont want to leave your room ask for a varied breakfast the nite before”
 of 5 bubbles liz759559, Sep 18, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay