We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mapua Chalets

05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Mapua Chalets
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 49: English reviews
Start your review of Mapua Chalets
 Click to rate
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

There was no one at reception when we arrived to check us in, just a piece of paper with our name and room number attached to the reception door which was very odd. There were a few small issues that when we tried to call the numbers left on the piece of paper at reception were not answered for a...

Thank Nicole U
andy p, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this review

Hi Nicole, Many thanks for coming to stay and for your review. Delighted you loved the pool and the views and that you found your time here very relaxing. Sorry we didn't answer you message immediately. We do try answer as quickly as we can. As a very small boutique self catering establishment we unfortunately cannot man our office throughout...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed March 9, 2017

No one was available in office on arrival and a note was left for us on the window with directions to our chalet and our stay. In the chalet were directions about the property and a note stating that we should not hesitate to talk to them if they could be of help in any way. When we found that...

Thank Craig J
andy p, Owner at Mapua Chalets, responded to this review

Hi Craig, Many thanks for your visit here and we are delighted that you found the chalet to be very comfortable, spacious and a lovely location and very quiet. As you mentioned in your review the issues were rather minor but we must apologise if communication was initially poor. As a very small boutique self catering establishment we cannot man...

Reviewed March 1, 2017

Don't know if I should give this place a good rating or it might get booked out, Hidden away up in the hills this peaceful this place is close to amenities but you get the feeling of being away from the world. Sit back on the deck with a glass of wine and enjoy the view. (But get your groceries...

Thank comm-traveler
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

Excellent stay in unique setting. Friendly hosts, good location and reasonable rate. Handy to lots of bays and tourist sites. and lovely pools in site. Handy to Motueka and Takaka. Staff very helpful. Very private and would highly recommend.

Thank Pofnz
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here for 5 nights. The chalets are very well equiped, clean, quiet and comfortable. Every thing you need for a great stay, BBQ, laundry and delightful hosts. The swimming pools are a delight to relax in after a day out hiking Abel Tasman or Whaririki beach. Mapua is an absolute delight. We had no...

1Thank Fosie
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed February 21, 2017

Mapua Chalets are located just a short drive outside of the town of Mapua. They are set in the hills, with views out to the ocean. The Chalets are very spacious with a small kitchen, lounge, bedroom and bathroom. There is also a deck outside of the bedroom with a table, chairs and a Bar-B-Q. It was great value for...

Thank snjdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Great views, great pool and close to all of Golden Bay - very centrally located in one of the sunniest parts of the bay. Close to sea swimming, biking, cafes and artisans of all types. Quiet and very relaxing.

Thank kenz56
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 9, 2017

Nice little chalet for a 1 night stay. Outdoor pool and hot tub had amazing views. Easy to find and well placed for our trip towards the Abel Tasman. Staff very friendly and helpful and easy booking..

Thank chab186220
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed September 16, 2016

A wonderful spot and well-run. Lots of extras included that you normally have to pay extra for! This is a small family run business that provides more than the usual. Heated salt water pool - excellent. See the stars from the hot tub late at night before turning in to sleep soundly in the quiet location. Wake up to bird...

Thank irenedavid606
Reviewed March 13, 2016

Ideal place to spend a night during a roadtrip trough New-Zealand. Recommend arrival before sunset, chalets situated off-road. Owners can be reached through intercom, small problem immediately solved. Laundry facilities available free of charge. Wifi OK. Jacuzzi and pool available Curtains in bedroom a bit dusty.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (9)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
View from Room (2)
Dining (1)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
View from Room (1)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (2)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mapua
4.4 mi away
Appleby House & Rabbit Island Huts
1.3 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
68 reviews
9.8 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
370 reviews
8.6 mi away
Motueka Garden Motel
Motueka Garden Motel
#2 of 4 in Motueka
63 reviews
9.0 mi away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#4 of 4 in Motueka
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in an alpine spa retreat just minutes from Tasman's pristine beaches and wineries. Our self contained cottages are nestled on a secluded ridge with expansive views out across Tasman Bay, and the Richmond ranges. Enjoy private use of our stunning spa pool and swimming pool. All our chalets are fully equipped with 5 channel SKY TV, 32" Flat Screen TV, and free wireless internet. We offer a comprehensive activity booking service. After an active day how about a relaxing on-site therapeutic massage? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mapua Chalets

Address: 172 Seaton Valley Road, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua
Price Range: $92 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mapua Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mapua Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mapua Chalets New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mapua Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All have great views”
comm-traveler, Mar 1, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Chalet with an outside deck to enjoy the views!”
snjdom, Feb 21, 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Chalet #2”
822gemmar, Jun 14, 2015 | Read review
“Chalet number 2 was convenient.”
Dr_Abby, Nov 25, 2014 | Read review
“Only queen size beds in two bedroom chalets (note VERY COMFY queen beds) but just ask for spare mattress and problem solved if need more space”
JesKay62, Jan 10, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates